Lyft Industrial Deals Oprah's Book Club Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon victoriaS2 victoriaS2 victoriaS2  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18PP_gno



on February 1, 2017
An inspiring story of a family and the mother & young daughter's unusual adventures in mountain climbing. It is well written and easy to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 24, 2012
Up: A Mother Daughter Peakbagging Adventure is a terrific, quick read and it's not just for hikers. Patricia Ellis Herr tells a great story of her adventures with her young daughters on the high trails of New Hampshire's White Mountains, but more importantly she imparts a deep, wise, parenting philosophy centered on giving her children the tools they need to thrive and succeed. A delightfully careful observer of her own internal thoughts and feelings, Ellis Herr carefully considers what she needs to share with little Alex and Sage and what she needs to keep to herself. It's never about her, always about helping the girls achieve their own goals and learn the important lessons of life including confronting sexism and ageism, the terror of a mountain lightning storm, and the importance of persevering in the face of adversity, planning ahead, and making friends. Every parent, indeed every person who has struggled to achieve a goal, can learn something important from this book. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 25, 2013
A fascinating read for all more adventurous parents. I found this book refreshingly candid, responsible and intelligent. There is no smugness or posturing and yet the book carried a powerful message on raising active, adventurous children. It's a marvellous antidote to Tiger Mother syndrome, and yet it's all about challenging kids more than we often do when everyone is expected to fit in with the average. The writer doesn't underplay her mistakes and their potentially serious consequences, nor does she overstate or overdramatise everything to make a crowd-pleasing page-turner. Definitely worth a read!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 8, 2012
This is a wonderful and inspiring read for all of us that love to hike and have children. While Mrs. Herr's oldest daughter is somewhat exceptional the book stands as a good reminder to the reader to beware of artificially limiting the abilities of our children. It is important to get out into nature with our children early and make it a lifelong pursuit. With care, forethought, and do diligence hiking with you children can be safe and rewarding for all.

This book is a quick and easy read that will have you laughing out loud, on the edge of your seat with suspense, and near tears with pride for the characters.

I highly recommend this book to anyone that hikes and/or has children.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 27, 2014
Awesome story of a mom and her tiny 5 year old daughter who hike New Hampshire's 48 highest peaks together. She ties in some nice lessons about letting her daughter grow and explore and also gracefully putting aside others' opinions of what should and shouldn't be done with kids. Very and enjoyable quick read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 31, 2012
I read this novel with my teenage brother (12 yr age gap) when he was assigned it in his 3rd yr High school English class. It was an excellent read but most importantly got him thinking about the outdoors, going on adventures and hiking. He even reached out to Patricia to ask some follow up questions after completing the book. The most exciting part for me was seeing how he registered throughout the reading that truly anything is possible!

Excellent read for families, especially with young children!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 14, 2014
This brave account of hiking with your daughter was a very moving. Thanks for sharing it with us all. I liked how you and your daughter strengthened each other on this journey. I hope other families will be encouraged to venture out and build their children's confidence
in themselves as you have with your daughters. Alex and Sage are incredible girls.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 1, 2013
A nice set of lessons hidden inside an enjoyable narrative. I really liked this book, but may be biased by having had the pleasure of meeting the author and her children on the trails and having read many of their trip reports on forums when checking out new hikes/routes. I'd recommend it for anyone with young children for parent and child to read and discuss together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 28, 2014
As a stay at home mother to a very determined and nature-loving preschool daughter this lovely memoir was such a fantastic read. Patricia is the kind of mom that I love to know is out there and want to be friends with :) I loved reading about Alex and having their stories remind me of my daughter. If you are a mom to young kids and you believe it doing things that might be considered a bit outside the norm then you will love this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 21, 2012
UP got me in the spirit to get my kids up to the hills. Herr makes it sound doable and wisely finds metaphors for life's lessons throughout. Though it's well-written, it's also a reasonably quick read. Anyone interested in mountain adventures would enjoy her observations and hope that it comes as easily to their own family.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here