This title is not currently available for purchase
Kindle App Ad
Under a Pole Star: Shortlisted for the 2017 Costa Novel Award by [Penney, Stef]

Under a Pole Star: Shortlisted for the 2017 Costa Novel Award Kindle Edition

3.5 out of 5 stars 20 customer reviews

See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle

Kindle Feature Spotlight

CLOSE

Length: 596 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled
  • Due to its large file size, this book may take longer to download

Holiday Sneak Peek
Get a sneak peek into Holiday deals on the Amazon App. Learn more
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.

Editorial Reviews

Review

Winner of the 2017 Wilbur and Niso Smith Adventure Writing Prize for Best Published Novel

"Penney's prose is rapturous, whether she is describing the 'overwhelmingly rich--glorious and unnecessary' landscape, or in her detailed and richly imagined passages on the attraction and intimacy between Flora and Jakob. By telling their story through recollection and the letters that they send, Penney imparts an additional layer of suspense, with neither the reader nor the characters knowing what may come, resulting in an exciting and transportive novel."
Publishers Weekly


"A fascinating, mysterious historical novel about a female explorer in a world of men at the end of the nineteenth century. Under a Pole Star is an adventure, an illicit romance, and a life-defying exploration of a land most of us know nothing about. The contrast of the lovers' blazing relationship set against the frigid Arctic and the secrets that propel the narrative will keep readers riveted in this hard-to-forget, mesmerizing tale!"
M.J. Rose, New York Times bestselling author


"Serious issues like gender bias and exploitation are adeptly handled, and the icy Arctic setting comes alive in passages of shimmering beauty . . . An exceptional epic about an unconventional woman's life and loves."
Booklist (Starred Review)


"Penney does a masterly job of melding Flora's story with the more factual accounts of polar expeditions, and many of her characters are taken from the pages of history . . . A gripping tale about the men and women who were driven to conquer the Arctic. Bound to appeal to admirers of Eowyn Ivey's To the Bright Edge of the World."Library Journal (Starred Review)

"Penney makes it clear that whatever their flaws, these early explorers, even the least likable and most desperate, had dreams and courage and a mystical pull toward the north that was almost as strong as the magnetism of the Pole itself. That's the true heart of this immersive novel. If you are fond of boundary-shattering journeys--geographical, sexual, and scientific--you'll have a great ride."
The Bookreporter


"A panoramic historical epic and an unforgettable love story from the author of the Costa-winning The Tenderness of Wolves, for fans of Sarah Perry, Jessie Burton, and Donna Tartt."― Princeton Book Review

"A tale of foul play and doomed love . . . It is a tribute to Penney's superlative descriptive skills that the book's erotic charge is so startlingly effective, and that her icy landscapes cast such a lasting, almost hallucinatory spell."
The Guardian


"What has marked Penney out from the start is her ability to make her extensive historical research come alive."
Sunday Herald

"With the nights drawing in and the temperature beginning to plummet, there's no better time to curl up with this stunningly evocative tale about an intrepid young female explorer. As immersive as it is mesmerizing, this is a novel that you won't ever forget."―Heat

About the Author

Stef Penney is a screenwriter and the author of three acclaimed novels: The Tenderness of Wolves, The Invisible Ones, and Under a Pole Star. The Tenderness of Wolves won the Costa Prize for Book of the Year, Theakston's Crime Novel of the Year, and was translated into thirty languages. She grew up in Edinburgh.

Product details

  • File Size: 11272 KB
  • Print Length: 596 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1786481197
  • Publisher: Quercus (November 3, 2016)
  • Publication Date: November 3, 2016
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01C652QLW
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #657,326 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


20 customer reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Showing 1-6 of 20 reviews

November 7, 2016
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
May 13, 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
September 6, 2017
Format: HardcoverVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
March 29, 2017
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
January 6, 2018
Format: HardcoverVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
November 13, 2016
Format: Audible Audiobook
review image
3 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Under a Pole Star: Shortlisted for the 2017 Costa Novel Award
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Under a Pole Star: Shortlisted for the 2017 Costa Novel Award