Industrial Deals Beauty Oprah's Book Club STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Shop Now toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 133 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 186 reviews
on May 14, 2013
Its hard to write a review for movies like this because, unlike most films, it does not force feed you the story or treat you like you are need to have your hand held to "get it". Shane Carruth's second released film, after the excellent Primer, is a love story, a tragedy, a beautiful audio and visual experience, and it asks questions instead of telling you your own answers up front. I will have to watch this movie a few times more (which I rarely do with films as so few are worth more than a first or second glance) before I can fully conclude how my viewer empathy and interaction (or reaction) to this masterpiece is. I will say to anyone reading this... if you like movies as an art form then this movie is for you. If you liked Shane Carruth's first film Primer then you should definitely watch this film. It will make you think and you will walk away wanting to see it again.

The Blu Ray pack I bought on Amazon came with the usual Amazon speed and quality packing. The disks inside were secure and the Blu Ray packaging was in no way damaged or flawed.

The Blu Ray version of the film had no issues. First playing was done in a Playstation 3 Blu Ray drive. There were no audio issues that I experienced. The video and soundscape quality are top of the line and better than some blu ray disks that have come out. Crisp clear picture, blacks were black, colors vibrant (as is the intention), and the audio on my Onkyo 7.2 surround system was atmospheric. Basically on the blu ray, enjoy the show. If you did have issues you may be able to replace your disk if there were fabrication issues. I would think amazon would trade in for a new copy or even Shane Carruth possibly.

I hope this review helped a little bit if some of you are on the fence with this. I will be watching this again a few more times and its time to watch Primer again.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2013
It took a long time before I began to fit the various pieces of this movie together, but when I did, the shock of that realization made me stand up and exclaim "oh my god!" Thank goodness I saw this at home, and not in the theater!

The force driving this apparently dream-like, Lynchian narrative is as solid and well-realized as the one in Carruth's previous film Primer, but completely different. Yet I might not have figured it out had I not read some articles describing the book "Qbsbtjuf Sfy" (change the letters backward one place alphabetically (b becomes a, for example) if you don't mind a spoiler).

If you like challenging, masterfully directed science fiction with an emphasis on storytelling over MichaelBaySplodiness, check out this movie.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2013
This is at the same time a mindbending science-fiction puzzle movie like Donnie Darko, The Prestige, or Carruth's first film, Primer, and a ravishing extreme arthouse movie full of evocative images and juxtapositions, and set to a mesmerizing score (by Carruth himself, who composed as he wrote the screenplay). In other words, Carruth has taken the genre of film that is most plot-driven (all of these movies need to be seen several times to be fully understood) and done it in the style of the genre that is usually closest to plotless! What he's divined is that the arthouse style is the most effective way of delivering the clues to the story. While other puzzle movies need to be solved before they deliver their emotional payoff, this one connects at a deep level on the first viewing, while you're only getting perhaps 70% of what's going on (easily pushed to 80% after you leave the theater and think and talk a bit about it) -- it helps that this is essentially a romance that will remind some viewers of Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind and/or The Fountain. After seeing it twice, I've pushed my comprehension up to (I think) 90%, but I'm convinced that it's laden with clues that point to relatively unambiguous answers to my remaining questions. And I expect those answers will further deepen the story emotionally.

Thematically, this is a meditation on a whole raft of important issues including the nature of identity, our relationship to the natural world, and (my take) the tension between free will and communal behavior. Unlike its predecessors in the mindbending sf genre, it will invite reams of discussion as to its ultimate meaning (in the philosophical sense). It is, very simply, a work of art.

Any fan of the movies I've mentioned will like this unless they have a real aversion to the arthouse style -- e.g., they hated The Tree of Life. And anyone who liked or loved The Tree of Life will like this, even if they find themselves indifferent to solving all of its mysteries. If, like me, you adore mindbending sf movies and love the arthouse style, you may well find this to be one of the ten best movies ever made. Easily. I expect to watch it four more times within days of its arrival.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2013
It's been a while, but the writer, director, editor, and composer behind Primer, one of the best sci-fi movies ever made (in my opinion) has released a second film. The man is a true auteur and I'm so glad that he's continuing to make movies.
Upstream Color, like Primer, is a film that leaves the viewer to figure out the reality-bending mechanisms at work. You get glimpses into a narrative that feels much bigger than what's on screen and at times, you may feel completely lost. Now, if that's not something you're in to, then you may not enjoy this movie. You will at least appreciate the absolutely stunning cinematography. Almost every frame is a work of art.
The packaging is tri-folding paper with two discs and each surface, including the discs themselves is adorned with beautiful imagery from the film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2016
Impressive second feature by talented director on modest budget. A little Malick, little Lynch... with hypnotic tone... although the tidy ending was a little forced.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2013
Original, evocative film with many layers of meaning, like a poem or song, or a play. Descriptions of its plot abound online, thus if you plan on viewing this film only once (and don't normally seek out video art and art films), reading reviews about it beforehand will make it accessible. Highly recommend for people who'd like a break from Hollywood movies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2013
Great film that will only be embraced by those who welcome artistic films with open arms. Not for the moviegoer who expects exposition to be handed to them or for those who dislike unconventional story telling methods.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2016
Great visionary movie. Non Hollywood is always a plus. Great cinematography, great story and score! CHeck out Primer as well!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2016
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2013
While this movie may not be for every one, it is a beautiful work of art. From the cinematography and sound design to the haunting performances of Shane Carruth and Amy Seimetz.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$9.49

Need customer service? Click here