Amazon Vehicles Beauty Trade in your textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis National Bike Month on Amazon toystl17_gno

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 75 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 95 reviews
on February 2, 2012
Really... THE best. I have owned just about every pair of earbuds out there. Ibeats, Monster turbine pro, klipsch S4, skulcandy 50/50's and many other earbuds that claimed to have "the best bass". This pair of earbuds tops them all. By a landslide. I compared these side by side with monster turbine pro earbuds. ( which cost $300) and these had 3x the amount of bass. Not exaggerating one bit. The company is great too. I expressed concern for shipping time and they got them to me the next day. Amazing company. Amazing product. A MUST buy!
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2015
Velodyne vPulse Blue In-Ear Headphones with Inline Microphone They sound great with very good bass. They are heavier than cheaper earbuds but that can be expected - with premium sound comes the weight of the equipment - particularly for the deeper bass these give you. I took care of these carefully and never wore them running because you can barely hear ambient noise like traffic. The microphone never sounded clear at all, but that never bothered me because few of these products have good mics and that is not why I bought them. After about 6 months the left would cut out randomly but for the duration of each use. 2 months later the cable started separating from the device jack. I used electric tape to bind it together. Shortly after that the left bud went completely silent for good so they are no longer of use. This is a 4 star product and a great value for 6 months, but for the money it does not have any durability even when treated properly and very carefully. I expected more given the investment both in money and the time it takes to care for a product properly. I would give it 1 star but the sound quality when they worked dependably, albeit for a short time, deserves higher than 1 star.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2012
Bottom line:

AWESOME BASS! Finally, an in-ear headphone that doesn't wimp out on producing the full tonal range of music! Total game-changer for enjoying portable music at the office, gym, or on-the-go. Highly recommended.

Detailed review:

I have owned and listened to a wide array of headphones over the years, including audiophile classics like the Sennheiser HD600s, Grado SR-60s, as well as portable in-ear designs from Etymotic Research and several other brands. Now, from Velodyne --makers of high-end subwoofers-- come along these little vPulse earbuds, and guess what: they sound great! Forget the "Bass Boost" on your iPod --get these little phones instead.

The bass is rich and full, not boomy or distorted like that produced by typical cheap headphones. I am talking about luscious, accurate, realistic, organic bass, dripping in richness and tonality that I was not expecting from an in-ear bud. While it is not replacement for the HD 600, this little phones are a lot of fun, and work well with hip-pop, R&B, classical, and jazz. The tonal reproduction and accuracy is as good as I have heard with in-ear designs, and for $89 you can't go wrong.

For comparison, I also have the Etymotic MC-5's, which are another fine in-ear headphone in a similar price range. The MC-5's produce a wonderful sound as well, but do not have the same response in the bass department. (They do have better sound isolation, however, with the supplied foam inserts.) For critical listening, I would rate the MC-5's just a tad better on accuracy and imaging, but on complex music, they can both sound a little congested, compared to reference headphones. This is somewhat typical of the ear-bud design, however, and is only a minor drawback. Keep in mind that I am being rather finicky here -- most folks may not even notice these shortcomings. And both of these phones are MUCH, MUCH BETTER than the typical headphone which came with your portable device...

Just for fun, I hooked these up to my reference audio system (Cambridge Audio Azur A840C CD player, Headroom Amp) and put on several "high-grade" recordings. Cued up John Rutter's "Requiem" (Reference Recordings, RR-57CD), and the low organ pedals of throughout the piece were faithfully reproduced, while retaining the detail, spatial information, and warmth of the vocals so finely captured in this recording. Likewise, for the SACD Living Stereo recording of Saint-Saens 3rd Symphony (Munch/Boston Symphony Orchestra). The sweeping 2nd movement begins with string and organ theme that literally transports one to another time and place... Many small headphones cannot reproduce the low pedal notes (in fact, several people were not even aware the WAS an organ theme playing under the string section!) These little guys allow me to enjoy this work without the need of lugging my (rather large and expensive) HD600's around.

What about thumping to Beyonce on your iPod? Yes, it works beautifully here as well. Modern pop, R&B, hip-hop, and rap, often have that irresistible BASS line that will have your fingers snapping, and body swaying. On several tracks, it was like listening to the music for the first time! These phones are fun, and isn't that what music enjoyment is all about...?

PROS:

+) BASS! Try it with some of your favorite recordings. If you don't have a subwoofer at home, you may be surprised to hear what you have been missing.

+) GREAT SOUND: even if you're not a bass-oholic, these faithfully reproduce mid and high frequency ranges: still work great with vocal, chamber, and acoustic recordings.

+) GOOD VALUE: you would have to spend considerably more $$$ to get something (even marginally) better.

+) fits iPhone/iPod jack, no adapters necessary.

+) comes with several extra ear pads, and carrying case.

+) thick ribbon headphone cord reduces tangling.

+) it comes in blue!

CONS:

-) be aware of microphonics: vibrations or knocks against the headphone cords that transmit sounds. Be sure to use the inclosed clip, which keeps the cord from dangling freely. Maybe an issue if you are using this in the gym, where you are constantly moving.

-) the volume control is located too close to the left ear (in my opinion). Would have been better to move it lower so that one could actually see the controls.

---
33 comments| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2014
As others have stated it has very good bass response for the price. Any set of ear buds can produce highs but few can produce solid, reasonably clean bass. A persistent problem is the cans falling out of your ears due to their weight. This limits their usefulness for most activities. I switch the ear cans to the opposite ear and wrap the wire around the ear, mimicking some of the over-the-ear varieties, to help lock them in place. Of course that makes the volume control inaccessible, not to mention they look very un-cool that way, but at least they stay in place more reliably. The in-line volume control is also susceptible to vibration and/or frequency emissions from lawn/power equipment. Using these headphones in the presence of certain machinery (gas or electric powered) has caused interference with the volume control resulting in the volume being jacked up to maximum. This is highly annoying. This model sounds very good for the price but is just not very reliable or comfortable for much more than sitting or standing. Even casual walking will require constant re-insertion of the ear cans. The in-line mic did work well for about a year before it failed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2014
I'm very big on getting the bass correct in my headphone choice so I started out with Bose about 5 years ago and was certainly not disappointed with the sound. But as with the replacement pair of Bose earbuds and the Beats earbuds, the construction was the flaw and the sound vanished due to exposed and frayed wires. To be fair, I'm not one to put my headphones neatly into their protective case, so this all should be taken with a grain of salt. Moral of the story is that I needed really good bass, strong construction, nothing flashy, a good range, and not a steep price point- these earbuds hit the mark and then some. They fit more comfortably than any other pair I've had and they don't fall out. The sound is in layers and to me sounded like I was at a concert, which I loved. They're holding up well, even without being meticulously cared for in a case (sometimes they unfortunately end up at the bottom of my bag but I'm generally careful when putting them in and taking them out of my bags). Overall I'm very happy with these and highly recommend them!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2013
Bass is beautiful.
Impactful, extended, clear, uncluttered. Some amazingly full bass that I can't get with $300 over the ear headphones. Great for portable use because the emphasized bass helps divert attention from outside noise. The attractive design and 3 button remote functionality, in addition to the right angled jack make this even better for mobile use. These are a must have if you are a basshead, on the go, or just want an overall great headphone.

Their soundstage is also one of the best for IEMs in sub $200 IEMs. Instrument separation and imaging is also great. Overall a very fun listening experience.

While many reviewers complain about build quality, I've found that these last for quite a while if you don't SERIOUSLY abuse them. If you are a careful person, these will last very long. Make use of the carrying case if you are on the move with them so it doesn't take unnecessary strain. Different sizes of tips help accommodate varying ear sizes. Some reviewers complain about fit; I really don't see how this could happen unless you aren't pushing them in. Especially the one complaining that FOAM tips weren't working; tips which EXPAND TO THE CONTOURS OF YOUR EAR CANAL that don't fit? I'm thinking that that's your problem...

If they do break like some reviewers mention, they will replace them no questions asked. They abide strictly by their 2 year warranty policy, and will replace any damaged earbuds free of shipping charge.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 24, 2012
The Vpulse is an excellent earphone, offering pleasantly colored sound which does not go overboard. Build quality and accessory kit is excellent, and the only real issue here is occasional difficulty in getting a good seal with the stock silicone tips and the only moderate isolation levels offered from the shallow insertion design.

Sound Quality 5/5: Velodyne has more or less outdone the Monster Turbines here, offering a very consumer friendly sound that will also not repulse audiophiles. Compared to the Turbines, the VPulse has even better bass, lower while also remaining clearly articulated, while offering more natural sounding mids than the Monsters. (Mid freqs on the Turbine are boosted a bit.) Both phones offer similar treble, rolled off a bit on the higher range but still clear and distinct. The low bass is really exceptional on the VPulse, and organ music really comes alive on these phones. Nothing sounds bad - metal, classical, jazz, electronic - all sounded excellent, and unlike cheaper bass monster phones like the RHA 350, the bass is always clear and never overpowers other parts of the music. Sound stage is good for a canal phone, meaning we are roughly at the Grado SR60 level of soundstage, i.e not too vast. Still, there are canalphones that sound much worse, and virtually none that sound significantly better so the VPulse remains a top contender. SQ is both pleasant and reasonably accurate across the sound spectrum, and the strong non-sloppy bass is very fun for many types of music and does little harm to various genres, though of course if you want strictest accuracy, you will not be amused. Adding Comply foamies hurts the high frequencies noticeably compared to the stock silicones, though comfort and isolation are increased.

Comfort & Isolation 3/5: The VPulse uses shallow insert angled drivers made of aluminum. Stock silicone tips are not terrible, and include 8 pair, 2 of 4 sizes in 2 different colors. No multi-flanges or foam options are provided. The stock tips are reasonably comfortable, but for some reason (the angle?) I had a much harder time getting a good seal with these consistently than with other brands of phones. I finally ended up using tips that are two sizes larger than what I use with other phones and that worked OK, though at some cost to comfort. I tried Comply foams and got a good seal more easily and with greater comfort, but as is my usual experience with Comply, the music sounded a bit worse, especially with lacking treble details. Its unfortunate to have to choose between best comfort and best sound, and even more unfortunate that Velodyne doesn't include more fitting options other than silicone single flanges in the stock kit (like Etymotic or Shure do), but for most users, the stock tips will not be too bad, and the shallow insertion will make comfort less of a concern.

However, the shallow insertion does mean you are not getting much isolation out of these. Velodyne claims about 17db isolation, in other words about half as much as a good seal with Etymotics or Shures will give you. This sounds about right listening to them; a lot more is audible with the Velodynes. This mid-level isolation should not be criticized too much - its more isolating than even a good pair of sealed headphones like the ATH M50 or Senn HD 25s offer, and so is good enough for most purposes. It fails the acid test of listening to classical or acoustic jazz on the subway though. The subway readily drowns out the quieter moments in the music. Something like Iron Maiden though is just perfect as the less peaky moderate to high recording tone level sound throughout knocks out the R train even during those screechy City Hall to Cortlandt St moments. These would also be fine for workouts, jogging, cafés, etc. If you want to listen to very quiet music in very noisy places, look elsewhere, but really considering the enhanced bass capabilities of these phones, very quiet music is not a really good use of them anyway!

We have a little dongle with excellent raised control buttons so you can pause music and advance and rewind in the music and you can also use the dongle to answer calls on your IDevice. Works well, and the raised surfaces are a good idea as the dongle is close to your chin and so may be hard to focus on if you needed to read the button ID. The dongle and the flat cable design make wearing these behind the ears a challenge, so straight down wearing will be preferred for most. The cable is flat and sturdy, tangle resistant and non-microphonic.

Build Quality 4/5: Really excellent - aluminum housing used on phone housings and (apparently) the remote control dongle. Cabling is flat and terminates in a sturdy right angle plug. Definitely as good or better than competitors in the same price point. They also give you a generously sized hard clamshell case, a rarity at this price point where soft clamshells are the norm. No concerns as to build, other than that the cable slider is made of a very tight metal substance, and fits the cable too tightly so that as you slide it up and down, it scrapes along the cords. No damage seen yet, and the cord appears tough, but still this could have been done better, especially at the price point. Velodyne obviously thought metal would look snazzier than plastic for the slider, and it does, but the small tolerance and mediocre machining of the metal kind of defeats the upscale purpose. And if the user does end up shaving the wires with the slider, functional deficiency will completely overwhelm the functional aesthetics! Velodyne gives you a 1 year warranty, not too impressive when comparably priced Shures and Etys give you 2 years, and RHA, offering an earphone 1/3rd of the price of these, gives owners a 3 year warranty!

Evaluation: If Monster actually liked its customers, this is what the Turbine would be like - great distinctive sound and awesome build quality at a moderate price point. The base level (apparently discontinued?) Turbine is thoroughly outclassed by the VPulse, and you will have to pay Monster two or three times more the price of the VPulse to get something comparable. As compared to the Shure 215s or Ety HF5s, most ordinary users who do not need best possible isolation (those who like to hear violin music on the airplane for instance) will prefer the VPulse as it is less fussy to insert, more comfortable over the long term due to the shallow insertion, and has that deep throbbing bass that Joe Public loves. (Though, again, it should be stressed that audiophiles who are not utter Puritans when it comes to the Gospel of Truest Accuracy will also find these enjoyable as well! Mahler's Third by Levine on these was just awesome...) A solid four stars - not docking the final star for the isolation, but rather for the slider, the lack of material options in stock tips provided, and the comparatively brief warranty.
22 comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2013
I was disappointed to find that the set I received from Amazon was defective upon arrival. Depending on the position of the headphone jack, there would either be no sound, no bass, static popping, or some combination of the three.

I decided on these headphones based on the advice from thewirecutter.com and after going back and looking at the review, I noticed they have a quote from a reader:

Reader Caryn recently purchased the vPulses and was displeased with a crackling noise stemming from the headphone jack. After writing Velodyne, she received the following response "We have recently fired the factory that was producing the vPulse due to production issues. We now have new product from a new factory that is much more reliable." So if you recently bought a pair that has headphone jack issues or other unreported ones, contact the company at service@velodyne.com about the possibility of a warranty-covered replacement.

I have returned my set to Amazon and decided to not mess with trying to find a set that might be okay.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2013
My first thought was that it was pricey for ear buds. I wanted some bass and controls so my iPod iPhone could stay in my pocket. I was presently surprised! The BASS was unreal for such a tiny device. They might be a bit short above 10k, but you can't have it all. I really like the sound quality. Now the pause/answer/skip to next track button works perfect. The volume controls are hit and miss so that keeps life interesting and fumbling for the device. The flat cables do not get any where near as tangled. The down side is that the insulation can be easily cut and when taped up the slider will no longer work so a bit more tangled. I bought a 2 meter extension cable so the device can be in a drawer and I am in bed listening to music before nodding off.

I purchased in July of 2012 at Amazon and still going strong with black electrical tape decorations. I would rate this at 3 1/2 stars and fault myself for not being careful enough or not being awake when I put them a way. I would recommend this to those that like quality music with real bass. Just be careful with the leads.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2016
...but unfortunately after 5 months of limited usage the right bud gave out.

The sound quality is very good, and I mean really very good, (I am a classical musician and can pick apart any audio from top to bottom) but there is a reason they aren't making these anymore and it's craftsmanship. Every series made by Velo has had similar issues with wiring and connectivity.

For the price I was very happy with the sound quality, and now I am very disappointed with the build. Should have known better from reading their quality history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse