Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Vivitar High Definition Digital Video Camcorder - Styles and Colors May Vary (DVR508HD) (Discontinued by Manufacturer)
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 18, 2012
Here is what you need to know before buying this item (sorry about the length of this review, but some things listed here may help you with ANY camera purchase). Before purchasing this camera I read all the reviews. As you can see they range from awful to excellent. Most of the poor ratings have to do with expectations. Points to consider with this camera: 1. THIS IS NOT MEANT TO BE A HIGH-QUALITY CAMERA! The camera has a fixed-focus (that means not auto). Think disposable photo camera. 2. ALL HANDHELD VIDEO CAMERAS ARE VERY EASY TO BREAK. The screens, in particular, are very easy to snap off and this camera is no exception. In fact, this camera is even easier to break than most, because its sole purpose for construction was cost-reduction to make a cheap camcorder available no matter what the quality. 3. THE TERM "HD" DOESN'T MEAN HIGH-QUALITY PICTURE!!! This is something most people don't seem to know. The resolution of a camera is not the sole factor that determines the quality of a picture. The lens construction (plastic vs. glass, precision-made vs. poorly made, etc.) and the chip size (no matter (the bigger the chip, the more picture data it is picking up for each frame) are two other HUGE factors determining picture quality. Think of your cameras when the lens is dirty, they don't take the best pictures. Well, if the lens is not the best, the picture will not be the best. FINAL REVIEW: I bought this camera for my daughter, who is 5. I didn't want her using my cameras worth thousands of dollars, and they are all too large for her to use anyways. For $50 this was an excellent purchase. She is very gentle on equipment (I don't know if I would have bought it if she was a highly energetic boy), so I don't have to worry about it being broken. It yields fairly decent video quality for the price. Quite a few people mentioned it did not work well in low-light, but that goes for most cameras. Cameras that people think work well in low-light are typically boosting the video signal artificially to get that picture, but you can do that in post-production after you have shot the video. I found that at night with our house's normal lighting, the picture was still fairly decent. I would NEVER use this as my main camera to document family gatherings and such, but for my daughter to get experience shooting and editing video without me having to worry about her breaking something that was really expensive, this is great!!!
99 comments| 724 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2012
Got this as a gift and did not expect much from it. However, I have been surprised that is does a good job and doesn't run the batteries dead in no time, as I had expected it to. It is not much use inside, in a dark area or at night... and the so-called 'light' that is included is a poor joke (it does work if you are using it for something up close, like when I filmed my pet in the middle of a dream, apparently dreaming it was in a fight to the death with 12 Grizzly bears, and did not want to flick on the overhead light and wake it up).
The HD quality is pretty good but seems to lag just a little (when filming up close or LARGE items - should be ok for sports where players are farther off, altho I have not personally tested this) so I prefer to keep it on a little lower setting, which really does not seem to affect the quality at all.
Due to the conflicting specifications as to it taking either a 4GB or 16GB SD card max (online says 4 and the manual says 16) I finally called the Vivitar service center and they confirmed the 16GB size is the correct maximum size.
Since a 4GB card shows it will hold 25 minutes and 28 seconds of HD video, a 16GB card should get me well past 2 hours of recording time in a lower quality mode.
33 comments| 107 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2010
I bought this as an early Christmas present for my brother who is not in the technology ages. He loves it and is able to use it with ease. It is small enough to take everywhere but not too small that it is hard for him to use. He really likes how easy it is to use the video and camera, download on the computer and share with everyone. The price was an excellent deal for the perks it has. It came with everything needed to record and use on the computer. The screen is big enough to see what you are recording and again, with the screen open it is not too big that it is uncomfortable to use.
11 comment| 128 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2013
Got what I paid for and expected to get . Excellent value for the price. Its not a 300 dollar camera but does a fine job of what its supposed to do. Delivered on time, happy all around.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2013
My children love this camcorder. No more asking for Mom's phone or other expensive devices mom has... We'll always bring along this camera whenever we attend any parties, celebrations with them, so they have their own easy to use lower quality, fairly priced product. Well worth investment for me.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2011
This is my 1st time buying camcorder, this one is easy to use and very light weight. You just need very bright lighting while recording.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2013
I thought it was great for the price. Small,and compact. Great to take outdoors for hiking pictures. now i can send pics to family and friends.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2011
this is a neat little camera. not only can you make little videos,
but you can take still pics. cool. if your computer is able, you
can also put the memory card in, and check out your work. after
you download or check out the dvd included, which explains every
thing you need to know about the "vivitar dvr508". cool camera.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2015
Below some images I got of the camera all over the place. This camcorder that is slick and very light weight. Its the lightest camera I own for sure and the smallest, and with that being said it takes wonderful video’s, pictures, and recordings. Recordings with it’s own setting to. It took me a while to figure it out but you just tap the upper right corner to change the settings of the 3 super easy and changes well. Each option which has loads of settings or day and night, color options, and so many more. This little baby is jammed packed with so much options.So since these 6 are the first area’s on the camera will start with them. The blue digital recorder thats super light weight and small, that will slip right into the jeans pocket of your pants which is awesome for teens who love to take pictures or movies. This is very simple and easy to start up. Once you open the lid where the screen is, it will turn on right away once the battery is placed. If you close the lid, it will stay on as idle tell you power off. The set up is quick, took me like 5 minutes maybe. The screen will flip all the way around for taking self pics and video’s much easier, it also turns to the side and the back as well. The batter area is small and it just pops into the square, make sure to leave the ribbon out for easy access out. I also like the mirror effect once the pieces are attached, as you can do quick face pamper before you take videos’ or pics. With all that said, super easy to use, powers on itself, you power it off, and everything is touch screen, you can also use a stylus if like, and will fit fine in the holder! This area will give you the in details of where plugs go, how thin it is, and how cool the screen turns. As you can see by the first 3 how the screen has 3 options. Then with picture number 4 you can spot where the HD and AV for the TV and other fun options. Picture number 4 is where the memory card goes and it can be used on a tripod to! Then lastly the case which gets you the idea on how thin this baby is. So all in all, this tiny little digital recorder is really sweet, it has a great amount of mega pixels 16.5 which you can change to whatever one you like. HD, face detection, and touch screen for great pictures. The zoom in and out is quick and responsive. There is 2 area’s that will start the recording, one which does pictures and video, then its own. Be sure to enter the giveaway below for a chance to win a iTwist camera which the screen moves in directions!
review image review image
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2013
People say it is cheap and will break in 30seconds because it is for thirty five bucks. But what do you expect it is Amazon, they have low price, but it lasts for a extremely long time. Really good for sports like football and lacrosse.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 65 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here