Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Month Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New album by Luke Bryan Electronics Gift Guide Limited time offer Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TNF TNF TNF  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on July 19, 2014
Great talent, great songs, but it sounded like they recorded this off of their iphone from the 47th row.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 23, 2013
has all of his songs some are big hits and some are fillers but all are good good album great price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 11, 2010
This is a very good Fats Domino collection. The track selection, in my opinion, is better than the 1991 box. All tracks sound great except "Telling Lies". The master must have suffered some kind of damage. The version used here is the one with backing vocals from the 1963 album "Here He Comes Again". The original mono mixes of "What A Party" and "Dance With Mr. Domino" are used for this release. They were remixed for the 1991 release as were most tracks on that collection. The tracks on this collection appear to be the original mixes and are the "sped-up" versions as they were originally released by Imperial. The 1991 box tracks are not. There is an 18 track difference between this release and the 1991 box.

The 1991 box contains:
1. Little Bee
2. Boogie Woogie Baby
3. Careless Love
4. Don't Lie To Me
5. Domino Stomp (Twistin' The Stomp)
6. I Know
7. Set Me Free (The Twist Set Me Free)
8. Don't Deceive Me
9. Sailor Boy
10. Darktown Strutters' Ball
11. Lil' Liza Jane
12. Rockin' Bicycle
13. Did You Ever See A Dream Walking
14. Birds And Bees
15. Do You Know What It Means To Miss New Orleans
16. Stop The Clock
17. Hum Diddy Doo
18. Nothing New (Same Old Thing)

This box contains:
1. Detroit City Blues
2. Rockin' Chair
3. Reeling And Rocking
4. Poor, Poor Me
5. How Long
6. Something's Wrong
7. You Done Me Wrong
8. Thinking Of You
9. Young School Girl
10. Coqette
11. Before I Grow Too Old
12. You Always Hurt The One You Love
13. Rising Sun
14. Hold Hands
15. I've Been Calling
16. Won't You Come On Back
17. Trouble Blues
18. Goin' Home (1962 version)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 3, 2002
Fats Domino is one of the most important figures in the history of pop music, creating a large body of work with Imperial Records that remains some of the most ground-breaking, entertaining music ever recorded. A pioneer and master of New Orleans rhythm & blues and early rock n' roll, this box set is a great introduction to his work.
This box set replaces the 1991 box set, "They Call Me The Fat Man," and in some ways, it's superior, in others, it isn't. The packaging is certainly poorer: a sturdy, neat box with jewel cases is replaced by a digipak wallet, and the nice photo on the front is now a cartoonish, tracing of the same photo with a cartoonish logo (this would've been more appropriate on a Happy Meal). What makes this set better is the sound and track selection. All but 18 tracks from the 1991 box set are duplicated, and the 18 'replacements' are a little better overall, emphasizing rhythm & blues over pop. Furthermore, the sound is much better and completely remastered. The 1991 box set was very poor. Despite using good sources, poor remixing and processing (in some cases, it seems like they were going for a fake stereo effect where they were unable to do any remixing) sabotaged a lot of tracks. That's not the case for this box set.
There is a cheaper alternative in the recent 20-track best of, which is more suitable for casual fans and those on a stricter budget. For committed fans, the 8 CD Bear Family box set is the best (and better sound despite the age of the set), being both complete and expensive. There's also a few Ace CD's from the UK that collect all the singles up to the late 50's (therefore missing the latter day hits), also in better sound but without the sped-up sound that was applied after the mixing stage (the original records had this sped-up sound, but Fats doesn't seem to favor it). Depending on how much music you want and how much money you've got, any of these are great introductions to a living legend.
11 comment| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 6, 2016
a great collection!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 23, 2016
Great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 28, 2016
excellent and ther eall at the right speed, not like the first 93 box
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 21, 2016
I liked it very much I was very satisfied
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 17, 2007
you know, i love simplicity. i love fats domino's music because, to me, he had that "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" style. i love that type of stuff when it is good...............and this is beyond that and then some. i STRONGLY recommend this box set. it is actually worth all the hard-earned bucks that you will be spending.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 3, 2016
Would'nt buy again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse