BCA Month Salon Beauty Magazine Deals Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Kidz Bop $69.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on June 14, 2017
This book has very good reproductions of the few paintings it does have. I wish I could find a book under $50 that has all of the good ones. If you want to read about the paintings, there is a page of text for each picture. I just don't understand why publishers think people would rather read about, than enjoy the paintings. 23 of NC Wyeth's, 4 from Frank Schoonover and only 3 from Howard Pyle!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2015
I remember reading a number of classic novels in high school and I always liked the ones illustrated by N.C. Wyeth. This book as many of his illustrations, along with those of other illustrators. It's a great addition to my coffee table library.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2013
N.C.Wyeth was one of the greatest Brandywine artists of his time. Romantic and narritive illustrations so amazing and incredible they'll take your breadth away. High quality reproductions. Great to study from and simply enjoy.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2015
This is one a the best books I've seen that shows the way the old masters of illustration worked. Pyle, Wyeth, Harvey Dunn, and others, are featured in this wonderful book. These men were the best of the best, in their time. I highly recommend it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2016
My Granddaughter was so excited to get this for her Birthday. She loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2015
Very interesting and beautifully published book; very happy to have it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2015
Beautifully presented book. I love the historical background of the origins of the school coupled with the gorgeous color plates by the artists. I highly recommend this to anyone who loves this group of artists.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2001
This book covers very well some of the most important people in American History. N.C. Wyeth,Howard Pyle, Dean Cornwell,Harvey Dunn, Frank Schoonover and Philip Goodwin have illustrated the turn of the 1800's to 1900's with the same spirited passion that bred our great country. It's this great passion that is given to the pictures that they created that seperates their work from photographs which are just taken. Looking at the Illustrations shows you that Pyle was successful in creating an American art which will always be a foundation for Illustrators to follow.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2001
Visions Of Adventure surveys the arts of N.C. Wyeth and the Brandywine artists, providing a lavish display packed with color plates and paintings by Pyle, Wyeth, Dunn, and others. Histories and backgrounds of each featured work accompany the fold-out and full-page illustrations and make for an excellent review. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2000
Incredible collection of paintings and the stories that go along with them. Colorful with spectacular detail of the famous paintings of a time gone by. Amazing how the author was able to put together a collection of this magnitude. A must have for anyone who appreciates art. It is perfect as a gift to that special person you care about.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse