Your Garage Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Samsung S8 Launch Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Shop Popular Services Catastrophe Catastrophe Catastrophe  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. National Bike Month on Amazon disgotg_gno_17

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$11.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 43 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 66 reviews
on March 23, 2015
This is an interesting book covering a mix of geopolitics and mining. However several of the critical 'facts' about Australia (I am an Australian) are very inaccurate which makes me wonder about other countries. It is written from a U.S. right wing perspective which, while understandable does wear a bit. As a light coverage of dubious accuracy in parts it is worth reading as it explains many things about uranium that aren't clear.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2015
One of my favorite books of all time. It really does read like a novel at different points. A wealth of interesting information about one of the most influential substances on modern human history. Lots of great perspectives and many varied stories about everything possibly relating to Uranium. I can't think of a nonfiction book that I liked reading as much as this one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2014
uranium has two isotopes at 238 common and 235 rare much of the discussion of this book has to do with the 235 isotope it is used to make nuclear weapons. at first there was only 2 sorces of uranium and they were in the congo and czekoslavakia. the history of the sites and the discovery of uranium is very interesting and well written in this book. then writes about the physics of uranium how it can be made into a weapon, well written, then usa and soviet unions mining of it to make nuclear bombs also modern history pakistan, australia, iran iraq and other countries
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2009
I think that Tom Zoellner presented a fantastic, well written, account of uranium. The book dives into, in great detail, the vast history of uranium including: The element, The mineral, and possible future uses.
I would highly recommend this book to anyone the is into physics and geology, as well as historians. I enjoyed reading this book very much.
Thanks,
Mark R. Hunsberger
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2016
An excellent book, and a truly fascinating reading experience. If you have never been afraid of radioactivity, this book will do it for you! Deep background on what really is 'the rock that shaped the world.' My very highest recommendation!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2012
This is great stuff! I'm in the middle of it now and I think it's one of the best books I've bought on Amazon. Richard Rhodes' classic was just too ponderous for me to get through at the time, but 'Uranium' gives me just what I need to know about the nuclear world without knowing exactly what every well-known physicist of the era had for breakfast that morning. All of the disparate info you've ever known/not known about nuclear physics and its politics comes together here in a very coherent style that doubles as both travelogue and suspense novel. Plus, you have to get it now to figure out just what the heck the title of this review has to do with anything, right?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2014
Generally well researched from a scientific aspect (a couple of cases where nuclear science understanding is lacking), but the hisorical and social aspects of the uranium industry are interesting seen from this perspective.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2012
Uranium: War, Energy, and the Rock That Shaped the World
I purchased this book because I want to learn more about the element Uranium. This book is well written and load with facts and dates about this mysterious element from its earliest discovery. It's an excellent in its presentation of the history and the current role it plays in our lives today. I started this book 3 days ago and finished it this afternoon. I was not disappointed in my purchase.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2013
The book was written without the pretense of technical expertise. The author looks that Uranium as a component in history, a shaper of history. As someone that has worked in the nuclear power industry, it was an interesting look from a fresh perspective. An interesting primer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2013
Fascinating read on the global politics and economy of uranium. Very well written with good research and Zoellner takes a subject which one would expect to be limited and makes it very interesting from a geopolitical view point.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse