Amazon Vehicles Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services MeBeforeYou MeBeforeYou MeBeforeYou  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now toystl17_gno

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
53
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$22.33+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 15 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 53 reviews
on November 4, 2015
Author Tessa Kiros is a very creative writer and this book is put together in a way that I especially appreciate. It is one of the most beautiful books that I own, complete with a lovely cover and black velvet page saver. The photos inside are charming and recipes delicious. It would make a scrumptious gift for someone!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2017
What a beautiful book! Felt I was back in Venice. Can't wait to try the recipes! Thank you 😊
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2014
If you are missing Venezia, even if you don't love to cook it's food (though I sure do), get this just to look at the pictures to feel heartsick for the place... Very well written cookbook that gives the feel for the ingredients and how they should come along as the recipes progress...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 14, 2009
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )|Verified Purchase
If you have never visited Venice -- lovely Venezia -- you will long to go. If you have been, you will want to return. The photographs and travel memoir capture this unique city wonderfully. Its colors, quirks, the silvery blue sea -- evoked in words and images here. I like especially the evocations of daily life as well as carnival extravaganza. But above all, the food.

I have so far made three of the 105 recipes: spaghetti alla busara (spaghetti with scampi and tomatoes); risotto di zucca (risotto with winter squash and pancetta); and, twice, risotto con la verza (risotto with sausage and cabbage). Every dish was a huge success -- the directions are easy to follow and the dish looks exactly as described. I liked especially the simplicity of the dishes -- these are true Italian fare dependent on fresh ingredients. Also, the inclusion of an old-fashioned attached velvet ribbon to mark one's place was enchanting.

Sometimes books like this feature such obscure ingredients that they become more coffee table curiosities than actual usable cookbooks. Not this one: even though I live in the middle of the country, I have had not problem finding the needed ingredients. Since Venice is a coastal town, the majority of the recipes focus on seafood which might, for those who do not like seafood, make the book a bad fit. But other than this possible small issue, I highly recommend this book. I intend to buy several more copies for holidays gifts this year.

Although many reviewers of this book appear to argue that it is too beautiful to use, I have to disagree. Who says a cookbook cannot be beautiful? Plastic cookbook holders work wonderfully well to conserve a book like this and the recipes are simple, easy and very worthwhile.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2012
The book is beautifully laid out with elegant pages, formal recipies and artifully depicted pictures. You will love the list of favorites and the not -so-often made dishes that typically get pushed aside because they are to much work to make, but when you want to make that statement, it' will be at your fingertips.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2014
This is a stunning book with wonderful photographs and Venetian recipes-a lovely combination! For lovers of Venice and the delightful dishes from that region, you will be pleased...not a hardcore recipe only book..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2014
wonderful book filled with authentic receipts from Italy. Me and the wife absolutely love cooking from this book, highly recommend it if you look Italian food (p.s. Olive Garden is not real Italian food!!!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2015
beautiful book with great recipes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2013
easy to prepare and understand, her recipes share he soul of Italian Cooking.
Molto Bene Tessa Kiros. You understand the everyday fare if Italy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2013
This book has the varity of recipies that you'll enjoy trying not only on yourself but your friends and yes even your relatives, nice to even go through once in a while.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse