Shop Auto Winter Products Beauty Best Books of the Year Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. STEM $24.99 for a limited time only Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video  Echo  Black Friday Deals Week: Fire tablets starting at $29.99. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite Just Dance 2018 Shop now HTL17_gno



on January 26, 2017
Laugh out loud funny, what a hidden gen this movie is. Kathy Bates plays a middle aged woman whose son has flown the nest and her boring husband basically ignores her. Her days are filled with romantic thoughts and fantasies about an Elvis-like figure who she adores and worships. Imagine her shock and grief when he is suddenly killed! Deciding to step out of the box and embark on the adventure of a lifetime, she hops on a plane and has the plan to attend his funeral service. Once she arrives in the little English town, she visits his home and sees a gathering of young me. As the silliness continues, it unfolds that her beloved was a closeted gay man with a younger lover who has, over the years, grown very bitter with the older "frumps" that his lover has been crooning to. Through a series of events, these two unlikely characters form a bond and return to the states to hunt down his killer. A super fun comedy that was truly entertaining.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2015
I don't understand why this movie got bad reviews. I LOVE IT!!!! It's a lovely story, the characters are very well constructed and the performances are very good! I love Meredith Eaton and Kathy Bates are fantastic and of course, the song: I can't smile without you.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Kathy Bates, as usual is great in this one. In fact, she makes the entire movie. Her character is a bored housewife, whose husband, portrayed by Dan Ackroyd, informs her that he wants a divorce, because of her. That sets her life into motion onto a path she normally wouldn't have gone. From Chicago to England she heads and has the time of her life.
Overall, I recommend it to anyone who needs a good laugh. This one will do it for you.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2015
A heart-warming movie that will entertain most people who watch it. Kathy Bates is wonderful and Rupert Everett is her match. The storyliine is improbable, having to do with the murder of a popular Tom Jones-style British singer and his drooling, adoring female fans. Bates is one of those fans who imprints her simple, frustrated, romantic yearnings onto this singer. But she acts on her feelings. It is filled with comedy and surprising cameos from some well-known British actors. Dan Ackroyd is good as Bates' vaguely unhappy husband. The supporting cast is excellent. This one is worth the price of purchase for a home library.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2016
A quirky film with a cast of talented actors who make it a genuine joy to watch. Check out the restaurant scene, where Dan Akyroyd can't quite manage to look at Kathy Bates, so he doesn't crack up. You end up wondering how many takes there were on certain scenes. The cast is having a wonderful time and that's just part of what makes this so wonderful and watchable, even tho the plot is tenuous at best. You also wonder what will happen next--there are some hilarious cameos. Highly recommended if you can suspend belief and just want an upbeat and funny time at the movies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2017
This is one of my favourite movies. I watch it several times a year because I like its depth and simple metaphysical teachings and portrayal of a woman who has been in slavary to her marriage and is finally waking up after a brief dark night of the soul.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2012
What do you do when your husband of many years says he doesn't love you anymore and the marriage is over?
You fall back on the love you have for your music idol. When Grace's idol Victor Fox dies unexpectedly she decides to travel to Britain to attend his funeral where she meets his family and his lover, oops I mean chauffeur/housekeeper Dirk (Rupert Everett). After a mixed reception, Grace convinces Dirk to head back to Chicago in search of Victor's killer!

Kathy Bates is simply fabulous as Grace but then she is a class act!
I caught the last half of this movie on TV and laughed so hard I couldn't breathe. So I had to buy it to watch it from the beginning. I don't laugh out loud easily but this movie made me laugh so much my stomach hurt, even the second time around. Mad, crazy, tender - it's just about unconditional love!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2016
I probably set my hopes a little high based upon the cast but it was okay. There were definitely some laugh out loud parts but a lot of it just seemed forced and a little silly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2017
One of my favorite movies of all time...bought one for my mom who also adores it...great acting, funny, touching and definitely a feel good movie!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2012
Unconditional Love was released in 2003. It tickles my funny bone ! Not as wild as Sordid Lives but appeals like that one does. People doing and saying outrageously funny things. You will probably have to watch it more than once to catch some lines. It is the little things I seem to notice in films. In this one when Stephanie Beacham mugs and simpers it really makes me laugh. Barry Manilow and Julie Andrews have cameos. Meredith Easton is priceless in her role. Fans of Kathy Bates will like this the most.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here