Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 19 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 25 reviews
on August 5, 2016
The only complaint I have with this novel is that EVERY woman sleeps her way to the top. Every single one. It doesn't matter if they are also brilliant, in order to be in this novel a woman must use her sexuality as a weapon. It gets really ridiculous after a while. Jo has become some sort of insane femme fatale who sleeps around to buy the loyalty of her colleagues, the Vietnamese PR director sleeps her way to the top of the corporate ladder, etc. It's as if all these women are is their sexuality. I don't mind if characters do this on occasion, but I'm only about 50 pages into the book and it's already become obnoxious as all hell.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2015
The voyager series is one of my favorite story lines. But be aware that this electronic version is missing a chapter from the original paperback edition.

The missing chapter does not really affect the overall storyline as it is chapter 3 or 4 that is missing. After Stoner awakes and while he is being evaluated in Hawaii there is a point where he decides to test his electronic manipulation abilities and escapes from the compound he is being held in to spend a short time on the beach before returning to the compound. In the following chapter the characters speak of an electronic anomaly the night before where they believed someone was trying to gain access to the facility. With the paperback version it makes sense but in this electronic version that comment is completely out of context since the chapter is missing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2016
I liked the original adventure story, and this one is more philosophical about nature of man, and causes of life situations. This is a good story.
I did have a lot of problems with the formatting. In the first book, there were several quotes obviously separated from the story. This edition, I think had those as well, but were not set apart, nor attributed. There were also blanks lines between paragraphs missing, and several grammatical errors, including multiple spellings of character names, one in particular.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2016
Ben Bova is a true master of using scientifically correct fiction to teach us about the human experience and what we should dream to accomplish. It had been years since I read any of his works, I have rated much lesser books and authors five stars when they truly are only storytellers, not master visionaries. These two books, parts 1 and 2, should be read by anyone who cares about humanity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2014
Ben Bova's Voyagers II is a sequel to Voyagers I (obviously). The series seems divided amongst readers in terms of ratings and one can only attribute this to the appeal of the story's plot to the reader and whether the reader is an ardent SF fan.

The main criticism that I have read is that the series' plots are very slow and sometimes boring; however, I did not find this to be the case at all. There are lots of twists and turns in the plot which will catch you by surprise sometimes. All in all, I think that the series of Voyager I and II are great and I am about mid-way thru Voyager III which is equally as good as the first books in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2016
Very mysterious and thought provoking story line, interesting characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2016
Suspend your thinking inside the box. This novel, which is a continuation of the first Voyagers, moves quickly into futuristic sci-fi. The characters are the same but the time frame and the technology have taken a quantum leap forward. Typically Ben Bova in concept and execution.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2016
Voyagers 2 by Ben Bova is not a new book, but is an example of a novel that remains fresh with a contemporary feel to the events described on the world's stage from the perspective of military conflicts, technology, and sociological/national trends that just might occur.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2015
Great concept and exciting characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2017
Not his usual story but it would make an interesting movie and has plenty of twists and a hint of romance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse