BCA Month Salon Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Ultimate Hits by Garth Brooks PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon curbpremiere curbpremiere curbpremiere  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno

Valor At Vauzlee
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$19.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on January 16, 2013
This second book of DePrima' s Galaxy Unknown series continues the saga of Janetta Carver as she faces huge pirate fleets as part of a space navy unprepared for war. The Carver character is reminiscent of Honor Harrington and, perhaps in a nod to the highly popular Harrington series, DePrima includes looks at what is going on in the meetings of leaders on both sides of the war. However, mostly what these scenes tend to accomplish is needlessly summarize what we have just read. Still, this second book is even better than the first. The tactics used to defeat the enemy are much better thought out and do not rely so heavily on accidental fortune. Character development is sufficient to cause the reader to understand motivation and care about outcomes without distracting from the action. The story does drag in some few places, but it is worth reading. Read A Galaxy Unknown (the first book) and then this one. If you are a fan of space opera you should give this series a try.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2012
With the previous book leaving me pleased, I dove right into this book head-first.
To quote the Joker, "And ya didn't disappoint..."

Valor at Vauzlee takes off right where we left Jenetta Carver at the end of "A Galaxy Unknown."
In some ways I feel bad for her having been shot straight into another adventure... However since she'd been asleep for 11 years I suppose the karma rubber band is still expelling all the pent-up energy it acquired.

A decent part of the book felt a bit like the previous book in certain sections. A nice change in the story was a good old-fashioned "Who done it?" component. While I can buy how the villain was implemented, I did find it a bit of a stretch. It felt mostly like he should've been saved for another book and not used as the villain in this instance.

Oh well, other than that the rest was a pleasing read.
I look forward to the next book in the series... Which already has been purchased and is currently waiting on my Kindle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2011
It is so very HARD to win a medal during Combat! It is even much harder to write about the same thing from an outsiders point of view. Come to think of it you do not really WIN a MEDAL you are Awarded a medal by a person who is told of the even by another person who also was not there and these two people are both GUESSING What you were thinking and doing the whole time. Needless to say if you actually broke down and told them just how scared you were or what the shakes were like while you were trying to keep the potty from running down your leg. Those are the things that while being the truth do not get you medals Still they do keep you alive but then again not all things that you do keep you alive. Some get you both dead and with a shiny
new Medal.

It was just the things that came up in the book about valor and medals and promotions during battles and such. Much in keeping with this whole set of books even though they were not taken from the whole cloth.

Great writing though

Thanks so much

dray
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2015
The 2nd book in the "Galaxy Unknown" series finds Jenetta Carver where she wants to be, serving as a line officer on a warship of the Galactic Alliance. Once again she crosses swords with the Raider syndicate. Always in the middle of the action, Jenetta comes through as a superb military tactician, whose outside the box thinking, again saves the day. This novel fills in her character and those of her fellow Galactic Alliance Naval and Marine military.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2011
In fiction, I generally categorize authors as having "great writing skill," and "great storytelling skill," which are not mutually exclusive. Clive Cussler tells great stories but doesn't strike me as having the greatest literary "skill," and Ayn Rand was an incredibly "skilled" writer but her stories were somewhat lacking; Neil Gaimann has lots of both. DePrima falls more towards the "great storytelling" side of the spectrum. I've read the first three Galaxy Unknown books and the stories are highly entertaining but can drag sometimes when he focuses too much on repeating details previously established within the same book - I understand the necessity to rehash what happened in the previous books for new readers' education. Valor at Vauzlee is the second in the series and was a fast and entertaining read. As recurring characters go, Captain Kane is fantastic; the others could use some fleshing out.

I've read three of the Galaxy Unknown books and have every intention of reading the rest of them. Jenetta Carver is a great character with a combination of guts, brains and some sauciness thrown in. It probably goes without saying that she reminds me very much of David Drake's Honor Harrington (and, necessarily, Forester's Horatio Hornblower) except without Harrington's annoying insecurities. In other words, Carver is a more "likeable" character and I prefer DePrima's universe over the "Honorverse," not least of all because it's "Americanized" and there are non-humans (although...partially telepathic alien "cats"? That's a pretty close parallel). The only other criticism I have of these books is that some of the recurring characters could use some fleshing out to differentiate them since it seems the character list has exploded at a rate faster than they can develop their own identities. While his forward to the first book referenced "hard sci fi" in terms of the technologies, I'd have to rate it as "medium-hard," since, aside from the appendices, little time is devoted to actually describing the ships' and planets' technologies aside from brief moments discussing what seem to be one-hit wonders (the razor-spring-firing, illegal, ship-safe pistol comes to mind).

I've found the Galaxy Unknown books to be extremely entertaining (increasingly so as the series continues), worth the purchase, attention-grabbing enough that I'm probably behind on something else important (like laundry) and well within the tradition of the Space Opera. Recommended highly with the warning that you may need to skip a page here and there when a character or the narrator goes off on a "just in case you forgot, here's a detailed accounting of something that happened 6 chapters ago," which is distracting but doesn't take away from the overall "enjoyability" of the novel.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2010
Valor at Vauzlee is a nice second volume to the A Galaxy Unknown series. The character of Janetta Carver is interesting and engaging and the science fiction elements are believable without being laboriously technical.

There is room for improvement, however. I give this book only three stars because of the poor editing and annoyingly heroic main character. First, the author re-tells events constantly; an event that occurs in one chapter gets reiterated for the next several chapters by different characters. Second, the main character does nothing wrong and everything she attempts succeeds gloriously. Unless the author is willing to inject some fantasy into his science fiction or explain it away with some kind of alien high-tech, this only serves to make the main character less believable.

In general, I recommend this book as being "good".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2014
This volume of the Galaxy Unknown saga was as captivating and action packed as the first. Always keeping the reader ensconced and wanting and waiting for the next turn, the next surprise! This series, I am sure will keep me wanting and wondering what will happen next. The stories at first seemed a bit too detailed yet as they progress you see how each detail ties in and draws you into the characters situation and feelings.I am off to start the next book. I hope everyone enjoys this as much as I did!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2012
I read the first six "A Galaxy Unknown" books back to back. Took a break to catch up on sleep and read book seven. Can't say which book is the best. Thomas DePrima had surprises in all of them. I couldn't wait to find out how Jenetta Carver would get out of the next overwhelming, no chance of victory, approaching catastrophe. I also discovered I like military strategy in a vacuum. What a fun subject.

If you like lots of cliff hangars, twist, turns and adventure read this book. It is fun and has enough details to eliminate confusion and loose ends. It is science fiction opera at its best. If somebody starts a TV series, I'm already a fan. Now, if you'll excuse me, I would like to start on book eight.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2010
I suppose it says something when I didn't hesitate to buy this as soon as it came out. I do wonder if the part of me that enjoys this book is the same part that enjoys beating grandma at Tekken or soloing the Deadmines at level 80. This is not your normal novel where the hero overcomes adversity to triumph at the end. This is a story where the main enjoyment is in seeing exactly how the hero will stomp the bad guys. The outcome is never in doubt.

It is a direct continuation of the first book. Our heroine (the supermodel-beautiful, immortal kungfu-master/tactician/strategist who heals like wolverine and feels pain as pleasure) is placed in situations in which she saves the day. Ancillary characters perform as expected to allow her to showcase her variety of skills. Her opponents are suitably evil and competent just enough to present the facade of a challenge. Her supporters show the requisite adulation, heaping praise upon her that she richly deserves. In due time, she even earns the grudging respect of the token holdout character.

The battle scenes are action-packed and fun to read. The pace is brisk and doesn't flag. The lack of any real dramatic tension is irksome, but I suppose this novel is more akin to a videogame than a traditional novel. It is probably difficult to generate dramatic tension when your protagonist is superman without the vulnerability to kryptonite. Mr DePrima has shown he can write pulp like a champion. I look forward to seeing what he can do once he gets a publisher and an editor.

An experienced editor could have added a lot. In my opinion, these books could have been a lot better without the unnecessary embellishments. Does the protagonists' immortality really add anything? Was her regeneration really necessary to the story? Did she really need to be transformed into a supermodel? Was the whole S&M thing really necessary to the story or her character development? If all this junk hadn't happened, the entire arc would have been a lot more plausible. The entire "genetically modified to be an S&M slave in a process that is somehow lost so that no one else will ever have it" thing just struck me as a bit of literary masturbation rather than real storytelling. Keep in mind all these events were from the first book and properly aren't objections to this book.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2011
I enjoyed the first book in this series as it introduced a lot of new elements which I thought could be expanded upon to create a really good series.

This book "Valor at Vauzlee", seemed to have very static characters. Jenetta, the main character didn't develop at all past the first book, and some of the things that happened to her in the first book, ie...genetic mutation, was left unchanged through this whole book even though it was supposed to transform her.

The other con was that she is always going on new ships with completely new crews, so you are always getting introduced to new characters and characters one thought might be important secondary characters were completely left out.

The plot of the book is straight forward and simple, and for an easy escapist read it's still not a bad book. I just thought it could've been better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here