Buying Options

Kindle Price: $7.49

Save $8.50 (53%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

You've subscribed to ! We will preorder your items within 24 hours of when they become available. When new books are released, we'll charge your default payment method for the lowest price available during the pre-order period.
Update your device or payment method, cancel individual pre-orders or your subscription at
Your Memberships & Subscriptions

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.
Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Unquiet Spirits: Whisky, Ghosts, Murder (A Sherlock Holmes Adventure, Book 2) by [Bonnie MacBird]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Unquiet Spirits: Whisky, Ghosts, Murder (A Sherlock Holmes Adventure, Book 2) Kindle Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 542 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$7.49

Limited-Time Offer
Join Audible Premium Plus for 60% off. Get this deal
Next 4 for you in this series See full series
Total Price: $46.46
By clicking on the above button, you agree to Amazon's Kindle Store Terms of Use

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Bonnie MacBird is a produced screenwriter and playwright as well as an accomplished stage actor and writing teacher. She holds degrees from Stanford in music and film, and when she’s not writing Sherlock Holmes, moonlights as a theatre director and audiobook reader. She divides her time between Los Angeles and London. Visit her at www.macbird.com.

--This text refers to the paperback edition.

Review

‘Haunting, vivid and beautifully plotted, Unquiet Spirits is both an elegant tribute and a cunning update of everything we love about Sherlock Holmes and his world. Bonnie MacBird has done it again!’―Daniel Stashower, author of Teller of Tales: The Life of Arthur Conan Doyle

‘If the original 60 Holmes stories aren't enough for you, read Bonnie MacBird's Unquiet Spirits for another dram of the Great Detective. MacBird deftly blends a series of grisly murders and dark secrets from Holmes’s past into a strong brew!’―Leslie S. Klinger, editor of The New Annotated Sherlock Holmes

‘A superb Sherlockian adventure. Bonnie MacBird’s take on Holmes and Watson is inventive and true to the canon, a splendid blend of fast-paced action and detection in a deliciously gothic Highland setting. I can’t wait for her next book.’―Dana Cameron, author of the Emma Fielding mysteries

‘Pour yourself a wee dram, toss another peat on the fire, and prepare to be swept up in the great detective's Highland fling. MacBird's spooky, scholarly, thoroughly ‘spirited’ follow up to Art in the Blood is a triumph of voice, place, and plotting. Highly recommended for fans of Sherlock, Scotland, and whisky lovers everywhere.’―Catriona McPherson, author of the Dandy Gilver series

‘MacBird’s outstanding sequel to Art in the Blood melds a twisty, multilayered plot with a plausible exploration of Sherlock Holmes’s life before Watson … Will make Sherlockians eager for more from her.’―Publishers Weekly Starred Review

‘MacBird could possibly be Conan Doyle reincarnated. I hope this is a lengthy series. A perfect read as the nights draw in.’―CrimeSquad.com

‘Ms MacBird does a fine job of re-creating the familiar Holmesian universe.’―Wall Street Journal

‘A convincing and gripping adventure that Conan Doyle himself would have been proud of.’―Dundee Courier

‘A crowd-pleaser, and a fast, easy read, and I thoroughly enjoyed my light-hearted amble with one of my favourite childhood characters.’―Crime Review

--This text refers to the paperback edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B06XRH1FQ9
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Collins Crime Club (October 10, 2017)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ October 10, 2017
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 1777 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Sticky notes ‏ : ‎ On Kindle Scribe
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 513 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.6 out of 5 stars 542 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Born in San Francisco, educated at Stanford, Bonnie MacBird lives in London with her husband, computer scientist Alan Kay. A fan of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle since age ten, she's active in the Sherlockian community in both the UK and the US, and lectures regularly on Sherlock Holmes, writing, and creativity. A longtime veteran of Hollywood, MacBird has been a screenwriter (original script for TRON), an Emmy winning producer, a playwright, studio exec (Universal) and actor.

MacBird attributes her enjoyment in capturing "voice" to both her acting and screenwriting experience and her music training as well. She teaches a popular screenwriting class at UCLA Extension, which approaches writing for film using techniques of other art forms.

In her Sherlock Holmes novels, she aims to accurately portray the brilliant detective and his friend as closely as possible to Doyle, yet expanding the original short-form fiction to full-length novels. ART IN THE BLOOD features a child who has disappeared, and a bloody art theft and touches on the theme of the perils and blessings of the artistic temperament. UNQUIET SPIRITS features a murdered girl, a threatened scientist, and a haunted whisky estate while reflecting on the dangers of not dealing with the ghosts of one's past. THE DEVIL'S DUE brings Holmes to the edge of evil in order to combat a devilish serial killer. And THE THREE LOCKS involves magic, cutting-edge science at the Cavendish Laboratories at Cambridge, and a mysterious box which arrives at 221B and which defies all efforts to open it. WHAT CHILD IS THIS? provides a Christmas conundrum in which danger stalks two boys, both sought by their fathers, and the mysteries surrounding their identities.

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5
542 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on November 7, 2022
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on October 14, 2020
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on June 20, 2021
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on June 13, 2018
12 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on August 13, 2020
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on September 27, 2020
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on March 14, 2021
One person found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

William Smith
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on January 6, 2018
7 people found this helpful
Report abuse
M. King
2.0 out of 5 stars Over complicated to hide some real silliness.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on September 27, 2018
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on October 13, 2019
Dozy Mare
2.0 out of 5 stars Slow, dull and predictable
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on February 2, 2020
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Birdy
4.0 out of 5 stars Good try
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on September 29, 2019
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?