Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Buy Used
$7.02
FREE Shipping on orders over $25.
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Unbeatable customer service, and we usually ship the same or next day. Over one million satisfied customers!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

A Walk in the Dark (Guido Guerrieri) Paperback – October 1, 2006

4.2 out of 5 stars 17 customer reviews
Book 2 of 5 in the Guido Guerrieri Series

See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback, October 1, 2006
$2.96 $0.01

Rage
Prosecutor Szacki has convicted many murderers. But soon he’ll understand why people kill. Learn More
click to open popover

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

Carofiglio is an anti-Mafia prosecutor in the southern Italian city of Bari, and maybe someday he'll write a novel with a main character who faces the same kinds of challenges as he does. Until then, we have this second book (after 2005's Involuntary Witness), a bestseller in Italy, starring Bari defense lawyer Guido Guerrieri, who could have just gotten off an Alitalia flight from the Land of Grisham or the Los Angeles of Michael Connelly's The Lincoln Lawyer. Guerrieri can't resist taking on a case no other lawyer will touch, that of Martina Fumai, who has accused her vicious ex-boyfriend, the son of a powerful judge, of assault. Colorful characters, unexpected plot twists and smooth, often sharp writing ("The best of Vietnamese New Wave.... The kind of music I love so much I can even listen to it for five minutes at a stretch") will keep readers turning the pages. (Oct.)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

From Booklist

A woman has accused her former lover of assault and battery, not to mention harassment and stalking. But because the man is the son of a powerful judge, the victim can't find a lawyer to take her case. Enter defense attorney Guido Guerrieri, who soon discovers that this seemingly hopeless (and potentially career--destroying) case is also a lot trickier and more dangerous than he had expected it to be. The second novel by Italian prosecutor Carofiglio, smoothly translated by Curtis, is breezy and witty but also dark and moody. The author's familiarity with the legal system allows him to play up its weaknesses, and Guerrieri, a man who values the rights of his clients above his own professional well-being, is an intelligent and sympathetic series lead. Readers bored with assembly-line American legal thrillers should welcome this latest Italian import with open arms. David Pitt
Copyright © American Library Association. All rights reserved
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

The latest book club pick from Oprah
"The Underground Railroad" by Colson Whitehead is a magnificent novel chronicling a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South. See more

Product Details

  • Series: Guido Guerrieri
  • Paperback: 215 pages
  • Publisher: Bitter Lemon Press; First Edition edition (October 1, 2006)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1904738176
  • ISBN-13: 978-1904738176
  • Product Dimensions: 5.1 x 0.6 x 7.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 7.8 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (17 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,014,907 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

By A Customer on October 4, 2006
Format: Paperback
A Walk in the Dark

Gianrico Carofiglio

Bitter Lemon, Oct 2006, $14.95

ISBN: 1904738176

In Bari, Italy, defense lawyer Avvocato Guido Guerrieri earns a living providing legal council to petty criminals; his business depends on returning customers as most of his clients are repeat offenders. However, for whatever reason deep in his pyche, Guido has a soft spot for the underdog especially abused females so at times he will take on impossible cases.

This is one of those times when Guerrieri turns champion because to his chagrin he is immediately attracted to Sister Claudia, director of Safe House, who asks him to help one of her volunteers now hiding at the shelter. The woman moved in with a wealthy Prince Charming who turned into an abusive beast. He beat her in public twice and in private several times. Because of his connections, the carabineri, the police and a judge deny the woman's plea for protection from his harming her. Two lawyers have said no, but Guerrieri agrees to take on the case of protecting the ex girlfriend Martina Fumai, Sistaer Claudia and the shelter from Ernesto Scaianatico, son of of a criminal appeals court judge. However, Guido will learn the hard way why his peers said no.

This terific legal thriller stars a fascinating protagonist who normally is indifferent and bumbling when it comes to his typical clients; however some cases fire up his inner gut turning him into a capable caring attorney and much more. Guido's two capers (see INVOLUNTARY WITNESS) are legal noirs as he struggles to insure his clients remain safe against powerful adversaries who use money and abuse of power to insure victory over justice. Gianrico Carofiglio provides a terific Italian thriller

Harriet Klausner
4 Comments 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This is tightly-plotted tale of underdog revenge with wonderful characters--Sister Claudia, please watch my back--in just 215 pages. I read it in a night, then re-read it a few days later to clear up some of the moral ambiguities, because everyone, even protagonist lawyer Guerrieri, has to work through some murk. I'm still thinking, but this is a police novel in the tradition of Simenon's Maigret novels and Duerrenmatt's The Judge and His Hangman. A terrific read.
Comment 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This Italian mystery features attorney Guido Guerrieri. A young nun comes to him to ask him to take the case of a young woman who has been assaulted and stalked by her former boyfriend, a physician and son of a high-rankiong judge. The attorney learns the horrifying details of the relationship and agrees to represent the young woman. Carofiglio writes with compassion of the attorney, his semi-live-in girlfriend, and the young victim and her friend and advocate, the nun. Don't be put off by the lurid cover. The novel is a compassionate analysis into child abuse, domestic abuse, and the Italian legal system. Highly recommended.

If you like this one, you should also try The Past Is a Foreign Country, the best in the series IMO.
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I am not talking about what takes place in this fascinating mystery novel but in the style and manner in which it was written. In his first novel, "Involuntary Witness," I felt that the procedural courtroom sections were not integrated well into the story and were almost an aside to the development of characters.

In this book nothing can be further from the truth and if truth be known the procedural part of the novel is its driving force. Almost any description of plot and characters would be a spoiler. With this in mind, the story is on the surface quite simple an abused woman brings charges against a stalking ex-boyfriend who is the son of a powerful local judge. Enough said.

It is the interaction of the characters and the unique personalities which compelled me to read this novel twice, albeit after a hiatus of a year. The girl's lawyer Guido Guerrieri, is his same old cynical, irreverent self but galvanized into action by the almost mystical influence of a most combative (in every sense) nun, Sister Claudia. The victim Martina Fumai has a story to tell, but as the only witness to her assaults, and a mental history, leaves much to be desired according to Guido. Assistant Public Prosecutor Alessandra Mantovani, is a stunningly attractive and formidable ally until she is transferred to Sicily. Guido's paramour, Margherita, is a counterbalance to him

Those are the main characters but what Carofiglio does in a complex fan dance with their emotions and histories deliciously tortures the reader until the last page. I was particularly pleased with the inserted past history of child abuse interjected into the novel. These small sections seemed to be a cheap literary conceit of psycho-babble until the end of the book when, like Saul on the road to Tarsus, Carofiglio showed me the light. A master doing a masterful job and you will never look at a nun in the same way.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This is the second book about Avvocato (attorney) Guido Guerrieri and is even better than the first ("Involuntary Witness"). In this book, Guerrieri again takes on an impossible case, that of a young woman, Martina, who is suing her former boyfriend, the son of a prominent and powerful judge, for assault, battery and stalking. No one else will touch the case but Guerrieri will give it his best because of his disdain for the "old boy network" that is at the heart of Italy's legal system and his genuine belief that someone needs to stand up for this girl. It is a riveting book that read quickly and smoothly with a very likable hero in Guerrieri. It didn't hurt that there was strong sexual tension between Guerrieri and the martial arts expert nun who was protecting Martina. There is also a foreshadowing of problems in Guerrieri's relationship with his lady love, Margherita.

This is an excellent second book and I have bought the next two books in the series for my Kindle. I look forward to many more books from this author.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews