Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 19 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 40 reviews
on March 6, 2014
I have some professional reasons for trying to collect the best information I can about marijuana. I literally could not find another volume that attempts to collect all the extant research on pot. This is it. A friend who read it argued that the book was biased, because, although Earleywine explicitly states that pot is neither completely harmless or clearly badly harmful, the book is probably going to be admired by pro-pot folks than anti-pot folks. But, for the anti-pot folks, to paraphrase Stephen Colbert, it may turn out that the facts are biased against them. There are plenty of perfectly good reasons people should encourage others, especially teenagers, to avoid pot. There's no reason to make stuff up. This is an excellent, well-researched and indispensable read for people interested in the topic. Would love to see a new edition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2013
This was one on the first books I purchased on this subject and I'm really glad I found it. The author does present with some humor, but this is a much more serious and scholarly book than any others I have read so far. Facts, facts, facts. Everyone on the side of legalization of cannabis for medical or recreational use should arm themselves with the facts and not hearsay on this subject, and this book should be in your library. I hope a newer edition is forthcoming as new evidence presents itself.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2014
The author does a masterful job of thoroughly debunking many widely held myths from health scares to addiction myths. He presents well researched evidence in a logical and methodical manner. His findings were eye opening in a number of areas and cast a truthful light on many misconceptions that I held for so long. I am grateful that I now have factual information that replaces misinformation that I held unto for so long. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who wishes to replace myths with knowledge.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2015
I like it but it needs an update. Very well written and far ahead of other works at the time. Old information in a field budding with new insights. It is a scholarly work when most others are elementary. Great resource for research and the history of cannabis.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2007
With all of the misinformation circulating about cannabis over the last 70 years its nice to have a refreshing, scholarly, intelligent review of the subject. I wish everybody in the country who had anything to do with the War on Drugs - from both sides of the debate, would stop bantering about unsupported nonsense and old cliches about that vegetation and look at the evidence, the history, and see the nonsense that is currently floating unabashedly about on that subject. Thanks Dr. Earlywine for your significant effort to try to get out the facts. Del
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2013
This is a comprehensive work that systematically covers just about every aspect of marijuana usage, and does so quite objectively, with lots of scientific backing.After reading this, you'd have to be pretty hardcore not to admit there's a good case to be made for general decriminalization. Congress should have to read it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2013
Since the 2012 November election the level of interest in the legalization of Marijuana has reached some significant momentum. I was sceptical about making the consumption of Marijuana legal but this book certainly changed my view about the possibility.

Through and well argued science will hopefully overcome old and misguided social norms.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2014
a "new look" at evidence that was been there all along. the mainstream population needs to be aware of the scientific investigation in the responsible use of the plant medically, recreationally and economically
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2014
Wish I could mail this book to Bill O'Reilly on Fox news! There are some good purposes for this medicinal plant. Can't help all those who would abuse it. There are many things human beings use unwisely. Thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2013
One of the better books available on the subject of Cannabis. It gives the long history, uses throughout history and unbiased information you will not find in many other publications. Interesting and engaging read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse