Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 116 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 123 reviews
on November 7, 2012
Dr. Sang H. Kim is quite simply brilliant. All of his writing is easily understandable and backed by a huge amount of research and care. You can tell that when you read his work. This book is important to read if you are doing ANY training in martial arts. The simple reason for that is: You never want to hurt someone carelessly after you learn such things. Martial Arts are a precision based science like any other sort of science! I am no sort of expert, for every single person that is different! I am sure of that. Dr. Kim is is a brilliant author. I am happy to have read any of his work in my lifetime. Before you venture toward learning anything in martial arts. Learn the mindset first: Do not hurt anyone; life is not about hurting other people. It is about helping them where you can; it is about lending a caring hand. The open palm is always greater than the closed fist.
A++
A tremendous thank you to Dr. Kim!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2017
Has very good illustrations, showing detail of the vital points.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2017
Great book- Kim is an expert and wrote a great book, learned a lot, easy to use info for practice drills.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2014
This book isn't for beginners, and frankly, I don't think it's for people who just want to fight, either. This is a technical book that talks about many of the "vital points" on the human body and how those points can affect parts of the body or the body as a whole. Personally, this book is very helpful, because most of my training is not for sport fighting. This book is a fantastic resource for me to supplement my study of human anatomy and physiology in the context of self-defense. Most of this information won't be useful for people who train to sport fight, because much of what the author writes about comes from real life experience in life and death situations, and there are many rules in sport fighting designed to keep people from experiencing these very things.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2016
This is a no kidding doctor's hand book to Vital points. Yes there are hundreds of moves in the book but there is a ton of science to back up why you do what you do. Great book but it is designed around the educated warrior, its not enough to know the moves you have to know the science and this book has both. I have not doubt that when I master some of the moves I will be able to protect myself and know how I'm protecting myself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2017
Great book as well as his others!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2012
Meticulous big book of Vital Point Strikes and kicks Lots of details, lots of diagrams, with some vital points I never knew I had; and I've read quite a few of vital point/dim mak info!
Lethal points, paralyzing points, tactical points, pain tolerance factors, pain threshold, vital point theories, meridians, vessels, Ki theory, the nervous system, and so much more!!

He goes into Pain and relexes, fear of pain,fighting fundamentals, fighting zones and ranges, strategy vs. tactics, types of fists, the 12 major plexus, vital points on the entire body! Plus Vital Point applications, drills, offense and defense on grappling, defense on a knife attack, gun defense applications, meridian charts and terms, just a wheelbarrow full of information! ALL FOR less than $20.00! GET it!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2014
This book goes into detail about the body's pressure points. This book is helpful to anyone studying martial arts looking to improve their odds in a fight and understand more about targeted point striking
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2013
Obviously a translation by someone who was not a native English speaker. It covered some of what I was looking for but I found it somewhat hard to follow and did not like the way the material was presented.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2016
I've been researching pressure points for months now, and have not been able to find a book that meets my needs: until now. Not only is the author thorough in explanation, but straight forward in application. He provides an excellent description on the theories of using pressure points in combat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse