Oil month Automotive HPC Rebound Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Offline listening. Learn more. PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy  Kids Edition Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18PP_gno



on August 12, 2016
This novel begins in the restaurant at the Hotel Brittania Rua Rodrigues in Lisbon, Portugal, on 3 May 1945.

Allen Dulles, deputy director for Europe of the Office of Strategic Services, was meeting with Cletus Frade, a Marine Corps Reserve Lieutenant Colonel detached for service in South America, and also with the OSS.

Dulles then said that it was more important, and so did Deputy Director off the OSS for the Western hemisphere, Colonel Graham, that we have a talk before you returned to Argentina. Our war, Clete, Graham's, mine and yours, is just about to begin.

Unfortunately, this is followed by way too many pages of detrimental factors, such as continued use of titles, of both German and American officers, and extended descriptions of meaningless events and activities that require skimming to find content.

This novel ends with Cletus Frade receiving orders,(while at Tempelhof Air Base in Berlin, to avoid interrogation by the Secret Service), from Captain R. G. Prentice, while on the Destroyer USS Bartram Greene, to transport him to NAS Pensacola, where he is the subject of an investigation by Naval Intelligence.

He is advised that he is restricted to certain areas of the ship, and which officers to speak with.

During the voyage, Captain Prentiss read a message that had been transmitted to the destroyer from a Colonel Wallace to Captain Prentiss that Clete was a good guy, and should be treated accordingly.

For the rest of the voyage, there were no restrictions placed on him.

When the ship arrived in Pensacola, Captain Prentiss pointed to a Navy officer on the pier, and told Clete that he was his welcoming party.

The Navy officer was Lieutenant Commander McGrory, of the Judge Advocate Corps, and advised Clete that he had been appointed to serve as his defense counsel, and indicated that a car had been made available.

After they rode away, Clete asked McGrory what he was going to counsel, and McGrory replied that certain allegations had been laid against him, which he would learn about during formal proceedings.

As they approached the main gate to Pensacola, Clete turned to McGrory, and asked him for further information about the formal proceedings. McGrory replied that no charges had yet been made, so his status was that of a Marine officer returning from service abroad.

After many more pages of extended discussions of meaningless events and activities,

He as at his home, where he was staying with his family, when there was a knock on the door. When it was opened, a man said that he was looking for Lieutenant Colonel Cletus Frade. After Clete said that he was Frade, the man identified himself. "My name is Portman. I'm Rear Admiral Sourer's aide de camp. The admiral desires that you attend him immediately, in uniform, and bring with you sufficient uniforms for a week."

There was a Navy staff car waiting outside. Before they left, Clete asked Portman where they were going. Portman replied that he couldn't get into that.

After they left, Clete again asked the same question, and was told that they were going to the airport.

There was a Constellation at the airport. Portman and Frade entered, where Clete met Admiral Sourer. Then they flew to Tempelhof Air Base, in Berlin.

There was a squad o senior army brass waiting at the foot of the stairs when they disembarked. One of the Army officers was Lieutenant General I. P. White.

Admiral Sourer met the officers, then climbed into a 1940 Packard Limousine. The other officers climbed into armored cars, then they all drove away.

Clete then asked, again, where they were going, and was told they were going to Potsdam, to a place called Sans Souci, then told Clete he wouldn't tell him why they were going there.

Then they arrived, they were led into a small room. Admiral Sourer was alone in the room. Right after the door closed, another room opened, and President Harry S. Truman entered. Admiral Sourer introduced him to Colonel Frade.

Then the President told Frade "If I told you that yesterday afternoon I told Marshal Stalin that we had two new bombs, each with the explosive power of 20,000 pounds of TNT, and I couldn't detect one iota of surprise in him, what would you say?"

Clete replied that what the President told wasn't news to him, that there were Soviet spies all over the Manhattan Project.

Then the President told him that on September twentieth, an Executive Order would be issued disbanding the OSS. And when word got out, everyone from J. Edgar Hoover to Secretary Morgenthau everyone would get him into a corner, and let him know how happy they would be to take the OSS was so useless, why did thy want it. So, I went to Admiral Sourer, and asked him.

"The Admiral told me that they didn't hate the OSS. They hated Wild Bill Donovan, because he was independent, and they couldn't control him."

"Well colonel Frade, that's not going to happen. I am now convinced, especially because of the trouble the Russians are certain to cause us, a month or so after the OSS is shut down, that I am going to set up a new organization, call it the Intelligence, Agency, or something like that, and I decided that Admiral Sourer. Which brings me to you, Colonel. Allen Dulles has convinced me that we can't afford to lose General Gehlen and his intelligence assets. Can you prevent that from happening until Admiral Sourer is up and running with his new Agency?"

"I'll do my best, Mr. President, I really think I can."

Thank you, Colonel. I hope to see you again, and soon. But right now, the thing to do is get you back to Argentina, out of sight. Admiral Sourer, can we send him on that fancy airplane of your?"

Admiral Sourer replied that that was not a problem.

"Have a nice flight, Colonel", the President said.

There are additional, important things said and done in the rest of this novel, but not important enough to detail here.

And, there is plenty of excitement at the end of this novel, despite the many detrimental factors.

Unfortunately, there are also many, many pages of the same detrimental factors throughout the entire middle of this novel. So many, that this novel is not very exciting to read, just OK.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 31, 2016
This is book 6 of a series of 7. So the author has to recap what has been happening in previous books. this was done well in book 2 but not well in 3 & 4 (maybe I'm just getting tired of the same old story). Book 5 was better but not great but book 6 is much better. Here he integrates the backstory with new characters & their need to know & makes it art of the ongoing story. There is also the end of the story of WWII and the transition to the cold war that makes for facinating history. This is very good reading and you can get the backstory without reading the other books in the series but I would still recommend reading the predecessors. RAG
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 30, 2016
Griffin delivers a decent story here but it is not up to the quality of his Corps series and the early Honor Bound books. Griffin is known for his attention to detail, lending an authenticity to his stories. He follows the same devices here, including military communications to help tell the story. However, there is a lot of detail here that feels repetitive. I found myself skipping the included messages because they didn't feel necessary. The plot follows the lines of previous works, so it is predictable. Griffin has been one of my favorite authors but the last few books just haven't seemed as strong. Victory and Honor was a good read but it is not on the same level as Griffin's other works.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 2, 2012
The products of the Griffin-worth fiction factory leave me with mixed feelings. I enjoy these books but know they are not superior fiction or even of the good quality that the early er novels demonstrated. They seem to me like salt peanuts. At first I want more and more, but then I'm filled. his latest example covers the last months of WWII, Germany has surrendered, Japan is still in the fight, the vast array of neutral countries, importantly to the plot Argentina, have declared war on the axis. Frade and the OSS, now vulnerable as FDR is dead and Donovan has lost his protector. A number of non-Nazi Germans are fleeing to the west. Frade it seems is involved in taking plane loads of Germans with Vatican passports to South America. Perhaps it is here that the problem of historical fiction begins in the novel, History, afterall, gives great plots. Always has since the war with Troy, but the distortions can tangle a reader's brain. In this case, it seems probable that there were Vatican passports for some German refugees. The Vatican diplomatic service had its ag`ents and assets who would be taken care of as well as some obvious humanitarian cases. But plane loads stretches belief. Then too, the whole situation is a mass of exaggeration. Frade and associates are rich as king Midas, the women are beautiful, the men master romance, slavic and teutonic languages, shooting, driving and flying skills at will. Oh and throughout the series these folk are in wa world where the great depression has had noeffect. The crowning stretcher as Twain called em, is the way the Manhatten Project is used as a sort of password term to the spies in the know. In all of that, how did Harry Truman miss out??? So given all this, have some peanuts, be entertained, just don't think you are reading a top notch- or even an inside-history of VE day through Potsdam.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 13, 2011
I have read all the WEB Griffin novels, at least those in the Army, Marine and Presidential Agent series. I liked the Honor Bound series especially because of the story of Argentina's history. Griffin (Butterworth) has lived there for some time and I enjoy his storytelling because there is usually a theme about teaching history. The Army series tells the story of army aviation. The Marine series tells the story of the Raiders and later of Guadalcanal. The Honor Bound series is in this pattern with its history of Peron and Argentina. The Presidential Agent series is less focused on a theme although, as the series progressed, there is a theme of Russia and Vladimir Putin's role in the "Oil-for-food" scandal.

This novel seems to wind up the Honor Bound series. I've wondered how he would connect Cletus Frade with Argentina after Peron took over. We may yet see that but this book seems to have the tone of a final chapter. Griffin has skipped a couple of years since the last book in the series. Cletus and Dorotea now have two children. The war is just about to end in Europe and von Wachstein and Boltitz, the two good Germans have gone to a POW camp for senior German officers. We learn that Clete's "sister", Beth, has had a romantic interest in Boltitz, a new detail that I don't recall any hint of in the previous books. Griffin does not always keep his stories straight as General Bellman's daughter's name changed in the Army series. The Philadelphia Mayor abruptly changed from white to black and back to white in the last three books in the Badge of Honor series.

With a few minor faults, this is one of the better books in the series. As in many of his series, the hero, Clete, develops more and more powerful traits as the series moves along. Beginning as a simple Marine pilot, he becomes a major figure in world history with friends like Allen Dulles and Howard Hughes in later books. This is fantasy and not particularly annoying but it is typical of the other series, as well. The story is good. It winds up a bunch of loose threads. It still doesn't fill in the gap between Clete's estancia in 1945, and the country club communities of 2005, which are located in the same place, Pila, Argentina. I doubt we will find out as this seems like the end of the series but I could be wrong.

It is an enjoyable read, well written and tightly plotted. It is a bit short and WEB Griffin fans always want more. Still, all the major characters are here and we find out what has happened to them as the war ends.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon September 11, 2011
I must admit I have not been a fan of the co-authored "WEB Griffin" books, but, the father and son combo seem to have hit their stride with Victory and Honor.

We again follow Frade/Howell and his merry OSS band and this time though the later days of WWII, in a fairly decent and interesting plot, with a good ending.

The father/son team seem to have learned by their past mistakes and do not spend the entire first half (or so it seemed) of the book recapping all that had gone before in the series. The explanations, are cleverly inserted as the story is being told. They get real kudos for this, which probably bumped it up from three to four stars in my evaluation.

I have read all the non-police Griffin books and always look forward to another chapter in each of his sagas. For Griffin fans, this book will not disappoint you.

There is one proofing error I noticed. On page 130, they have Frade say "you could have just come out here and told me Donavan wants to meet with Dulles". It should have been "Hoover wants to meet with Dulles." The letter just read was from DDO of the FBI, and was saying that Hoover wanted to help with the Gehlen organization and thus needed to meet with Donavan, head of the OSS. Also, Dulles worked for directly for Donavan in the OSS, if he had wanted to meet with his boss, this is not the approach he would have taken. There are just some things that "spell check" doesn't find and require real proof readers to spot. A minor annoyance, but bothersome in a Griffin novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 20, 2012
Editors do many things for writers and over time there must have been some very good editing, honest and thoughtful, editing performed for Mr. Griffin. One of two things appears to have happened, editors have changed, died, or become disgruntled; replaced by someone not qualified to edit. Some cut and paste artist without the history of these different series, perhaps?

Or, more probably, a ghost writer is attempting to ride on the popularity of the authentic Mr. Griffin and stands behind the author pulling the strings. If the result was more good books, leave well enough alone. However, in this case the result is more of an insult to early works enjoyed by so many. Please, please do not publish anymore of this work lacking the narratives your followers have enjoyed over the years because, for me, it tarnishes your reputation and wrecks the memory of those wonderful books we hold so dear.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 24, 2011
I've read every book WEB Griffin has written and loved them dearly. Considering I read no other books about wartime, I think this shows how well written the books are; after all, it's not really the subject matter that intrigues, but the interplay between characters.
Having said that, the last two installments, written with Griffin's son, don't seem up to par. Inevitable I suppose, just as Clive Cussler's efforts with his son have become watered-down versions of what used to be great reads.
I'll still read 'em because the stories are still compelling and the characters still friends I like to visit now and again. But I'm just a little disappointed that the dialogue is just a little below par.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 27, 2012
Victory and Honor is just another fantastic book by Griffin and Butterworth IV. They continue to churn out drama, intrigue and action that goes to the limits.

Cletus Frade and his cohorts continue the work of the OSS as the war is winding down. There is so much riding on the information they are developing that will bear directly on the rest of the world as peace time approaches.

The tracking of former Nazi leaders as well as the German officers who were loyal to Germany (but not to Hitler) takes on a new and very important light. The information that can be had from the Gelhen Intelligence group is worth more than its weight in gold. Extreme measures must be taken to protect and assist the members of this group to escape the clutches of Hitler and his SS gangsters.

Like all of Griffin and Butterworths books, you really hate it when they end. You are already waiting for the next one to be published as you read the closing words.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 31, 2015
I love Griffin's work, I hate waiting for the next book, when I get it, the new book moves the the top of my list...then I have to wait for the next one.
The Honor Bound series is always upbeat and a couple of steps ahead the enemy. Reminds me of a lot of the stories my parents told me about the experiences during WWII. Never talking about the bad stuff because there was a lot more good stuff to talk about.
As usual, I'm waiting for the next book. I hope there are more books in this series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse