Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks Womens Ski Trip Essentials nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Garnet Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon thechi thechi thechi  Echo Dot Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
15


on November 27, 2017
Rebecca Davis has incredible compassion for women who have been emotionally, spiritually, or physically abused. While she cites much from Bill Gothard, who is a "has been," she makes excellent points. There will be more Gothards with a more slick and insidious message. Also, she is the first person, of whom I am aware, who uses the word "bittenessr" as it is used in the Bible-- meaning someone in great anguish. Mrs. Davis demonstrates how "bitter" should not be used to describe hurt women as a way to further "quiet" and crush them. There are so few books on this topic, and Mrs. Davis takes a bold and courageous step without a hint of being acrid.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 11, 2017
A scholarly book written with the layman in mind. Wish this had been available when I was young. A lot of heartache could have been avoided.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 24, 2017
I found this book refreshing as it helped to clarify the meaning of bitterness, grief, and taking up offenses. It can be extremely disheartening and confusing when those you look up to in ministry use scripture in a twisted way to silence anyone who has a problem or discourage coming alongside a hurting friend.
Well written and thought provoking.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 9, 2017
In this small book, Davis takes on some popular "Christian" beliefs that have been used to confuse and suppress abuse victims for far too long. She takes the teachings apart by showing how they don't actually match up to the Bible. The book covers a lot of ground, but Davis' tone is calm and straightforward, making it easy to read.

The target audience is specifically those who have sat under the teachings of Bob Jones (of Bob Jones University), Bill Gothard, Nancy (Leigh) DeMoss Wolgemuth, and similar teachers. Those who aren't familiar with these names might not immediately recognize the terminology. But most in the evangelical church have heard -- and probably agreed with -- these unBiblical concepts.

For some of you, this book will help you heal from your own spiritual abuse. For others of you, it will explain why someone you love reacts so strongly to ideas that you, from a more balanced background, don't find very problematic. I needed this book ten years ago as I was trying to untwist truth from lies in my own Gothard-influenced thinking.

It's an important book. Get it and read it.

*The author sent me a copy of this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 23, 2017
THIS is just the book I've been looking for! Thank you Rebecca Davis for writing this. It never ceases to amazing me how much Scripture-twisting goes on. And on, and on... This book is NEEDED.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 4, 2017
I've been studying the Bible for over 40 years, and didn't realize how I've been applying men's interpretations until I read this book. Thought provoking and helpful!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 4, 2017
This book makes me very sad. It seems to have been written from a place of terrible pain. I hurt for the horrible things that have been said and done to people to control them in "the name of Jesus." And that is very wrong. But it doesn't make this book biblically accurate.

She says, " Jesus always retained his rights." Philippians 2:5-8 say that even though Christ was God He "emptied himself taking the form of a servant.... and humbled himself by becoming obedient to the point of death, even death on a cross." He had full rights to sit at the right hand of the Father but gave that up for us.

The twisting of Scripture happens when people use verses out of context to tell you what they want you to do to control you. For example , God tells us in Ephesians 5:22 that women are to submit to their husbands. Nowhere in the Bible does it tell husbands to make their wives submit. It is a woman's choice between her and God under the guidance of the Scriptures when and how to submit. In the same way, Ephesians 5:25 tells husbands to sacrifice for their wives as Christ sacrificed for the church. But it never tells wives to make her husband sacrifice or tell him what that must look like in their marriage. That is a choice he also must make prayerfully in the context of God's Word.

I recommend Leslie Vernick for wise, biblically based guidance for the woman in a "twisted" relationship.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 9, 2017
This is a much needed book for God's people who have been wrongly taught and are seeking to understand the truth. Thank you, Rebecca, for this wonderful work! Thorough job of pointing to Scriptures as a whole on a topic in order to evaluate the teachings of others. Biblical? or abuse enabling teaching? God's Word cuts through the fog.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 6, 2017
This book belongs in every church library. I'd also like to see it in the hands of those all too quick to give out verses and platitudes, often with the best of intentions, to those who walk through deep waters.

One of Davis's best.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 3, 2017
So applicable for Christians today! I appreciate how concise it is. A very easy read but so much depth!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse