Bubble Witch Saga 3 BCA Month Beauty Magazine Deals Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now HTL17_gno



on September 11, 2017
Wonderful Music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2012
This is the most disappointing cd of Jesse Colin Young. I love his music and his voice but this cd sounded like it was very cheaply made and some of the songs which I thought I was getting were not studio recordings but poor recordings of live performances. I ended up buying 2 of his studio cds to get the songs which I thought I was going to get on this cd. After buying at least a couple hundred cds over the last year, this is the first time I have felt ripped off. Still a huge fan.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2016
Good old music. I have always loved Jesse Colin Young
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2016
Great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2013
The music reminds me of my time spent in college many, many years ago. The offer to buy the music was fair and the service was perfect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2010
I bought this for my boyfriend and he was very pleased he said a "this is a Must for Jessee Collin young fan"
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2006
Anyone who grew up in the 60's & 70's NEEDS this one.

Disc 1 was flashback after flashback!!

Excellent instrumentals, Jesse's vocals are incredible!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2008
If I were to ask someone, in the year 2008, to name a male folk singer from the 1960's I would assume that if I were to get an answer to that question that the name would be Bob Dylan. And that would be a good and appropriate choice. One can endlessly dispute whether or not Dylan was (or wanted to be) the voice of the Generation of '68 but in terms of longevity and productivity he fits the bill as a known quality. However, there were a slew of other male folk singers who tried to find their niche in the folk milieu and who, like Dylan, today continue to produce work and to perform. The artist under review Jesse Colin Young is one such singer/songwriter.

The following is a question that I have been posing in reviewing the work of a number of male folk singers from the 1960's and it is certainly an appropriate question to ask of Jesse as well. I do not know if Jesse Colin Young, like his contemporary Bob Dylan whom he followed in moving from acoustic folk to electric folk rock, started out wanting to be the king of the hill among male folk singers but he certainly had some things going for him. A fair to middling acoustic guitar but a very interesting and mournful voice in the early acoustic days. Then the switch to electric folk rock and beyond, and the joining up with the Youngbloods that forms the core of this greatest hits compilations.

Jesse Colin Young and the Youngbloods were one of the signature groups of the 1960's not so much for their sound that was a pretty much a familiar one from the period but the lyrics and the politics. Songs like Get Together, Sunlight, Darkness, Song for Juli and some others created a mood of hope (sometimes with dope) that got a number of people through the hard times of growing up in that time. Personally, though as much as I liked some of what the Youngbloods did I still go back to that old Jesse classic from the acoustic days Four In The Morning- that's the ticket. If you need to hear it all though, this is a good bet.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2009
This 2 disc set is like many compilations; one decent CD and one that is just material that never went anywhere. Disc 2 is all over the map,jumping from one tempo to another, then changing rhythmically and thematically into a jumbled up mix. Speaking of mix, the sound on disc 2 is horrible. JCY's voice is drowned out in horns, blaring guitars, piano's and backup singers. It doesn't flow together in any coherent way. I say this is not the best of JCY by a long shot.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2009
This CD is excellent. For those not familiar with JCY, he is a great singer, sweet guitar player and writes fantastic songs. He is similar and compares very favorably with James Taylor. His music includes several styles: ballads, blues, soft rock, reggae, and now Hawaiian. I especially like that he uses jazz influences (flute and horns) in many of his songs to great effect. He produced this CD himself and has been very generous - 34 songs spanning his career (wish he'd put Love on the Wing on there) and about 3/4 of them are topnotch. You won't regret buying this CD.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse