Kindle Price: $8.99

Save $3.00 (25%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Unhooked by [Maxwell, Lisa]
Kindle App Ad

Unhooked Kindle Edition

4.2 out of 5 stars 124 customer reviews

See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$8.99

Length: 353 pages Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled Page Flip: Enabled

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Gr 7 Up—In this dark retelling of Peter Pan we meet Gwendolyn Allister, who is moving again, this time to London. Her best friend, Olivia, is coming with them for the summer to help with Gwen's slightly crazy mother, who is trying to keep them away from the monsters. Gwen has never lived anywhere long enough to have a home, and when they settle in their first night in London, they are captured by dark shadowy creatures and taken to Neverland. When Gwen awakens, she finds herself in the presence of Captain Hook on his ship of boy pirates, sea hags, and a Neverland island filled with magic and Fey creatures who are anything but fairylike. Gwen quickly finds a distaste for Hook and is "rescued" by Pan and taken to the magical island that Gwen feels she can connect with. After finding Olivia, Gwen comes to realize that things are not what they seem with Pan and his fortress filled with Lost Boys. Through a series of perilous adventures and battles where countless lives are sacrificed, the teen realizes that she is being used by both sides. She discovers her own magical heritage and Pan and Hook's sinister plot. Readers will be surprised and satisfied with the outcome. Even though the pacing is awkward at times and Gwen tends to get lost in interior monologue throughout, this gruesome retelling will be a hit with teens. VERDICT A general purchase where fractured fairy tales and fairy fantasy is popular.—Nancy Jo Lambert, Reedy High School, Frisco, TX

Review

“Perfect for fans of A.G. Howard’s Splintered trilogy and ABC’s Once Upon A Time, this twisted Peter Pan retelling isn’t the Neverland of your dreams—it’s the Neverland of your nightmares." (Sara Raasch, author of the Snow Like Ashes trilogy )

"Lisa Maxwell’s The Stars Turned Away spins the classic Peter Pan tale into a tempting, spine-chilling adventure. Maxwell transports readers into the haunting, and yet breathlessly romantic, world of Neverland that will spellbind readers into making them wish they could stay forever." (Christina Farley, author of the bestselling Gilded series )

“This dark, violent, gripping and twisty retelling of Pan is so good, there's no going back to the original!!” (Ellen Oh, author of the Prophecy series )

Once again, Gwen and her eccentric artist mother have moved. For Gwen, it’s hard to accept being repeatedly uprooted, especially since it’s possible that her mother is actually losing her mind. With senior year and college looming ahead, Gwen wants this move to be different, but when she starts seeing and hearing things no one else does, she wonders if her mother might not be crazy after all. When Gwen is kidnapped by dark creatures, she is only slightly relieved to be rescued by a pirate captain with a mechanical arm and a crew of young boys, recognizable as the characters from Peter Pan. The longer she stays in Neverland, however, the less she remembers, and the more fictional characters she meets, the less she believes in the original tale. Maxwell, who first established herself with Sweet Unrest (2014), successfully shifts gears to tackle this adventurous fairy-tale retelling. This new take on the classic isn’t the traditional once upon a time, and that alone will hook many readers. — Stacey Comfort (Booklist February 1, 2015)

In this dark retelling of Peter Pan we meet Gwendolyn Allister, who is moving again, this time to London. Her best friend, Olivia, is coming with them for the summer to help with Gwen’s slightly crazy mother, who is trying to keep them away from the monsters. Gwen has never lived anywhere long enough to have a home, and when they settle in their first night in London, they are captured by dark shadowy creatures and taken to Neverland. When Gwen awakens, she finds herself in the presence of Captain Hook on his ship of boy pirates, sea hags, and a Neverland island filled with magic and Fey creatures who are anything but fairylike. Gwen quickly finds a distaste for Hook and is “rescued” by Pan and taken to the magical island that Gwen feels she can connect with. After finding Olivia, Gwen comes to realize that things are not what they seem with Pan and his fortress filled with Lost Boys. Through a series of perilous adventures and battles where countless lives are sacrificed, the teen realizes that she is being used by both sides. She discovers her own magical heritage and Pan and Hook’s sinister plot. Readers will be surprised and satisfied with the outcome. Even though the pacing is awkward at times and Gwen tends to get lost in interior monologue throughout, this gruesome retelling will be a hit with teens. VERDICT A general purchase where fractured fairy tales and fairy fantasy is popular. (School Library Journal February 2016)

Hidden powers, parallelworlds—Gwen has a lot on her plate, but there are two teen hunks determined tohelp her. Maxwell uproots Gwen from contemporary London and drops her in a reworkedNeverland with competing teen versions of Peter Pan and Capt. Hook (with anenchanted mechanical arm) and a mercurial, lethal version of Tinkerbell.Excerpts from a separate story precede each chapter; despite its "Onceupon a time" opening, this narrative starts on terra firma. Its World WarI storyline of two brothers edges ever closer toward the main tale until thestories merge. The first-person, present-tense voice lets Gwen share herconfusion during frequent clashes between good and evil, her uncertainty overwho is telling the truth and deserves her loyalty, and the "thunderinghoofbeats" of her heart as she defies death and the various minions ofgood and evil. Unsurprisingly, Pan and Hook (also known as the Captain and,eventually, simply Rowan) offer competing love interests. Maxwell shows atalent for describing lush, imaginative settings and epic battles based onlayers of deceit and betrayal; inconsistent pirate vernacular is happily everless frequent as the story progresses. When the truth of Gwen's lineageemerges, readers will wonder that she spends so much time looking for a herorather than being the heroine. The romance is emphasized in this retelling ofBarrie's classic. (Paranormal romance. 14 & up) (Kirkus Reviews 1/1/16)

4Q 4P J S

BecauseGwendolyn’s mother believes that monsters are after them, she and Gwen keepmoving from place to place. Their latest move takes them to contemporary London,with Gwen’s friend Olivia visiting for the summer. Almost immediately, the twoteens are kidnapped by dark horrible creatures, and Gwen realizes that maybeher mother is not crazy after all. When Gwen awakens, she is on a shipcaptained by Hook and manned by many young boy pirates. Pan, as he prefers tobe called, then appears to “rescue” her from Hook and takes her to Neverland,with its mysterious and ever-changing landscape. Here she finds Olivia, whosepersonality is much changed. Both the handsome young teens claim to want tohelp her, but who is telling the truth and who is lying? Who is good, and whois evil?

Magicand fairies, sea hags and dark flying creatures, all combine to tell abeautifully written, dark retelling of Barrie’s Peter Pan. Things are not always what they seem. Essentially aromance, the book focuses on Gwen figuring out who really deserves her love andtrust. While considering her best actions to return home, she discovers her ownmagical abilities. She soon realizes that she is strong enough to help herselfand others. Each chapter is preceded by a short passage about two brothersfighting in WWI, and, eventually, the relationship between these excerpts andthe main story is revealed. After reading this sometimes violent and unexpectedstory, one can never view Peter Panin the same light.—Jane Van Wiemokly. (VOYA April 2016)


Product details

  • File Size: 2532 KB
  • Print Length: 353 pages
  • Publisher: Simon Pulse; Reprint edition (February 2, 2016)
  • Publication Date: February 2, 2016
  • Sold by: Simon and Schuster Digital Sales Inc
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00Z7C1HSA
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #322,420 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer Reviews

Rated by customers interested in
Young Adult Books
4.0 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars
Children's Books
4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 stars
Romance Novels
4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 stars

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

September 21, 2016
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
June 23, 2016
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Unhooked
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Unhooked