Buying Options

Kindle Price: $9.99

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more


These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
An Unwanted Guest: A Novel by [Shari Lapena]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


An Unwanted Guest: A Novel Kindle Edition

4.4 out of 5 stars 2,020 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$9.99

Length: 302 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $8.49 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton
Amazon Business : For business-only pricing, quantity discounts and FREE Shipping. Register a free business account

Editorial Reviews

Review

Praise for An Unwanted Guest:

“A gripping mystery perfect for fans of Agatha Christie.” 
–Good Housekeeping

“Proving that time periods may change but people do not, Lapena delivers a solid whodunit with an ending that would make Dame Christie proud.” 
–USA Today

“Another nail-biter perfect for an all-nighter.”
–Entertainment Weekly

“Shari Lapena has set up a chilling version of what Agatha Christie called ‘the locked room mystery’ (and it couldn’t be better for a cold winter afternoon) . . . Sometimes, nothing beats a classic mystery set-up.”
–PureWow

“A new thriller that will give you serious Agatha Christie vibes . . . if you’re one of the many people who counts [And Then There Were None] among their favorite books, you will love An Unwanted Guest. . . A deftly crafted and expertly paced thriller that will keep readers guessing (and terrified) until the very end.” 
Bustle

“This compelling and realistic modern take on the country-house mystery will gain new fans for the author and is definitely one to hand to devotees of Agatha Christie (and her modern interpreter, Sophie Hannah).”
Booklist

“An intriguing cast, an isolated location, a raging storm and the threat of death in every dark corner: An Unwanted Guest reads like Agatha Christie with a shot of adrenalin. Clear your desk before you start it because you won’t want to put it down.”
–Gilly Macmillan, New York Times bestselling author of I Know You Know

“Lapena has written a great whodunit, with a delicious Christie-like vibe. Fans of the author's first novel will want this, and anyone who savors a well-crafted murder mystery will gobble it up!” 
–Library Journal (starred review)

Praise for A Stranger in the House:

“Lapena’s A Stranger in the House will have you sleeping with the lights on for weeks.” 
—Bustle

“Smart and suspenseful. . . you'll never see the ending coming.” 
--PureWow

 “So much suspense. So many twists. Good luck sleeping tonight.” 
—Hello Giggles


“So many dizzying twists you'd better not drive after reading!” 
—Linwood Barclay, New York Times bestselling author of Parting Shot
 
“Smart, twisty and compulsive. Suspense and suspicion accumulate relentlessly, toying with your expectations and your emotions right up until the packs-a-punch ending. Don’t miss it, and don’t expect to be able to put it down.” 
—Gilly Macmillan, New York Times bestselling author of The Perfect Girl

“A diverting page-turner."
--Publishers Weekly

"Great suspense and lots of twists." 
--The Toronto Star

"Lapena keeps the well-developed twists churning, with each a surprise notch in this ever-evolving plot, and she continues this skillful storytelling until the stunning twist at the end. . . memorable." 
--Associated Press

Praise for The Couple Next Door:

“Meticulously crafted and razor sharp. The Couple Next Door lingers long after you turn the final page.” 
—Harlan Coben, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Fool Me Once

“The twists come as fast [as] you can turn the pages.” 
People

“Provocative and shocking. One crime, an entire neighborhood of suspects, secrets and lies. How well do we ever know those around us? The Couple Next Door will keep you glued to the pages in search of the answer. Even then, you’ll never guess the truth . . . until it's too late.” 
—Lisa Gardner, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Find Her

“I read this novel at one sitting, absolutely riveted by the story line. The suspense was beautifully rendered and unrelenting!” —Sue Grafton, New York Timesbestselling author of X

“Real men read women writers–because of books like this. Trust me.” 
—Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Make Me

“A twisty, utterly riveting tale that will send readers on a wild roller-coaster ride of emotions. Shocking revelations kept me turning the pages like a madwoman.” 
—Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author of Playing with Fire

“Expertly paced and finely crafted, The Couple Next Door is a gripping thriller of the highest order. I couldn’t put it down.” 
—A. J. Banner, bestselling author of The Good Neighbor

“Gripped me from the very beginning to the very end!”
Becky Masterman, author of Rage Against the Dying

“Brilliant! This utterly riveting psychological thriller hurtles along at breakneck speed, never giving you the opportunity to catch your breath. Twisty, turny, and unputdownable.” —C. L. Taylor, bestselling  author of The Lie

“Exquisitely torturous tension.” 
—NPR.org


“Where did that baby go! It’s hard not to read to the end to find out, and the twists waiting there are gratifyingly clever.”
USA Today

“The many never-saw-them-coming twists and questionable characters . . . will keep you on the edge of your seat. First-time novelist Lapena’s writing is spare and tense, and it makes The Couple Next Door a compulsive read. The last line is absolutely a killer.” 
—Good Housekeeping


“[A] well-sculpted domestic thriller . . . highly suspenseful . . . Twists are subtly revealed with aplomb, taking the story to increasingly unpredictable levels.” 
The Associated Press

About the Author

Shari Lapena is the internationally bestselling author of the thrillers The Couple Next Door, A Stranger in the House, An Unwanted Guest, Someone We Know, and The End of Her, which have all been New York Times and The Sunday Times (London) bestsellers. Her books have been sold in thirty-seven territories around the world. She lives in Toronto. --This text refers to the hardcover edition.

Product details

  • File Size : 2713 KB
  • Publication Date : August 7, 2018
  • Word Wise : Enabled
  • Publisher : Penguin Books (August 7, 2018)
  • ASIN : B0796F3MMV
  • Print Length : 302 pages
  • Text-to-Speech : Enabled
  • Language: : English
  • Enhanced Typesetting : Enabled
  • X-Ray : Enabled
  • Lending : Not Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.4 out of 5 stars 2,020 ratings