Buying Options

Unlimited reading. Over 1 million titles. Learn more
Read and Listen for Free
OR
Digital List Price: $4.99
Kindle Price: $0.99

Save $13.96 (93%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Valencia and Valentine by [Suzy Krause]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Valencia and Valentine Kindle Edition

3.8 out of 5 stars 1,741 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$0.99

An Amazon Book with Buzz: "Punch Me Up to the Gods" by Brian Broome
"One of the most electrifying, powerful, simply spectacular memoirs I—or you— have ever read." —Augusten Burroughs Learn more

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

From the Editor

There’s a difference between being alive and living. This is a story about living.

When it comes to fiction, the first thing to win me over is the author’s voice—the feeling that it almost doesn’t matter what’s happening in the story itself because the way in which it’s being told is so utterly captivating. Debut novelist Suzy Krause has one of those rare voices that completely sucked me in from page one—both humorous and serious, lighthearted and thoughtful, smart and accessible.

Even better, Krause’s characters are equally as charming as her voice is. I found myself enraptured by Valencia’s resilience and wholeheartedly rooting for her to realize that she is worthy and deserving of happiness. And I was completely enchanted by Mrs. Valentine’s eccentricity and vibrant sense of life (despite her being near the end of it).

For fans of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine and A Man Called Ove, this quirky novel is almost certain to deeply resonate with readers around the world. With the perfect blend of humor and heart, Krause expertly explores themes of mental health, aging, guilt, forgiveness, adventure, love, and second chances. And with a twist I didn’t see coming, the ending left me reaching for the tissue box, smiling through my tears.

Valencia and Valentine is a beautiful reminder that despite the bad things that can happen in life, there is still love and hope and laughter to be found in the world. This special novel made me realize that it’s not enough to merely be alive—I want to truly live.

- Alicia Clancy, Editor

Amazon Business: Make the most of your Amazon Business account with exclusive tools and savings. Login nowBusiness Prime : For Fast, FREE shipping, premium procurement benefits, and member-only offers on Amazon Business. Try Business Prime free.

Editorial Reviews

Review

“Despite themes of loneliness, loss, and mental illness, Krause manages to infuse her tale with charm and gentle humor.” Booklist

“Suzy Krause’s debut novel, Valencia and Valentine, is a warm and unexpected treat.” —POPSUGAR

Valencia and Valentine is a beguiling and charming first novel by Suzy Krause.” —Authorlink

“A singularly unique, superbly scripted, and inherently entertaining novel by an author with a distinctively reader engaging narrative storytelling style…” —Midwest Book Review

“Perfect for fans of Maria Semple and Graeme Simsion, Valencia and Valentine is a charming novel with quirky characters the reader can’t help falling in love with. With a unique voice and a fun twist, it’s a story of love, human connection, and adversity that is handled with deftness and compassion by Krause. You’ll think about the characters and their stories long after you turn the final page; in fact, as soon as I finished, I was tempted to go back to the beginning and start it again!” —Susie Orman Schnall, award-winning author of The Subway Girls

Valencia and Valentine is a charming, beautifully told tale of love and loss, disappointments and dreams. You will root for this cast of eccentric characters, ache for them, and celebrate their victories. A terrific debut, sure to delight fans of Gail Honeyman and Fredrik Backman. Irresistible!” —Lori Nelson Spielman, internationally bestselling author of Sweet Forgiveness and The Life List

“A quirky, touching story about two women who, on the surface, are not connected: but life is strange, and nothing is what it appears to be. Perfectly poignant, and for oddballs everywhere.” —Georgia Clark, critically acclaimed author of The Regulars

“What does it take to release your fears and let your life take flight? Suzy Krause tackles this question in her lovely and unexpected debut, Valencia and Valentine. With wit and deep empathy for seemingly ‘difficult’ people, Krause has crafted a heartwarming and life-affirming story.” —Camille Pagán, bestselling author of I’m Fine and Neither Are You

“Funny, warm, and deeply insightful, Valencia and Valentine is a must-read for anyone who’s ever struggled with loneliness, OCD or simply being human.” —Kathy Cooperman, bestselling author of Crimes Against a Book Club and The Very Principled Maggie Mayfield

Valencia and Valentine is an exquisitely detailed, intricately woven tale that speaks to the truth at the heart of every good story: love. It will draw you in from the first line and keep you guessing until the very last heartrending page.” —Eliza Gordon, author of Dear Dwayne, With Love

About the Author

Suzy Krause is a Canadian writer and music lover. Like Valencia, she has worked as a debt collector, and like Mrs. Valentine, she likes to tell stories. She writes about her life at www.suzykrause.com. Valencia and Valentine is her first novel.

Product details

  • ASIN : B07HF4KMQL
  • Publisher : Lake Union Publishing (June 1, 2019)
  • Publication date : June 1, 2019
  • Language : English
  • File size : 1448 KB
  • Text-to-Speech : Enabled
  • Screen Reader : Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting : Enabled
  • X-Ray : Enabled
  • Word Wise : Enabled
  • Print length : 251 pages
  • Lending : Not Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    3.8 out of 5 stars 1,741 ratings

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
3.8 out of 5
1,741 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on May 1, 2019
Verified Purchase
271 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 1, 2019
Verified Purchase
192 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 2, 2019
Verified Purchase
107 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 7, 2019
Verified Purchase
79 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Avid Reader
5.0 out of 5 stars A treasure
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 2, 2019
Verified Purchase
15 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Midgebear
2.0 out of 5 stars Groundhog Day
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 10, 2019
Verified Purchase
15 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Ms Jacqueline P Cain
4.0 out of 5 stars A lovely, intriguing read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 28, 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Mart
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is not “beach reading”.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 5, 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Cheryl
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely modern story
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on February 6, 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse