Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Sold by momox Shop
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Quality checked pre-owned articles. Media article in good condition, may show traces of usage.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Wagner: The Flying Dutchman/Der Fliegende Hollander

4.2 out of 5 stars 4 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, October 25, 1990
$29.44 $8.09

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Editorial Reviews

The Flying Dutchman is one of the most accessible of Wagner's works, and though it is the first of his operas that earned a permanent place in the repertory, it still possesses many aspects of conventional operatic practice, as well as a Weberian leitmotiv structure much simpler than that exhibited in Wagner's music after Tristan. Surprisingly, despite its accessibility, recordings of the work that are not deficient on technical or vocal or musical grounds seem to be in comparatively short supply. An exception is this classic CSO-Solti effort dating from the late '70s, where the sound is reasonably up to date, and the casting ranges from good to excellent. Of all recordings of this Wagnerian milestone, Solti's interpertation of this score still seems most authoritative. --Christian C. Rix

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Ov - Chicago SO/Sir Gerog Soltii
  2. Act I: Hohoje! Hojoje! Hallojo! Ho!/Kein Zweifel! Sieben Meilen fort - Chicago Sym Chor/Martti Talvela
  3. Act I: Mit Gewitter und Sturm aus fernem Meer - WErner Krenn
  4. Act I: Die Frist ist um/Wie oft in meeres Tiefsten Schlund/Dich frage ich, gepriesner Engel... - Norman Bailey
  5. Act I: He! Holla! Steuermann! - Martti Talvera
  6. Act I: Durch Sturm und bosen Wind verschlagen - Norman Bailey
  7. Act I: Wie? Hort' ich recht?/Sudwind! Sudwind! - Martti Talvera
  8. Act I: Mit Gewitter und Sturm aus fernem Meer - Chicago Sym Chor/Margaret Hillis
  9. Act II: Summ und brumm, du gutes Radchen - Chicago Sym Chor/Margaret Hillis
  10. Act II: Du boses Kind, wenn du nicht spinnst - Isola Jones
  11. Act II: Johohoe! Traft ihr das Schiff im Meere an! - Janis Martin

Disc: 2

  1. Act II: Ach! Wo weilt sie - Chicago Sym Chor/Margaret Hillis
  2. Act II: Senta! Senta! Willst du mich verderben? - Rene Kollo
  3. Act II: Bleib, Senta! Bleib nur einen Augenblick!/Auf hohem Felsen lag ich traumend - Rene Kollo
  4. Act II: Mein Kind, du sieht mich aif der Schwelle... - Martti Talvera
  5. Act II: Mogst du, mein Kind, den fremden Mann willkommen heissen - Martti Talvera
  6. Act II: Wie aus der Ferne langst vergang' ner Zeiten/Wirst du des Vaters Wahl nicht schelten?... - Norman Bailey
  7. Act II: Verzeiht! Mein Volk halt draussen sich nicht mehr - Martti Talvera
  8. Act II: Orch Transition - Chicago SO/Sir Georg Solti
  9. Act III: Steuermann, lass die Wacht! - Chicago Sym Chor/Margaret Hillis
  10. Act III: Johohohe! Johohohoe! Hoe! Hoe! - Chicago Sym Chor/Margaret Hillis
  11. Act III: Was muss ich horen, Gott, was muss ich sehen! - Rene Kollo
  12. Act III: Willst jenes Tags du nicht dich mehr entsinnen - Rene Kollo
  13. Act III: Verloren! Ach, verloren! Ewig verlornes Heil! - Norman Bailey
  14. Act III: Erfahre das Geschick, vor dem ich dich bewahr'! - Norman Bailey
  15. Act III: Du kennst mich nicht, du ahnst nicht, wer ich bin! - Norman Bailey

Product details

  • Orchestra: Chicago Symphony Orchestra & Chorus
  • Conductor: Sir Georg Solti
  • Audio CD (October 25, 1990)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Polygram Records
  • ASIN: B0000041QK
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars 4 customer reviews
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #355,714 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Customer Reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 4 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

July 2, 2004
Format: Audio CD
Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
December 10, 2015
Format: Audio CD
Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
January 19, 2007
Format: Audio CD
Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
April 10, 2008
Format: Audio CD
Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse