Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide $54.99 for a limited time only Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno



on November 4, 2017
One of my favorite Star Trek novels of all time. Spock and Saavik are drawn into intrigue on Romulus. We learn the fate of the female Romulan commander from "The Enterprise Incident" and meet some intriguing new Romulan characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 2, 1999
From THE NEW YORK SUNDAY POST (August 1, 1999)
Science Fiction reviewed by Todd Seavey
"Half the science-fiction books out there these days seem to be cookie-cutter volumes in an ongoing series. And it's usually best to avoid these assembly-line products, but VULCAN'S HEART, by Josepha Sherman and Susan Shwartz, is an exception.
"A new entry in the massive line of STAR TREK novels, it links scattered elements of the series' mythos into a new story that answers some old questions for views of the show and movies.
"The book begins with Spock's wedding, revealing the bride as none other than Saavik, the half-Vulcan, half-Romulan lieutenant from STAR TREK moves II-IV. Attending the wedding is a young Captain [sic] Picard who encounters the bride and groom again decades later when they're despatched to the Romulan Star Empire on a secret peace mission.
"There are lots of fan-pleasing moments: we see Spock confirming for the first time that the Vulcans and Romulans are two halves of the same race, and revisit an attractive Romulan commander from a 1968 episode. We even see the starship ENTERPRISE-C in its final battle.
"Sherman and Shwartz smoothly connect the dots between bits of the STAR TREK universe that have always deserved closer attention. This book should be a great relief to fans now that STAR TREK: DEEP SPACE 9 has gone off the air."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 10, 2016
great story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 15, 2002
To say the very least, Star Trek Vulcan's Heart is one of the best Star Trek novels to date! We have a betrothal between Ambassador Spock and Commander Saavik. Attended by a great many dignitaries and a young Lieutenant Picard. Shoot forward in time, and Spock is well into his research into unification. Spock receives a communiqué from Commander Charbonek, (the unnamed Romulan to whom he more or less seduced while he and Captain Kirk stole the Romulan cloaking device in the TOS episode). She warns him of trouble in the empire and is seeking his assistance. What entails after that is clearly one of the best Star Trek novels you'll ever read. It includes, the Romulan Emperor; the Romulan Praetor; Ruinek from Vulcan's Forge; Captain Picard in charge of the USS Stargazer; the Enterprise C commanded by Captain Garrett; the previously unwritten story about Lieutenant Tasha Yar and what happened to her after the events of "Yesterday's Enterprise; and a great many other people and tie ins that I'll leave to you the reader. Hopefully we will be seeing a whole lot more novels by this writing team. Thank you very much to the authors for this. The audio book is extremely well done as well, read by Tim Russ (Lt. Tuvok).
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 8, 1999
This novel moves along the characters of Spock and Saavik into a wonderful new direction instead of stagnating them as they were last seen on the screen. Blended in well are old favorites such as the Romulan Commander in the Enterprise Incident and a younger Jean-Luc Picard who had remarked in the TV show that he had attended Ambassador Spock's wedding. Also further developed are events such as Enterprise-C's lone defense of the Klingon Post, Naridian III. I couldn't put the book down. It's the best Star Trek read I've had in a while. I hope the authors are planning a third book in this line which started with Vulcan's Forge.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 14, 2016
An entertaining book. I enjoyed the pace and the authors sense of humor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 13, 2014
Two people coming together in a bond that took years to understandably become clear was meant to be. The test of time and friendship. The danger they must face. Loyalties tested.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 17, 2016
If your a Spock fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 4, 2016
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 21, 2001
For all Star Trek and/or Spock and/or Vulcan enthusiasts this book is a must read. Provides delightful new detail on the planet Vulcan and it's traditions, including the ever-intriguing pon farr. Great Sarek info. And if this isn't enough, the story is great. In the Star Trek genre I give it 5 stars (this isn't classical lit but what fun). Kudos to Sherman and Shwartz who also wrote Vulcan's Forge. More, more . . .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse