Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Universal 100th Anniversary Collection (Blu-ray) - Limited Edition
Your Garage Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis DollyParton Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 5, 2012
Here is the list of movies that are included in this set:

All Quiet on the Western Front (1930)
American Graffiti (1973)
Apollo 13 (1995)
Back to the Future (1985)
The Birds (1963)
The Bourne Identity (2002)
The Breakfast Club (1985)
Buck Privates (1941)
Despicable Me (2010)
Do the Right Thing (1989)
Dracula (1931)
E.T. The Extra-Terrestrial (1982)
The Fast and the Furious (2001)
Field of Dreams (1989)
Jaws (1975)
Jurassic Park (1993)
Mamma Mia! The Movie (2008)
National Lampoon's Animal House (1978)
Out of Africa (1985)
Pillow Talk (1959)
Scarface (1983)
Spartacus (1960)
The Sting (1973)
To Kill a Mockingbird (1962)

Schindler's List (1993) (included only in the DVD box set)
Dracula Spanish (1931) (included only in the Blu-ray box set)
33 comments| 373 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2012
I defy anyone to tell me what these 25 movies have in common--other than that they were produced/distributed by Universal Studios. This isn't a well-curated collection, just a bunch of movies that a lot of different audiences will like, but there is no audience who is going to have a taste for all of these films. "All Quiet on the Western Front" and "Mama Mia!"? OK.... And if you can find me anyone who's going to finish "Pillow Talk" then pop in "The Fast and the Furious," I'd love to meet him/her.

Instead, this set seems to be akin to the world's most expensive box of chocolates--something for everybody, but nothing for any one person. It's something that a great aunt with a lot of cash would give as a birthday gift: "I heard you like movies, so here are a bunch of movies."
5858 comments| 708 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 14, 2013
This is a wonderful (if not great) collection of movies. But you see, the thing is, if you're into good movies, chances are you already have a bunch of these. For example, out of the 25 titles listed, I already have 13. For someone like me, paying that kind of money for duplicates of so many titles makes no sense at all. If you're new on the block and want to start a library (and have the money), sure, it's an amazing collection. As other reviewers have pointed out, though, one man's "wow!" is another man's yawn. You could never please everyone . . .which makes it seem futile to assemble a collection like this. And another thing: If this set celebrates 100 years of films from Universal, how come the oldest is 1930? Didn't they make anything worthwhile before ALL QUIET ON THE WESTERN FRONT (1930)? There are two versions of DRACULA (the Lugosi one and the Spanish-language version made concurrently) . . .but no FRANKENSTEIN? And what about all those Lon Chaney films? THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA and THE HUNCHBACK OF NOTRE DAME? Okay, this is where it comes down to a matter of taste or choices. But to leave out the entire silent era? Absurd!
1313 comments| 167 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2015
This set turned out to be better than I expected. A separate disc for each movie. Information on each movie. I know a lot of people complained that no one person would enjoy all the movies because the movies are so different from each other, but my husband and I are seriously enjoying the variety. We get a lot of guests staying with us and I'm sure everyone one of them will find a movie they would like to watch. The movies are very good quality with no problems so far. We can't say enough about how much we are enjoying the movies.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2013
This collection shows the weakness of Universal. Universal was the house of horror and low-budget comedies in the 30's and 40's. Still, they had many fine titles in the 50's. The previous reviews are correct. This is simply a bunch of films, instead of something that would interest a collector. Even doing a 5 of each genre (horror, comedy, rom-com, action, etc) that covered from the beginnings of sound would have made this an interesting collect. Right now, I can see spending my money elsewhere.
0Comment| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2016
Excellent collection of movies. My only comment is beware of the binding as the tape didn't hold, causing some DVDs to slip into the tape. I was able to clean the tape residue off, but at first we were concerned that the movies were damaged permanently.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2014
This is a big disappointment. After 100 years in business, the best they can offer is 25-films including Animal House and Mamma Mia!. Some of these films you can buy for $0.75 - $1.00 plus shipping at Amazon and other online retailers. If you make a list of the films you truly want to watch, you can buy such on Blu-ray for probably less than $100. Apparently, this promotion got lost in the shuffle of General Electric selling NBC which owned Universal. I was expecting something spectacular with a nice book. This is pathetic. In comparison you should look at the 20th-Century Fox 75th Anniversary Collection: 75 films on 76 discs. I want to know who was in charge of this project at Universal. They should be ostracized. I'm glad I didn't attend the party.
11 comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2015
This is an awesome collection of movies! It's an eclectic assortment, naturally not everyone will like every movie. The set is nicely packaged, and the included booklet is visually appealing although short on content. I purchased this as a daily deal at a greatly reduced price, really an unbeatable deal for an excellent selection of movies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2015
What a terrific deal! This cost about $1.00 per movie ... how can you beat that? 25 movies in one compact package ... I couldn't resist. I live and work overseas so having this many classic movies in one set will provide entertainment for many evenings!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2015
This set is has a tremendous variety of movie categories in this box set. I did watch them all and had problem with skipping on one dvd, but the overall quality was great. There were a couple of movies that were definitely marginal in content but there were also many outstanding titles. There is something for everyone and others that could expand your horizons
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse