Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Unmistakable Rogue (The Rogues Club Book 3)
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Britney Spears Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
109
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 17, 2003
. . . but though I enjoyed this book, I can't give it 5 stars. This third in the author's "Rogues Club" series follows the pattern of her prior two stories (UNDENIABLE & UNFORGETTABLE) which are really more about the coming together of a family than any wild roguish adventures.
Reed Gilbride has always known that the people who raised him were not truly his parents, so when he receives an anonymous letter telling him that he is the lost heir to the earl of Barrington, he's determined to find out once and for all who he really is. And if that means a title and an estate in the bargain, well so much the better!
Chastity Somers was briefly married to another recipient of an identical letter, and though William Somers died on the trip from France, Chastity is determined to complete his mission. She wants to turn the Barrington estate into a children's home - especially after meeting William's four young orphaned cousins who she takes into her care. And if no other legitimate heir comes forward by the 20th anniversary of the old earl's death, the house will belong to her. So when Reed shows up, she's more than wary. He's handsome, masculine, loathes children and has a similar claim that threatens her plans. But the house needs repairs and she'll need help providing for the children so she agrees to let him say on as a caretaker.
And he certainly does take care of them, teaching them to plant crops, milk the cow, cook and generally take care of themselves (he grew up the oldest child on a farm) and somewhere along the way, they all bond with children and adults becoming dangerously attached. But there is someone behind the scenes that threatens their tranquility and their lives in the name of revenge. And what happens if Reed finds the proof he needs to back up his claim? Will Chastity and the children simply move on somewhere else? And if he doesn't find proof, will he simply walk away and leave them - will they let him?
There were some very sweet, funny, scary and sexy moments in this book, but there were also places where it dragged or went off course (the balloon episode seemed particularly pointless) and I found my attention wandering. And the whole "I love you but we can never be together" thing got a bit old. But the children were charming and the romance between Chastity and Reed was sweet and hot! Reed was a particularly likeable hero, funny, sardonic, sexy and strong. Chastity was kindhearted, sweet and naïve to the point of sometimes coming off as a ditz.
On the whole an enjoyable read with a nice family dynamic - something this author does particularly well. I just think the rest of the story could have been a bit better, tighter. But fans will likely disagree and love it anyway.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 24, 2003
Married and then suddenly widowed, Chastity Somers intended to claim her bridegroom's inheritance as the long-lost St. Yves, Earl of Barrington, heir. She planned to use the estate, Sunnyledge, to run a children's home. She "rescued" her husband's four relatives (3 nephews and 1 niece) from a workhouse prison and dashed off to see the estate's solicitor, Mr. Sonnett. She must wait three months to claim the estate. If the other heir did not show up with proof of his identity by then, the estate would belong to Chastity!
Reed Gilbride believed himself to be the other long-lost heir. He believed the proof he needed was somewhere within Sunnyledge. With only a short time to locate proof he became the caretaker. The instant he found what he needed, the tempting lady and her brigand-brats would leave! But even though Reed went looking for his heritage, he never expected that he would find salvation!
***** As usual, Annette Blair has written an intense romance that will leave her readers begging for more! The villainess is one that is obviously insane and extremely wicked. I loved to hate the character, which proves the author's wonderful talent! The children and their antics kept me laughing while they easily melted Reed's icy heart.
I cannot recommend this book highly enough. Excellent! *****
Reviewed by Detra Fitch.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2004
Reviewer: A reader from rochester new york
I enjoyed every moment of this book. The characters, even the children, have personality, depth and believability. There's laugh out loud fun and tears. "Chastity" is a tad too naive but the hero is all hero and quite makes up for it. This isn't your standard regency story . In fact I found the title very misleading. I read this in spite of the "usual" title and am glad that I did.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2004
I don't usually read historical romances, but I've read all of Annette Blair's books and enjoyed them very much. I like them because they entertain me in so many ways. In AN UNMISTAKABLE ROGUE there were so many times when I laughed or smiled, especially during the scenes with the children. At other times, I was left in suspense and even a little frightened, wondering what would happen next. I loved the somewhat spooky setting of a mansion with a dark secret. Underneath his rogue exterior, hero Reed Gilbride has a heart of gold--loved him! The story kept moving right along so I never got bored. The surprise ending really touched and endeared me to the heroine, Chastity Somers. All I can say is, I had a really good time reading this book and I couldn't have asked for more!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2003
Like the rest of Annette Blair's rogues, Reed Gilbride has the devil in his eyes. He's had enough of war and fighting and wants solitude and peace. And he wants to know who he is. He goes searching for the proof of his birth, but what does he find but children, of all things, chaos, and Chastity Somers, an exasperating woman who's trying to claim, what might very well be HIS birthright, for her childrens' home.
To be able to stay and search Sunnyledge, Reed takes the job as caretaker and bargains his way into searching with Chastity. If he finds proof that he's the heir, she has to take the children & leave. If he doesn't find proof, he has to go. Despite Reed's most determined efforts, the mismatched band becomes something of a family. The children crack the ice around his heart and with Chastity, they step right in and fill the empty places.
Ms Blair has a way with words. She can make you laugh and cry, hope and fear, but in the end, you'll feel only joy, and maybe a little disappointment that the story is over. Just savor it for a while, then read it again. I know I will.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2015
I really give this one a 4.5 out of 5. It was just as good as the first two, but I noticed several noticeable editing mistakes. I really liked reading how Reed changed through the story with his interactions with Chastity and the children. I think my favorite characters were actually the children, especially Bekah. She was just too cute. The only other part I didn't care for was that the characters from the first two books didn't show up until the very end. It would have been nice if they came in a little earlier in the story line. I can't wait to read book 4 though to see how it all ties together.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2004
Chasity Somers is married and widowed within three days. Picking up the pieces of her broken heart, she rescues her late husband's young cousins from a workhouse. She is determined to start her own orphanage by accepting her husband's inheritance in Sunnyledge. She didn't anticipate anything would stand in her way of providing a home for her charges. Then unexpectedly Reed Gilbride shows up, claiming that he is the lost heir of Sunnyledge.
Reed Gilbride had never known the love of his real parents, having been raised by a couple who were not related and who never let him forget it. When he receives word that he's the missing heir to Sunnyledge, it intrigues him to find a piece of his lost heritage. He is surprised to find a houseful of children and one beautifu,l strong-willed woman who claims she is the rightful owner. He has three months to prove her wrong. Who will win out in the end, and at what cost?
Annette Blair is one of my all time favorite authors. Her writing skill is in a league all by itself. An Unmistakable Rogue is the third book in one of the best series I've read in a decade. This series is a definite must have for any historical romance fan who crave a book that leaves a lasting impression. Very Highly Recommend.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2013
So there are many things about this book that make it a difficult read, starting with keeping us in the dark. Chastity was a nun, married to a man (yeah huh?), who has taken these 4 kids when Aunt Anna died so the kids may or may not be related to Chastity. We know nothing about the kids or why Chastity has them. We know nothing about Chastity. There seems to be nothing nun like about her. I'm not sure what city slicker convent she was in bc she didn't have to work. She can't cook, bake, knows nothing about animals or gardening. I just don't understand how a woman in this time period can have no domestic skills, unless she was rich. Living in a convent it's unlikely she had servants doing everything. So Reed teaches her how to milk, churn butter, make cheese, cook dinner...luckily for her after Waterloo there was such a domestic man. There is also no sexual chemistry other than Reed having some dreams. I'm at the half way point and frankly think Reed could do better. He is allowing her to stay bc of the kids and without him, she would be destitute and die, but frankly that's not enough to want them together. This is a hard read. I recommend having a second book on the side to help you get through it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2012
This is an absolutely top-notch book, and it has it all -- a handsome and enigmatic hero, a winsome and beguiling heroine, scrappy and loving kids, a hierarchy that demands obedience regardless of the effect on those who cannot defend themselves, a beneficent overseer, and one heckuva villainess...and a great HEA to boot. Ms. Blair has crafted a story that made me chuckle, made me laugh out loud, and brought a tear to my eyes. Brava!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2003
The third in Ms. Blair's Rogues Club Series, UNMISTAKABLE may be her best yet, and that's saying something! With a beginning that will pull you into the story with a vengeance, and won't let go till the last incredible page, I soon fell in love with the whole abandoned lot of them--both hero and heroine, Chastity Somers and Reed Gilbride, and the children whose ploys to get them together are admirable and laughable. I hurt when they hurt, laughed with them, rejoiced when they did, cried like a fool.
Reed and Chastity were both brought to the Sunnyledge Estate by an anonymous, vengeful note. Reed is looking for his heritage but finds Chastity and her brats in residence, and planning to remain. Reed dislikes children--he raised a dozen or so step-siblings--and Chastity, having been raised alone, adores children and intends to start a home for orphans in the house Reed believes is his. But Chastity doesn't know how to care for the children and Reed does. They strike a bargain. He'll teach take care of the estate and teach her to care for the children, and they'll search the house together for the proof of his birth. That way, he can't invent proof, and she can't destroy any. If he finds what he seeks, she and her brats will leave, if he doesn't, Sunnyledge will be hers.
You want them both to have it, which is impossible, more impossible than anyone realizes at first. The twists and turns in the plot are a surprise and a treat, and like in one of her early works, THEE, I LOVE, Ms Blair holds us spellbound to the end, at which point, you want to start again right from the beginning.
Treat yourself. Read An Unmistakable Rogue today. Read all Ms Blairs Books! Again and again. You'll come away with joy and hope in your heart every time. A KEEPER!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse