Buy New
& FREE Shipping. Details
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
Vol. 2-Earle Brown Contem... has been added to your Cart

Ship to:
To see addresses, please
Please enter a valid US zip code.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Vol. 2-Earle Brown Contemporary Sound Series

Audio CD | Import, Box Set

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Box set, Import, December 8, 2009
"Please retry"
$22.74 $29.52

Garth Brooks Sweepstakes
Stream Garth Brooks for a chance to meet him. Listen Now.
$26.29 & FREE Shipping. Details Only 2 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.

Frequently bought together

  • Vol. 2-Earle Brown Contemporary Sound Series
  • +
  • Contemporary Sound Series, Vol. 1
Total price: $58.77
Buy the selected items together

Editorial Reviews

Recorded between 1960 and 1973, the original eighteen LPs that comprise Earle Brown's lengendary Contemporary Sound Series have been highly sought after in the secondary market since 1978 when they were discontinued. These rare and historically important recordings of international avant-garde music have been carefully digitized and remastered by the Earle Brown Music Foundation. Volume two includes music by Nono (Polifonica-Monodia-Ritmica), Bruno Maderna (Serenata No. 2), Luciano Berio (Differences) Peter Maxwell Davies (Antechrist), Harrison Birtwistle (Ring a Dumb Carillon), David Bedford (Come In Here Child), Richard Orton (Cycle for 2 or 4 Players), Morton Feldman (Durations I-IV) and Earle Brown (Music for Violin, Cello and Piano, and Hodograph I).

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Polifonica - Monodia - Ritmica, for 6 instruments and percussion (2 versions)
  2. Serenata No 2 for 11 instruments
  3. Différences, for flute, clarinet, harp, viola, cello & tape

Disc: 2

  1. Antechrist, for instrumental ensemble, J. 72
  2. Ring a Dumb Carillon, for soprano, clarinet & percussion
  3. Come In Here Child, for soprano & amplified piano
  4. Cycle for 2 or 4 Players, for melody and chord instruments in pairs, Op. 26

Disc: 3

  1. Durations 1, for alto flute, piano, violin & cello
  2. Durations 2, for cello & piano
  3. Durations 3, for tuba, violin & piano
  4. Durations 4, for violin, cello & vibraphone
  5. Music for violin, cello & piano
  6. Music for Cello & Piano
  7. Hodograph 1, Version 1

Product details

  • Orchestra: The English Chamber Orchestra, The Pierrot Players
  • Conductor: Berio, Maderna, Sir Peter Maxwell Davies
  • Composer: David Bedford, Luciano Berio, Sir Harrison Birtwistle
  • Audio CD (December 8, 2009)
  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Format: Box set, Import
  • Note on Boxed Sets: During shipping, discs in boxed sets occasionally become dislodged without damage. Please examine and play these discs. If you are not completely satisfied, we'll refund or replace your purchase.
  • Label: Wergo
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #541,115 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Amazon's David Bedford Store

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers
See all verified purchase reviews

Top Customer Reviews

on April 25, 2013
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Vol. 2-Earle Brown Contemporary Sound Series
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Vol. 2-Earle Brown Contemporary Sound Series

Look for similar items by category

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: matthew good