Industrial Deals HPC Rebound Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Always ad-free. Learn more. PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon westworldS2 westworldS2 westworldS2  Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now TG18PP_gno



on November 7, 2012
Lots of reprints from 19th-century newspaper hoaxes, and not too critical on the hard evidence front. Still, very fun to read (my favorite part is about the mermaids and the belled buzzard). The author presents strange reports without adding so many of the loopy explanatory theories that these books tend to have ("quantum energy parallel universe alternate portal aliens angels demons atlantis conspiracy" -- pick any three), and makes his point that whether or not strange creatures exist, it is possible to have strange experiences. He could have added a few more common-sense theories, but don't let that stop you. Pair this book with Oliver Sacks new book "Hallucinations", and you will be set for a long weekend.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 14, 2015
A nice catalog of anomalous events, finds, creatures and so on. Many of the incidents related are a bit on the old side; it is almost impossible to trust fully in the veracity of the old accounts, especially given that the primary news medium of the time could not fully be trusted, particularly those in the 19th century. The bibliographies by chapter are especially helpful. Nothing new, a bit dry at times, but still worth reading. The latter chapters debunking long-standing myths are especially interesting.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 5, 2007
I will make my review short and sweet: THIS IS ABSOLUTELY THE BEST BOOK ON UNEXPLAINED PHENOMENA I'VE EVER READ.

I've re-read this book from cover to cover many times.

I especially appreciate the fact that lesser known subjects such as Mad Gassers, Springheel Jack, Mokele Mbembe, and Pwdre Ser are given respectable coverage. For example, I consider this book's account of the Mothman sightings to be the definitive summary. Those who muddled through John Keel's convoluted "Mothman Prophecies" will appreciate the concise and to-the-point treatment given to the sightings in this book.

The book is extensively supported by sources.

This is a MASTERPIECE. Jerome Clark's name may not yet be a household word like Brad Steiger, but it should be.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 29, 2013
I was extremely happy to see this book pop up as available for Kindle since I had the 2nd edition for years. The 2nd edition was so good that I've had three copies stolen from me over the years! I bought this so I'd never have it stolen from me again.

Honestly, this was almost a completely different book. There are entire sections removed and new ones added. A few of my favorite stories and accounts have been removed. The book no longer deals with UFO. Well, not as a subject unto itself. They're mentioned in articles where UFOs have been involved in some way, but the over all history of the UFO phenomenon has been taken out. Honestly though, what else is left to say on the subject?

Mostly, the new edition deals with subject matter of a more likely nature in many cases. It also divides the subjects into two clearly defined areas. Things that are possible and things that aren't. I like that personally.

While I did enjoy this edition, I felt the scope was much smaller and I was a bit disappointed by the narrower focus of subject matter. Don't let that deter you though. It's was a fantastic read and a good source book for information on the paranormal.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 5, 2017
One of the best paranormal/unexplained books ever written. i checked it out of the library several times before i finally decided i had to own it. Make certain to buy this edition as the later versions i.e. 2013/14 edition is not nearly as good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 6, 2011
This is an interesting and excellent anthology on unexplained areas of life. Mysterious and anomalous; creatures, sites, sightings etc. Fun and interesting and well written.
At the opening he gives away his prejudices and opinions, so.... as long as you understand that and take his opinions with the proverbial "grain of salt" you will have a good time with the book. Lots of anomalous areas are covered. If you are interested in the unexplained it is a good item to purchase and keep.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 5, 2015
Great gift!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 23, 2014
Jerome Clark is a great writer of all things mysterious and unknown. As in his previous books, once again he brings to life this fascinating subject matter. Whatever your take on unexplained and anomalous phenomena, this book will certainly stimulate your curiosity about our world and some of its many mysteries.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 27, 2014
I love mysteries & always have, this is a book that takes almost every mystery you've ever heard of & puts it in one volume. You can use it as a reference book or just for your enjoyment. I thoroughly enjoyed this. :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 9, 2014
A textbook approach at cataloguing of unexplained events. It covers every topic from UFO to unusual animals. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in unexplained phemons
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse