Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning powers4premiere powers4premiere powers4premiere  Doppler $139.99 All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis dm3 Shop Now toystl17_gno_dm3



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 366 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 642 reviews
on May 28, 2014
I loved this book from start to finish. Abby tells hers story as if she's having a conversation with you...although I don't how you could get through it in person without crying. She is gut-wrenchingly honest. An amazing testimony of how God orchestrates a persons life in such a way that you KNOW it was him planning your steps the whole time. This book is not entertainment, it is an important challenge to each of us to examine our own motives, beliefs, and actions and think through them with much effort. We, on BOTH sides of the fence need to make sure we are doing the right thing, really loving, really honoring God with our thoughts and actions. I was convicted in that my attitude towards pro-choice people is that they are all aware and informed of what they believe and participate in. Abby reveals that a person can be deeply conflicted even in what they put their whole self and identity into, pushing down truth that threatens to expose their sin. What a difference the attitude of the opposition made. Killing them with kindness, winning them with love. That's how God woos us. We need to minister to our opposition in that same way. So, I am convicted and left with a huge motivation to get involved in the pro-life movement in a way I have never felt before. Thanks for telling your story, Abby.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2013
Well-written but without the disconnect of many personal stories - I felt disheartened toward her for much of the book, trying to understand how she couldn't see the truth and constantly thought of many friends in my life who think the same as she used to. Now that she has explained how pro-choice proponents generally feel as though they are helping women, it clarifies it a bit. My hope and prayer is that they will come to know that sincerely helping women is by guiding them through the desire for life for their child and a lifetime of joy that accompanies it. By the end of the book, I was comforted by her desire to learn and love in Christ, regardless of external issues that may come with standing up. It is such a feeling of transformation throughout the book and instills inspiration.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2017
This book was hard to put down. It was well written and her story is fascinating. She tells about starting out as a volunteer at Planned Parenthood and moving up to be the director. In her journey from volunteer to director she starts to question her views on abortion. Because of her changing views on abortion it causes her a lot of turmoil in her career and personally.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2015
If you are seeking the truth, this is a must read. A wake-up call to what "women's reproductive health" and "right to choose" really mean. In light of the videos being released by the Center for Medical Progress, Abby's story is a side-by-side companion. The controversial abortion issue is not about women's liberation. It's about human life. Let us hope that someday women who seek abortions are few and far between. Let us begin to move past the rhetoric, talking points and buzz-words of Planned Parenthood and the Abortion industry. "For those with eyes to see, and ears to hear."
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2017
Abby's personal journey from a Planned Parenthood Volunteer as a college student to running a successful clinic, to leaving after 8 years to becoming actively pro-life is compelling, fascinating, and inspiring. It creates a renewed desire to go for ones highest destiny in life. Her warm, engaging personality comes alive in her story, making you feel as if you know her as a friend and want to meet her.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2017
The book was well written and was frank and revealing. Every demographic would benefit by reading this book . If you want to learn about both sides of the abortion issue and if you want to understand why an abortion is the taking of a human life , this is an excellent source . That Abby Johnson intimately knows both sides of "the fence" makes this book invaluable .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2015
Very inspiring story that Abby relates to us in her book of the soul searching and emotional struggles she experienced in reaching her decision to leave Planned Parenthood. Her motives for starting work with Planned Parenthood was to help women with all of their needs before or during pregnancy. She never lost or abandons this desire. What she found though in later years was that Planned Parenthood was more interested in the financial bottom line of the business to end pregnancies. The one day she personally assisted in an abortion procedure became the turning point in her career and could not remove from her mind what actually takes place to a human life.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2016
This is one of the most amazing autobiographies I have ever read. Everyone should read this, it gives perspective on both sides and is well written.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2012
It is rare to come across a story so compelling that I have a hard time putting the book down. I didn't expect anything from this book, but boy was I surprised! Mrs. Johnson starts off with her watershed moment at Planned Parenthood, then backtracks to how she got involved and her 8 years working for them. She has been on both sides and is uniquely talented to share this story. Be warned if you buy it - it will suck you in and you will have a hard time putting the book down!

This would be a good book for pro-choicers to understand the other side. She doesn't bash anyone, but does speak about what turned her off when she was pro-choice, such as the Grim Reaper guy and the woman with the placard. If you are pro-choice, I think this would be a good book because Mrs. Johnson doesn't come across as a crazy radical. She just tells her story, her thoughts, her experiences.

Pick it up (or download it via Kindle) and read it! You won't be disappointed!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2017
This book touched my heart tremendously. It is not just the testimony of Abby Johnson, but it shows how God has a plan for all of us and how He works through us.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse