Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Smart Ass
Amazon Vehicles Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer power_s3 power_s3 power_s3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports

Price:$13.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 500 reviews(5 star). Show all reviews
on April 25, 2008
I'm surprised that this game has reviews that are only 3 stars, it is a great party game. It is a blast to play and had all of us laughing. This is not a game for 12 year olds, I would strongly recommend it for people over 18, however. I love that it can be played in only a half hour, I want to scream when other trivia games go over the two hour mark. I thought many of the trivia questions were clever. Bottom line, of the group of four of us, everyone thought this game was awesome.
22 comments| 409 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 31, 2008
I bought this for my 12yr old, and besides having to set aside some cards because they are things he has never heard of, it is a blast to play. Quick game, takes maybe 20-30 min at the most. We end up playing 3 times in a row to see who really is the Smart A@@!! I recommend it for anyone with middle school age kids, may be to hard for younger kids, and as an adult I find it amazing at the things I do not know! If you like playing games with the kids, and like playing quick games rather then being stuck for hours playing, this is it! There are enough cards as well that the 20 times we have played, we have not gone through them all yet! There are a few cards that would not be child appropriate, like there is one in there that the answer is Viagra, and the clues are more adult then what I would have thought, but other then that we love it!
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2008
We played this with 20+ year-olds through those in their 60's and had a lot of fun. Because questions ranged from very recent topics to more classical history-type questions, all ages were able to answer questions and be a part of the game. Also, given the progressive nature of the questions, we rarely had a round with a question that went unanswered. This is a game for individuals, not teams, and you can have from 2-8 people play. Since we'd spent much of the weekend playing team-oriented games, this was also a nice change. Highly recommend.
0Comment| 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2009
I purchased SmartA** as a Christmas present for my boyfriend, and we played it Christmas night and had a blast. I think that kids can play this game, and that it is very educational. My 9-yr old son, and two teenage nephews played with us, and everyone was able to answer some/all of the questions. My son was able to answer questions with fewer clues than the adults! I would definitely suggest this game....so much fun!!
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2011
Don't let the title fool you, it's just a catchy name but there is nothing foul about it. We bought this game for down time on our trip to Great Wolf Lodge & the teenage boys were up laughing their heads off playing until 3am. My son & I now take it to the local diner a couple times a month and play while we are waiting for our meal. The main waitress dubbed it the game of profanity because of the name & it kind of stuck but it really is educational and fun. It's sort of like a Trivial Pursuit for the current decade but much more fun and not as long and drawn out. Don't forget to buy the booster pack to keep it fresh!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2009
This game is hilarious, fun packed, great questions, tons of ways to make jokes out of the questions with your friends, we used this at an after party with some friends(19-28)and turned it into a great adult gaming session.

Highly recommended.

We have apples to apples, loaded questions and dirty minds and this is my fav, and a great addition to any teen/adult party mix.

realistically you just need the cards to turn a night into hours of fun and laughs. (and its has tons of cards)
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2009
I'm surprised that no one has mentioned that this game was developed in England and many of the questions have to do with England and are written from a British point of view. That's not a criticism, nor does it make the game any less fun, but it's a fact. The game is a creative version of a Twenty Questions type trivia game and we had a blast playing it for FIVE HOURS straight.
11 comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2016
One of my new favorite games!!! I am so happy that we added this to our collection. It was a great buy and since we bought it on Amazon instead of Walmart or Target it actually has the word ass on it instead of A**. This is one of those incredibly simple games that if you don't have someone who loves board games this is a great way to introduce them. A simple trivia game where whoever knows the answer first just randomly shouts it out and gets the points. It's really no harder than that. Not many rules and not many variations. We generally use this as a light starter game since it goes so quick. I only wish there was more expansions to it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2012
Trivia buffs and casual gamers alike will have fun playing this game. For reference, other games I like: Cranium, Trivial Pursuit, Wits and Wagers.

Gameplay:

There are 3 topics: Who Am I? What am I? Where am I? A card is drawn and then 10 clues describing the answer are read 1 at a time. You can guess at anytime, but once you guess once you're done. The challenges is you have to figure out when the optimal time is to guess your answer because you only have one shot. Clues often intentionally mislead you, but are sometimes obvious from the start. This randomness will throw you off and keeps the playing field relatively level.

The board is well set up, keeps games short and fun, and throws in some bonus and punishment spaces. This once again, helps level the playing field.

Overall A great game! 5 Stars.

_
_
_

Small Problems

Questions: Some of the grammar/topics can be a little confusing. E.g, We had a "Where am I?" question and the answer was the "Statue of Liberty." Seems that this would have been better fit for "What am I?".

"Hard Ass" questions are super easy. We haven't missed one yet. These questions should have been made legitimately difficult.

Booster Box: You will go through the cards fast, and the booster box is lame, its only a travel version of the game. The makers of the game need to create a legitimate booster pack.
_
_
_

Customized Rules (a couple ways we changed the game)

"Dumb Ass" Space Rule: The rule is if you land on Dumb Ass (i.e., you can't guess the next turn ) and if you're scheduled to be the reader then you are skipped as the reader, and the next person reads. You then can't guess while they read. This is actually to your advantage b/c reading is worse off. We changed the rules so if its your turn to read the question, you read it, and then also have to sit out the next turn. This seems to be more logical.

Finish the game with a Hard Ass question. Like trivial pursuit or cranium, the first person to the end must answer a hard ass question to win the game.

Tiebreaker: The rules says two people who tie go to a Hard Ass question. The Hard Ass questions are not like the other questions, they are simply random trivia (i.e. not 10 clues). Sometimes no-one knows these questions, which defeats the purpose of the tie breaker. A much better tiebreaker is to simply draw a normal question, as this type of trivia is much more exciting for tie-breaking and is consistent with the entire game play.

Enjoy!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2015
I bought this for my husband and me to bond in a family fun way with my 21 year old step son and his girlfriend. We played it last night and was I was pleased that that the "kids" enjoyed it so much they didn't want the game to end. It brought back warm memories of playing Monopoly with my Dad and brother for hours growing up. The game gives everyone a chance to get a few questions right and interact with loved ones in a time honored tradition of playing a board game at a kitchen counter. In today's world, that is priceless.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 19 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here