Industrial Deals Beauty Oprah's Book Club STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Shop Now toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 24 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 33 reviews
on February 16, 2014
I figured this would be considered the lil brother to the VCI-400 by vestax...
Its ok but theres a trade off for scratching djs plus windows 8 doesn't support serato...
Im using a touch screen and settled for loading Virtual DJ LE...by Vestax...
now the software does allow control vinyl but I don't see how I can be done with no inputs.
...when compared to scratch live or serto dj...
Virtual DJ LE is a good software though....the screen looks and controls the hardware (typhoon)
Heres the trade off...not so serious scratching for great loops and effects.
All in all this is a controller best used to LEARN how to run software. It takes some practice before you take it to a club or party. Its a MUST to set cues and loops before you do gigs. A touchscen and windows 8 / 8.1 do work for Vestax software though.
Im going to give this one to my son if hes interested in DJing but mostly keep it for a back up for the VCI-400. Until I get one Ill use the typhoon. Get this product if you have a thrill for DJIng but don't wanna pay an arm or legfor equipment. For a lil over 700.00 I was DJing again. Counting the laptop, insurance on cpu and typhoon..oh headphones too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2014
I definitely got my use out of this fun little thing. I'm using it with a Macbook Pro (late 2011) running OS X Lion.

One problem is that sometimes a glitch arises where it thinks my finger is still on the platter, so the record is stopped. I just need to tap the platter again for it to re-register my touch, and it's working again, but that's something that shouldn't happen. Another issue is that the software occasionally crashes, but I don't know the exact cause of it.

The final issue was that (at least in my case) the controller couldn't be powered and function properly through USB. I had to go to RadioShack to buy an AC/DC adapter with the correct plug, so that was an extra ten to twenty bucks.

Unfortunately you can't play out with this thing since it can be pretty unreliable, but it's a great thing to mess around with at a really affordable price, considering you don't need to buy extra hardware like other models.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2014
I have gone trough many controllers over the past few years. I'm a "classic" Dj I guess you would say and I focus on blending different songs old school style so I don't have much need for loops and filters. I used to have a Vestax VCI-300 and so far that was my controller of choice but I sold it since I really didn't have too much time for mixing and I don't do any gigs. I bought this Typhoon mainly for the platters and the fact that it is a really cheap way to get into Serato DJ as opposed to Traktor Pro. I didn't think I would like the black and red color scheme but it looks good in my lab. Overall I love it. It is a limited controller but what it does it does very well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2015
This midi controller really works best with the bundled Traktor LE Software, but it's not so different from Mixxx (my Open Source software choice), except the key feature being better support and stuff.

Not exactly the greatest for scratching, but great for compiling a good mix and really easy to set up. The volume sliders vs knobs make multiple audio adjustments at the same time possible, and the great itunes integration as well as nice look and feel really keep me coming back to this controller just to play on it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2012
This mixer is a very good mixer, bought it to dj at house parties.
Only thing that I had trouble with was drivers..
I installed dj intro and installed the drivers from the cd it came with on my windows 7 x64 computer. After a while the a controller started to freeze and so did dj intro.. After I restarted my computer I got a little MSG on the taskbar saying I was missing a
coreprocessor driver.. It found a nvidia one and I installed it.. After that the controller worked flawless.. The shipping was fast, I have amazon prime and got it in 2 days.. Overall, great device I would defenetly recommend anyone beginner or pro to get it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2011
I am an amateur DJ, but I have tried several different qualities of equipments, from the most pro to the very cheap stuff. The Vestax Typhoon is just a perfect machine for the 99% of the time of a DJ performance. Unlike other cheap machines similar to this one(I am referring mostly to the Hercules ones), the Typhoon has the most common buttons for DJing where you need them, they are big enough, the feel when you touch them is good enough, and the jog wheel quality is just much above than all its competitors. That is important if you pretend to mix songs and adjust the tempo manually and not just relying on the software (basically, what a Dj is supposed to do). They are good enough for scratching too, and this is something that most of the similar machines cannot handle decently.
It comes with Tracktor LE, what is one of the best programs available (I can't stand the horrible virtual dj). Ok, now I have to thanks DJ Exquiz who wrote another review and solved the main problem I found with the Typhoon: with my windows 7 64 bits the jog wheels were not working properly (the music was distorted). Follow his guidelines about changing the driver to Kernel and it will be solved, because in the Vestax website I didn't find anything related with this problem. But now that everything works fine, I am really pleased with this purchase (after returning an Hercules), because the quality is better than I expected for the price. Actually I think they are increasing the price of the Typhoon (I bought it for 279), so that means that they are realising that the machine is being re-valuating. Check other places than Amazon before, just in case.
In conclusion, it is the first Vestax product that I buy, but now I trust in their quality, and I am very happy with this portable machine, I dont need to buy anything else to do great parties everywhere!
Well, actually one thing you need to buy apart is the audio cable to use its RCA connections. I recommend to buy it at the same time, but check first about the length (buy it quite long to use it everywhere), and the type of connection you will need for your audio equipment (jack, RCA, minijack, etc.)
cheers!
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2014
The spin tables are very high quality

if you scratch a lot you'll love this.
This is made for DJ's who want to test the limits of digital without spending too much
if you're a vinyl junkie using this with virtual dj is as good as it gets
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2013
I like the precision on the mixer. It's not perfect but it's Good Enough. I'm able to mix and do a little scratching on it as well. The sound could be a little better, I may try to use an alternate sound card. But other then that it's Good Enough. I would buy it again if I had to.
Peace!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2015
The asio does not work with windows 8... so i had to get another computer with windows 7 and it works great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2011
This is one of the best purchases of the year well worth the money. high quality sound and mixing. The only crappy thing is the software but for 100.00 $ more you can get Tracktor Pro .... overall if you are a beginner Dj hope to start mixing and scratching i recommend this product
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse