Shop Auto Winter Products Salon Beauty Best Books of the Year Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch New playlist Christmas Soul STEM $24.99 for a limited time only Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video  Three new members of the Echo family Black Friday Deals Week: Fire tablets starting at $29.99. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno



on April 11, 2014
I'm on the last chapter of what can be at times a challenging read. Author Hancock has done some extensive research into this subject and brought it all together. As stated in some of his former works, he believes that the traditional view of Archaeologist, is missing a massive piece of the puzzle. When you look at edifices like the Pyramids, which exist all over the world, their perfect astrological alignment and massive construction, we are lead to believe that Men barley out of the stone age, were responsible for this construction, with rudimentary tools, of these massive construction projects that would be a challenge to today's modern Construction companies with powered equipment, Hancock's belief is that this technology and construction savvy, just didn't pop up one day, but was the results of a developed society and engineers, that existed in the pre deluge days of the planet. Hancock revels that in pretty much every culture on the planet there is a Noah Ark like story, of collecting animals, or seed and finding refuge before the great flood, and the survival of the few afterwards. Hancock goes on with this theory, with the help of modern technology and diverse disciplines that show pre flood maps of the coast lines of world, prior to the melting Ice caps. His dives in various places in the world revel man made structures beneath the waves, that match up to local legends. His belief that there is a pre history of this planet that explains these gaps in our understanding of civilization, but they exist in this not so hidden Underworld.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2017
If found this to be a very interesting read. The author is honest in his opinions. When there is ambiguity, he readily admits it. I did find it ironic in that he mentions a couple times that he thinks the ancient alien theory (as of 2001 when the book was written) is bunk, but then he has been on multiple episodes of the t.v. show since 2010. Perhaps his opinion has changed? In any event, this book is worth your time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2009
Yet another excellent work by the author. Mr. Hancock has made an exceptional study of "pre-civilizations" in areas that are rarely if ever covered in the common media. He makes a great case for the possible and probable origins of our civilization in areas not relatively acknowledged in "mainstream" publishing.

As you read this work you will be accompanying him on his trips, not just reading dry facts as to how he derived his opinions and theories. As previously noted in the reviews of his other works, he is an excellent and interesting writer. He writes in great depth so you can understand the; who, what, when, where, how and why of his research and opinions. This book is typical to his writing in that regard. Good comparisons of the various opinions of how our cultures have mysteriously come from "nowhere" to a heavily advanced state "overnight". It is definitely another pass around book! Well worth your time.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2017
You can say what you will about the topic of alternate history but regardless of which side you fall in this is a great read with solid empirical evidence. Graham Hancock presents a valid and we'll researched theory while presenting evidence which by itself challenges currently accepted theories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2013
In this study Mr. Hancock simply puts the information out there. He doesn't attempt to convince or prove just to relay the findings. The extraordinary photos and descriptions are enough for me to desire further research into these historic and pre-historic relics. This research does inspire the question of why there aren't many other excavations and archeological studies of these underwater environments. I am thankful Mr. Hancock is daring enough to bring these treasures to light; and agree that he does not need to waist his time convincing mainstream academia of its value. It is there to be explored, answer question and inspire new questions. The possibilities are exciting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2017
Interesting read but way to much detail for the casual reader.
3/4 of the way through, I started skimming the detailed historical underpinnings of his theories.
Very good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2012
I love Graham Hancock's adventurous soul, and the vision he brings to our world. Here, he goes diving in the oceans of the world to discover lost civilizations, and comes up with evidence, but even more with projections about our world that shift our view of reality profoundly. He's a terrific writer, with an amazing mind and imagination and a brave heart. My only impatience with this book is its length - way too long - but he had no choice because in order to be credible, he had to back up every single fact with masses of data, more than the average reader wishes to wade through. But perhaps I am not so average, because I slogged through every single footnote - that's how fascinating I found it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2017
AWESOME
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2017
Interesting hypothesis. Section on Malta is a bit too drawn out. It would be interesting if he revisited this topic in a new book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2013
If you want a view of human history from outside the normal paradigms, then this is a book for you. It challenges the normal perspectives, and presents astonishing alternatives to the norm. The ideas are great, the writing less so - too diffuse and wandering. But it remains a great book, capable of opening huge new vistas of man's time on earth.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse