Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Waiting For Time
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Britney Spears Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer power_s3 power_s3 power_s3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports STEM

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
12
Format: Audio Cassette|Change
Price:$84.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 14, 2001
This second novel by Bernice Morgan is one of those wonderful stories that you just can't put down. It is her second installment to the saga of the Andrews family who settle on a bleak fishing outpost on the coast of Newfoundland in the early 1800's. Her characters are so rich, and the historical times so well represented that you feel yourself disappear into the book. I can't recommend this book highly enough! Just be sure you read her first installment, Random Passage, first.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2001
Waiting For Time is the sequel to Random Passage. It continues the saga of the inhabitants of Cape Random. The times have changed but the only difference is the inhabitants - all of which have grown, matured and had their own families.
It also tells the story of today's Newfoundland -a place where the past overshadows the present and shapes the future.
This is the story of lonley, unplanned journeys, of courage and pride, of loss that must be enduredagain and again until we understand the nature of the path we taken and the place at which we have arrived.
This is definitley one book that you won't want to put down.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2001
Waiting For Time is the sequel to Random Passage. It continues the saga of the inhabitants of Cape Random. The times have changed but the only difference is the inhabitants - all of which have grown, matured and had their own families.
It also tells the story of today's Newfoundland -a place where the past overshadows the present and shapes the future.
This is the story of lonely, unplanned journeys, of courage and pride, of loss that must be enduredagain and again until we understand the nature of the path we taken and the place at which we have arrived.
This is definitley one book that you won't want to put down.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2008
This is a sequel to Ms. Morgan's successful novel Random Passage, which was also published under the name Cape Random. The story begins in the 1980s in Ottawa and follows Lavinia Andrews, a descendant of the Cape Random Andrews family, who is assigned to a government middle-management position in St. John's, Newfoundland. In St. John's Archives, Lavinia ("Lav") comes across the journal kept by her namesake 150 years earlier. Since the time that we last saw the journal in Random Passage, it has been supplemented by the comments of Mary Bundle, one of the main characters in the earlier book. The first and last parts of the present book tell a story of the demise of Newfoundland's fishing industry in the 1980's. Sandwiched between those two parts is Mary Bundle's narrative that continues the tale of the original settlers of the cape.

Like many other sequels, Waiting for Time fails to achieve the level of the original work. The destruction of cod fishing is given short shrift. There is precious little detail. The crisis is presented in "he said-she said" fashion in the first part of the book; and is presented as a fait accompli at the end. Whereas the ending of Random Passage left the future of the family to the imagination of the reader, Waiting for Time fills in the blanks. It is almost as though the author originally intended to follow the cape families for two centuries but was persuaded that the latter material weakened and unduly lengthened the novel. Publishing that material as a separate novel does not cure the weakness. The unexpected twists and turns that were so interesting in Random Passage now appear like parts of a shallow soap opera.

About halfway through the book, I was tempted to set it aside and start another novel; but I had invested too much time in it. It didn't get any better.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2011
Received this book on time and in the condition promised. Very pleased. The book is a Christmas gift so I have not read it yet. This is the sequel to Random Passage so I am excited to read. We visited the site where the movie was made and Newfoundland is still very isolated and beautiful. Author is true to what life was like during the cod fishing era in Newfoundland.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2008
I loved this book because I love books about people's lives that are earthy and real and deal with hard times. Please read Random Passage first by the same author. The two books together are wonderful and are connected historically. If you only read Random Passage you will be like a person that has a sip of water and dying of thirst. A lot of unanswered questions that this book ties up.

If you ever read the book The Shipping News I think you will like this book also. But read Random Passage first. Please.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2011
While not as good in my opinion as Random Passage, Morgan still manages to deliver a stellar sequel that is worth the read.

This sequel brings us up to par on the lives of the inhabitants of Cape Random, and as the years pass they adapt with the changing times.

Again, this isn't one to be missed by fans of great historical fiction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2008
We travelled to Newfoundland two years ago on a six week road trip, and this book completed the trip after reading Random Passages, also by the same author. Growing up in Canada, Newfoundland was allways a magical "other country" to me (although now it is a province of Canada) and these stories truly enhanced that feeling!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2013
Published in Canada. I could not find this out of print book anywhere else. This sequel to Random Passage is a great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2015
Interesting book on the history of Newfoundland.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here