Kindle Price: $2.99

Save $11.96 (80%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group. Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Single copy
(Sent by Amazon)
Amazon emails the eBook to a recipient on your behalf.
Learn more

Multiple copies
(Send on your own)
You send redemption links to your recipients.
Learn more


These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity:
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Kindle App Ad
Voices Under Berlin: The Tale of a Monterey Mary by [Hill, T.H.E.]

Voices Under Berlin: The Tale of a Monterey Mary Kindle Edition

4.1 out of 5 stars 38 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$2.99

Kindle Feature Spotlight

CLOSE

Length: 314 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.

Editorial Reviews

Review

Throughout the Cold War, the divided city of Berlin was the epicenter of spy films and literature, especially in the hands of masters like John Le Carré and Len Deighton. For decades, we saw and read about Western agents sneaking in and Eastern defectors sneaking out of East Berlin--over, under, and through the most iconic symbol of the times--the Berlin Wall.

But T.H.E. Hill's new 2008 "Voices Under Berlin: The Tale of a Monterey Mary" has nothing to do with such spy vs. spy duels in Germany. Instead, his subject is the long-neglected Berlin Tunnel of the 1950s and the cryptographers, linguists, and analysts sifting through intercepted intelligence from East Germany to the masters in Moscow. Better--Voices Under Berlin is, in fact, perhaps the funniest spy book ever written. It's not a parody or satire of the 007 mythos nor is it a continuation of themes in the novels by the likes of Graham Greene or Eric Ambler poking fun at the ineptitude of clandestine services. Still, in the tradition of Greene and Ambler, Voices Under Berlin contains many literate qualities that make it a work of special consideration, worthy of an audience much broader than that of espionage enthusiasts or those interested in Cold War history.

--Dr. Wesley Britton, author of "Spy Television", "Beyond Bond: Spies in Fiction and Film", and "Onscreen and Undercover: The Ultimate Book of Movie Espionage", writing at SpyWise.net

The Winner of Five Book Awards

2009 PODBRAM Award for "Best Historical Concept"
"Puss Reboots" book blog: Top 10 List of Books Reviewed in 2009
Hollywood Book Festival Award
Branson Stars & Flags Book Award
Military Writers' Society Book of the Month --Voicesunderberlin.com (added by author)

Review

"Voices was a treat to read because it accurately, amusingly, and respectfully captures--as never before was so well done--the carefree yet dedicated attitude of U.S. military intelligence linguists. With humor, "Voices" describes how intelligence folks successfully and honorably worked in Berlin, as they did worldwide, to defeat the Soviets in the Cold War."

Product details

  • File Size: 1885 KB
  • Print Length: 314 pages
  • Publication Date: January 31, 2008
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B004C056HG
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #834,180 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer Reviews

Top customer reviews

August 24, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
August 30, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
September 11, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
February 1, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
January 20, 2013
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
June 23, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
December 31, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
December 12, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Voices Under Berlin: The Tale of a Monterey Mary
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Voices Under Berlin: The Tale of a Monterey Mary

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?