Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Viva La Tristeza
Amazon Vehicles Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
11
5 star
91%
4 star
9%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$14.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

HALL OF FAMEon April 5, 2004
Around the corner from the arrival of Pedro Almodovar's latest movie "La Mala Educacion" (The Bad Education), the time seems appropriate to revisit the music that accompanied him during the writing of "Talk to Her", contained in this compilation appropriately titled "Viva La Tristeza" (Long Live Sadness).
From the opening bars of Shirley Horn's infinitely sad opener ("because love is the saddest thing when it goes away..."), [hypnotic] tunes blend with outright melancholic music segments in many different languages and an assortment of musical styles resulting in an overall eclectic album that borders a sad cliff without ever walking over. How else can you cheer for sadness? Only music capable of feeding Almodovar's muses can take on such a delicate task.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2006
What more can I add to what people have already said about this album?

NOTHING really.

Overall an excellent selection of music. Likely a must for any audio collection ... and perhaps a source of inspiration for those who can trully sink into this compilation.

I'm very glad to have gotten it, despite hoping to get the actual soundtrack instead. No regrets whatsoever!

I will eventually also get the soundtrack also; too much beautiful music there too.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2008
Nobody else could put together in a compilation to Nina Simone, Goldfrapp, Chavela Vargas and Jimmy Scott, like Almodovar did.
Everytime you watch one of his movies you perceive that sensibility that involves each one of his projects.
This is not the exception...properly called VIVA LA TRISTEZA, it makes you feel sad...but pleasantly sad! Listening to Jimmy Scott singing that wonderful version of Nothing Compares 2 U is a feast!
He chose the best of the best for those reflexive moments each human being needs (sitting on your favourite couch, drinking a hot tea or a glass of wine, putting ideas in order, getting strength from somewhere...) I really loved this compilation, and hope each one of you have this album. Is a great gift for your soul
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2006
Pedro the Libra always has good music in his films, and now he's released of compilation of what he listen to while writing the films. Why not? I love Pedro's mind, and there is some standout stuff here! Just to have new copies of Goldfrapp's "Paper Bag" and Nina Simone's rollicking "My Way" is worth the purchase.

Rarely do I get compilations (I mean, I can make most of them better), but this one is fab.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2006
Great album, but Jimmy Scott's version of "nothing compares 2 u" is in my opinion the best version of the song and my favorite. Unfortunately my girlfriend caught me listening and I wasn't holding any tears back. She started to cry as well. It's one of the few songs that can make me cry, feeling happy and sad at the same time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2004
A rare collection of songs with an interesting story behind. (Director Pedro Almodovar used the songs as inspiration while writing Talk to Her). Two songs should be mentioned: Nothing Compares 2 U song by Jimmy Scott and Qualsevol Nit Pot Sortir el Sol. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2013
Senor Almodovar knows how to choose music! I am so happy I bought this! Thanks for putting this out! Gracias
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2014
Excellent CD. Very good sound quality. Various moods. A must have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2004
This is a great collection of low key songs. A good variety without poor selections or duds.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2014
Perfect !!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here