Digital List Price: $24.99
Kindle Price: $14.74

Save $10.25 (41%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Vegas Girls: A Novel by [Skyler, Heather]
Kindle App Ad

Vegas Girls: A Novel Kindle Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 16 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$14.74

Length: 348 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

Books with Buzz
Profoundly intimate and powerfully inventive, "Exit West" tells an unforgettable story of love, loyalty, and courage that is both completely of our time and for all time. See more
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

Review

Praise for Vegas Girls

"Set against the backdrop of Las Vegas, with its penetrating summer heat, mountains, and flashy casinos, this novel creates a heat all its own. Perfect for readers who love Liane Moriarty, Sarah Pekkanen, and
Jennifer Weiner." —Booklist

"With a candid writing style and crafted from five unique voices, this novel reminds us that the past always finds a way to stick with us, and lifelong friends are our true rocks. . . . Readers will relate to the underlying themes and desire for closure." —RT Book Reviews

"I am a sucker for stories about friendships, old loves, new loves, and how going back somehow helps us move forward. And in Vegas Girls Heather Skyler satisfies all my cravings while also writing like a dream. A dream of a novel!" —Ann Hood, bestselling author of The Knitting Circle and The Obituary Writer

"Intimate, generous, and frank, Vegas Girls is wise to the doldrums of adulthood and humane about its failures. These characters may walk a perilous balancing act between hard knowledge and hope, but Heather Skyler aces it." —Michelle Wildgen, author of You're Not You and Bread and Butter

"A rich, multilayered novel that beautifully explores the complicated edges of nostalgia, and all the mysterious, unexpected, and emotionally charged drama that comes when old friends reunite in the old neighborhood. Heather Skyler is a wonderfully insightful writer, and Vegas Girls is an illuminating and pleasurable read." —Dean Bakopoulos, author of Summerlong

"When a group of friends, navigating their mid-thirties, reunites in their hometown, old shadows, new dreams, and unexpected complications arise. Set in the dazzling, all-consuming city of Las Vegas, Heather Skyler vividly captures the hidden edges of long friendship and the strange unspoken secrets we carry around in our hearts." —Alissa Nutting, author of Tampa

"Vegas Girls is a now story, sometimes touching, other times troubling. Heather Skyler knows her locale and brings Vegas to life." —Fresh Fiction

"Born and raised here, Skyler knows Las Vegas as only a native can. . . . Skyler has created a fictional landscape that more accurately captures Las Vegas than many nonfiction narratives do. . . . The story is smart, honest, and surprising. Skyler’s prose, at times poetic, is layered, fluid, and smooth—a total pleasure to read." —Living Las Vegas



Praise for The Perfect Age

“Sultry, reflective . . . perfectly captures the languid heat of long Las Vegas summers and the irresistible temptations of love at any age.” —Publishers Weekly

“[A] beautifully wrought coming-of-age story . . . rich, smart, and nuanced . . . brutally realistic and starkly honest.” —Library Journal

“Sensitively explores family dynamics, particularly the line between privacy and secrecy." —Kirkus Reviews

“Skillful, sensitive . . . traces the twin trajectories of a mother aching for change and her budding teenage daughter.” —Elle

“A compulsively readable story.” —Wisconsin Trails magazine, Editors Pick

“Effortlessly graceful . . . astute.” —Marisa Silver, New York Times bestselling author of Mary Coin

“A gorgeous debut.” —Ann Hood, New York Times bestselling author of The Obituary Writer and The Red Thread

“A lovely, winning novel, full of moments of startling emotional truth.” —Jessica Shattuck, author of The Hazards of Good Breeding

“A sultry tale of sexual awakening . . . absorbing, evocative and observant.” —Guardian (UK)

“Atmospheric . . . Skyler’s descriptive powers create a place that is at the same time thoroughly sexual, oppressively hot and occasionally downright grubby.” —Independent (UK)

“A compelling read.” —YM

“An author to watch.” —Spring Grove Herald (Minnesota)

“Skyler has her finger firmly on the pulse of this family, sensitive to the unnerving upheavals they experience over three summers that spell an end to innocence, the beginning of a more imperfect, if more livable peace.” —CurledUp.com

About the Author

Heather Skyler, born and raised in Las Vegas, Nevada, is the author of The Perfect Age. She has written pieces for the New York Times, Newsweek, GOOD magazine, and other publications. She currently works as the editor for OC Family magazine and as a syndicated columnist for the OC Register. She lives in Long Beach, California.

Product details

  • File Size: 1292 KB
  • Print Length: 348 pages
  • Publisher: Skyhorse Publishing (October 4, 2016)
  • Publication Date: October 4, 2016
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01HDVCF4C
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #20,557 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?


Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

on September 27, 2016
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2016
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2016
Format: Hardcover
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Vegas Girls: A Novel
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Vegas Girls: A Novel