Industrial Deals HPC Magazine Deals Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Listen for a chance to win Electronics Gift Guide $34.99 for a limited time only Handmade Last Minute Gifts Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon JCVJ JCVJ JCVJ  All-new Echo Save $10 on Fire 7. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now HTL17_gno

Vampyres [Blu-ray]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on October 31, 2016
Mediocre story, decent acting, so-so camera work, did have beautiful female vampyres though. That alone makes it a fun movie on a gloomy winters day. Squeamish and easily offended people should pass this one up.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 2, 2016
Interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 1, 2005
Well, after literally decades of hearing tales of the notoriety of this film and seeing the most highly titillating stills from it prominently featured in my vampire movie books, I finally took the "daring" plunge and actually sought it out and watched it. -- And my opinion of it? Well I dunno, maybe I've been letting my naughty imagination get the best of me all these years or maybe my moral standards are especially low, but my reaction was kind of "oh, is that all there was to it?"

For all the hubbub, I was actually expecting there to be much more sex, violence and gore than there turned out to be. By today's standards, I actually found it quite tame. Yes, there is a lot of nudity in it, but none of it is of the full-frontal variety showing the genital area. What simulated coitus there is, is neither particularly graphic nor convincing. And the worst of the film's violence all occurs off-screen. Granted, if you find lots and lots of fake blood scary, you MAY get a chill or two. But heck, these vamps don't even have FANGS fer cryin' out loud!

Anulka doesn't really have to act much, just stand/lie there and look pretty. Marianne Morris does do a bit more and does make an adequate female vamp. And the much-hyped lesbian scenes are also quite limited and nothing particularly special by today's standards.

What I did like very much was the ambience that the wonderful locations of the manor house and the English countryside in autumn give to the film. I would say that it was this, and also the tasteful direction which shows a nice appreciation for the value of quiet and silence, which combine with the actors to create a film a bit better than adequate.

Overall I'd rate this movie a bit better than 3.5 stars, and thanks to the outstanding job they have done on this DVD I have no problems with bumping it up to a full 4 stars. Not only does the film look fabulously and immaculately restored, but the extras are also good. The best part was the 15-minute interview segment with the actresses today. I would say that Anulka Dziubinska looks even hotter today, some 30 years later. -- No small feat, and certainly a very rare occurrence!

You also get a commentary from the director and the producer of the film, as well as a still gallery of a missing scene, an Anulka modelling career still gallery, plus the usual trailer, and even a computer file version of the classic but out of print book on this film. All in all, a wonderful package. Blue Underground deserve to be very proud of the excellent job they have done on this DVD. It's great to see a classic B-movie like this given the proper respect it deserves.

As for me, well I guess I'm still in the market for a lesbian vampire flick which lives up to the expectations I've created in my head all these years. (Attention, filmmakers....!) What I'm looking for is something more extreme and graphic than this, but still without the yucky tackiness of porn and with the polished production values and great atmosphere of this film. (--Yeah I know about the Donald Glut videos, but I said WITH production values.) So the market is out here, folks. Now let's see what you can do.

Meanwhile, I'm gonna go run off my fave lesbian vampire film of all time, "The Vampire Lovers". Yeah nowhere near even as graphic as this one, but just brimming with delicious atmosphere, and ahhhh, Ingrid Pitt... (*swoons*)
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 20, 2016
It would have rated better except for the most awkward sex scenes ever put on film, it's as if the actors involved all hated each other. Cringe worthy and almost laughable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 5, 2016
2.5 star really, good enough that I did not turn it off and wanted to see how it ends, but not good enough that you ever plan on seeing it again. Just below fair.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 7, 2016
For a 1974 British movie, it's really good with a definitely different style of "FEEDING" along with sexual activity more prominent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 20, 2016
Grade B movie but interesting. Poorly acted and an absolute stretch to the point of not being able to believe the story line for a short while.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 9, 2016
Great alternative for the common movies. You won't find Dracula kind of movie, but much more Emanuelle is a Vampyre.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 20, 2016
This is a purely entertainment with beautiful actresses. The acting and dialogue are OK fine this B sexploitation movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 13, 2003
I was a kid in the 1970s and loved horror movies. I watched a lot of late night creature features and read every book on horror films I could find. The books normally included a photo from VAMPYRES but my chance of ever seeing it were beyond remote at the time. From what I read then, I could see that the film was the next logical progression after watching Hammer Films and reading Vampirella comics at the time: blood-soaked lesbians out of control!
So, when I found a DVD version I could order through Amazon, I bought it. I think waiting so long to see it has really helped. Very Seventies! The music definitely took me back by mixing spooky organ music with electric guitars. The girls were (and still are!) very sexy. I really appreciated the interviews with them now.
I would definitely recommend this to any horror fan, especially of the 1970s. (Not for kids though--even by today's standards, I found this a very erotic film).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse