Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 78 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 92 reviews
on February 1, 2013
I just got it recently and jumped right into Forensics Investigations with Python. Learning many great things, exited to be adding new skills and ideas into my craft. Thumbs up on this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2013
TJ's book "Violent Python" is an exceptional book by any standard. It is well written, packed full of useful information, and presents material in an easy to read method. Beyond that, TJ donates all proceeds from this book to the Wounded Warrior program. To anyone that has had the pleasure of meeting and knowing TJ you understand that this is not a move out of the ordinary. He is helpful, intelligent, witty, kind, an expert on these matters, and exactly what you would want in both an author and a friend. The qualities are very similar in many ways; you want someone truthful but willing to help you break down the hard to understand concepts.

The other reviews on here have given great insight into the book and what you learn from it. If you are in this industry or interested in Python/hacking/forensics/pen-testing this is a must read. This review though was specifically meant to note the kind of person TJ is. The book speaks for itself but knowing a bit more about the quality of person TJ is makes it that much of a better read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2014
As a cookbook, this has a lot of good ideas. I am looking for a good beginning-Python book, and this isn't that. But if you know a bit about programming, and a bit about Digital Forensics, this book will bring things together beautifully.

Pros: engrossing, and functioning, examples. Range of ideas.

Cons: Editing is kind of weak. The code examples don't translate well into digital-MOBI format --- unidentified wordwrapping and compression of leading whitespace are deadly flaws in a Python listing --- and there's the occasional not-quite-a-sentence. A couple of the links are also obsolete/dead.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2012
This was a great introduction into using python as a security too. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to learn python to use in pen testing or web security testing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2015
Good deal on a good product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2013
Provides walkthrough-ish examples for using python to develop security and analysis tools. Good place to start for beginners with python.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2014
This was an optional read for a Python class I attended to obtain my Masters Degree in digital forensics. At first I was skeptical of how useful it would be in class (it wasn't) but I was able to find a use for it in my day-to-day work as a digital forensic examiner. This would like useful because it provides (and explains) code for projects for creating a port scanner, SSH BotNets, as well as an extensive coverage on how TCPIP spoofing works. For the forensic analyst there are recipes for investigating iTunes backups, Sqlite databases, and application artifacts. Everything is brilliantly explained, real-world stories and several code examples are given enhance the readers knowledge. This is not a Python tutorial but a book on how to apply your Python knowledge in the security world. If you are a practitioner or security student then this is highly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2015
Very nice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2013
I like it very much, is a book for hackers, forensic analysts, penetration testers and secury engineers. Python I Love.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2013
I took a basic class in python, but this book takes you way beyond the hello world stuff, but it does start with it as an example.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse