Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 104 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 105 reviews
on February 6, 2012
I took a chance when I ordered this DVD box set, but it was worth the gamble. All five of these Vincent Price films are reproduced with the utmost care. The colors are bright, the pictures sharp, and the sound excellent. Movies released in widescreen are in that format here.

The downside to this set is that it is totally no-frills. No commentary, no original trailers of the movies, etc. But what I consider to be the biggest shortfall of this set is that none of the movies are divided into chapters. This gives the viewer two choices: either watch the film in one sitting; or fast-forward through the movie later to try to find the place where the viewer stopped watching the film.

The upside to the set is that you get some Vincent Price horror classics that are pricey in other DVD offerings (such as MGM's "Midnite Movies" double feature series). In this set are four of the great Vincent Price/Roger Corman Edgar Allan Poe films: The Pit and the Pendulum (1961); The Raven (1962); Tales of Terror (1963); and The Masque of the Red Death(1964). The fifth film in the set is Madhouse from 1974. Madhouse is basically a slasher movie with a lot of gory scenes, unlike the more restrained Poe films.

Some cool things about this set are that the DVDs come in a nice gift box made of heavy cardboard. The graphics on the box lid are somewhat three dimensional. The flames behind Price seem to glow and an old house appears from the darkness when the box is held under a bright light. The DVDs inside the box are in two quality plastic DVD cases with colorful graphics and information about each film. So if you are looking for a nice collection of some of Price's best later films, this is a good affordable place to start.
1111 comments| 122 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2012
This budget-priced Box set is a great way to pick up 5 Vincent Price films:
The Pit & The Pendulum
The Raven
Tales of Terror
Masque of the Red Death
Madhouse (which features stock footage from several past Vincent Prive films- including The Haunted Palace, The Pit and the Pendulum, Tales of Terror, The Raven, Scream and Scream Again, and House of Usher!).

The packaging is a nice box, with the front serving as the lid, lifting up to hold 2 DVD cases. One contains ToT, Raven, and Pit, while the second has Madhouse and Masque. The discs are single-sided luckily and not annoying flipper discs. The films themselves are chosen from a central menu, and when selected the film starts. There is no scene selection menus, however you can skip scenes like on their original MGM DVDs by simply clicking next or back on your remote.

Strangely, the DVDs contained in the box are now extremely expensive from amazon sellers on the pages they're available individually. Avoid those rip-offs, get this set.

Also I recommend the MGM Midnite Movies DVDs, specifically the ones involving Price.
I view this set as a basic starter kit / jumping on point for a Vincent Price collection.
33 comments| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2016
These films took me back to my childhood, when we went to big spooky theatres to see these and maybe say them again on late-night TV. They are really fun, but viewed as an adult, it is clear that they range from pretty bad to reasonably good. There are some surprise appearances, such as young Jack Nicholson and Jane Asher, which are surprising and amusing.

Several seem to be roughly based on Tales of Poe, but they mix up the stories and present them with snippets of comedy that detract from the gothic atmosphere that makes Poe so memorable. Perhaps the best one is Pit and the Pendulum, which had many details I found quite chilling, such as the very last image. Then there is the mask of the Red Death and Madhouse, both of which evoke some atmosphere and mystery, but appear thrown together in a rather slapdash manner. The others are, well, just plain awful, with their dueling magicians and stories of the macabre.

Recommended tepidly for us aging boomer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2014
Why Vinnie has yet to get the Blu ray boxed set treatment is beyond me and I am tired of waiting so I threw down $12 and hoped for the best with this and I got it. Watching DVDs in wide-screen on a new BD player is a perfectly acceptable experience when the original aspect ratio is applied on the disc. These discs run at a steady 4.0Mbps (lows of 3 and highs of 8 in between) on all the movies which works out to a 360p resolution that is then progressive scanned to 720p and the result is an excellent overall image. "The Raven" is my favorite Vinnie movie (even tho Peter Lorre steals the show) and is a classic in my opinion. "Masque" is creepy, Gothic and Vinnie is at his evil best in this one. "Pit" I would give a 3 out of 5; it would be a 4 if not for John Kerr's stuffy, plodding performance. "Terror" has some enthusiastic fans, I am not one, it's OK. "Madhouse" is a bore and utterly predictable. Overall if you are a Vinnie fan this set has 2 of his very best, 1 very good, 1 ok, and just 1 throwaway all transferred well from excellent prints in widescreen and all for $12 with Prime. I will be first in line to get these movies when they come out on BD but until then I am happy to watch this nice set.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2014
I respond to my comments when they have merrit... So here I have rated each move on quality. The outfit that made this DVD set is a no-name recording mill which is reflected in the mid-range to plain terrible quality of the collection overall. The set is watchable but you have a lot of challenges to overlook if you buy this set so be warned. I'm happy to have purchased this set because the bikini machine and girl bomb series was comedy work I did not know Vincent Price did.

UPDATE... This is more of a Vincent Price sampler set.

The video quality of this set is all over the place. In some cases the color, clearity and audio are very good. Other movies shock and house on Haunted Hill in particular are just plain awful. This is NOT a Vincent Price set for serious collectors who want to get a jump start on getting quality vincent print movies. This set is great for someone new to vincent price who is making up their mind if Vincent Price is a worthy addition to their horror collection. This set gives viewers a sample taste of Vincent Price alas imperfect but at a value price.

Quality in this set is all over the place.

Dr. Goldfoot and the Bikini Machines is good quality video and audio, the actual story is 1950's 1960's hikey and weird but nice rainy day retro deversion movie.

Dr. Goldfoot and the Girl Bombs is likewise lite fare with more comedy than horror overtones. Video and audio quality is good.

Tales of Terror video and audio quality both not great but easily watchable.

Masque Of The Red Death audio and video quality was acceptable.

Madhouse was weird and funny with good audio and video quality.

The Abombminable Doctor Phibes was great video and audio quality.

Scream and Scream again was a weak plot but acceptable video and audio quality.

From A Whisper To A Scream ok video and audio quality not great

Theatre of Blood weird funny not in wide screen format

Last Man on Earth, ok quality but I have seen far better prints with better video and audio.

Shock bad print, loaded with image artifacts, gouges in the print in a few places, bad audio useless print.

House on Haunted Hill another tiny screen ugly print was not worth watching, a butchered copy.

Mooch goes to Hollywood, I could film a better movie in a subway toilet.

The Bat just a bat movie in a bad format

This is an awesome and cost effective way to jump start your Vincent proce DVD collection. Vincent Price was the embodiment of creepy horror movies for a generation of baby boomer kids. First Vincent Price had a voice that simply creeped out the average person just hearing him speak. Also Vincent Price had the tall lanky body and wild hair that just made you think he was just a few vital pints short of a full tank. One can have all the physical characteristics of a great horror film actor and still do a bad job. Vincent Price however had a masters touch and bringing the pure horror out of the most common situations. Vincent Price could beand too often was placed in the banal sets using the cheapest props and yet time and time again he could bring out the most gut wrenching horror hidden inside.

Vincent Price knew the one thing so many horror film actors don't seem to know. Vincent Price knew the best way to get to his audience. Vincent Prioce knew you could frighten an audience to death if in his performance he could give onlookers tools needed to scare themselves. Vincent Price overcame cheap props and cheezy sets by getting inside the heads of his audience and planting the seeds of pure unmitigated fright. Vincent Price can often be seen tending to the seeds of horror he plants throughout his pictures. As the plot unfolds Vincent Price has given you the all that is needed to scare yourself silly if you have any imgination at all. Vincent Price scares his audience because; for Vincent price fright was an intimate affair between yourself and him. Vincent Price frightened people because; his horror often revealed the pains of the human condition and how they can drive men to do insane evil and horrible things. If any man look too closely and too honestly at himself he will find in his darkest recesses the twisted creatures brought to life by Vincent Price.

Vincent Price in life brough to us an impressive body of work some of it as a normal dude. However Vincent Price will rightly be remembered as the man who brought horror to life in ways often up close and personal. Vincent Price is one of the masters of early horror which makes this set a must have at this bargain price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2014
I give it four stars only because I can't exactly say "I love it!" Watching Vincent Price in these old "monster" movies brings back good old memories of watching them on Chller Feature in Columbus, OH on Friday nights with friends or with my brother. We were a whole lost more fearful when we watched them on our old black and white set late at night then we are now, but I still watch Vincent Price fondly.

Price is a good actor. I've always enjoyed the way he speaks; almost Shakespearian. Maybe he's had that training---I don't know.

The movies are in decent shape and are kind of predictable, but still pretty good for being as old as they are. If you enjoyed Vincent Price in the old days, you will enjoy this box set of five movies today. Very nostalgic!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2013
I originally purchased this for just one of the Price movies, the "Pit and the Pendulum." Three of the five I had never seen before. For any fan of the Vincent Price/Roger Corman collaboration, this is a must-have collection. All 5 movies are winners. If you want a lot of fluff, a lot of extras, you won't find it. But if you want 5 great movies (for their genera) well mastered onto DVD, this is absolutely great.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2015
Love Vincent Price and didn't have any of these movies. This set was a great bargain. We have watched three of the movies and they look wonderful. If you like the Edgar Allen Poe stories and Vincent Price, this will be a great investment.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2014
I love Vincent Price and pretty much everything he's in, but I'm not sure I understand the reasoning behind the movies they chose to include in this set. House on Haunted Hill - a CLASSIC. Then they included some Poe - Pit and the Pendulum, The Raven, a selection of short stories and my personal favorite,The Masque of the Red Death. However, they also included Madhouse, which really isn't as good as the others in the set. I still recommend it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2014
I like Vincent Price movies, especially those based on the Poe stories. Growing up we had a box set of 3 movies, (the Raven, Pit and the Pendulum, and Fall of the House of Usher). I used to love watching them. I found this set and it had the Raven, (I already had Pit and Usher), plus it had a few more. The quality is decent considering how old the films were.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse