Industrial Deals Beauty MagazinestoInspire STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 867 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 930 reviews
on July 16, 2012
Let me preface this review by saying:
I) This is one of the best purchases I ever made -- as other reviewers may have already said, the cheap price you pay (I paid $50 for mine) gets you a quality product, a rare commodity these days.
II) This item is solidly built and for its price, it has many good features: full rotation scan, e-mail and ftp capabilities, remote administration and much more.
III) Yes, installation does require you to have a bit of a working network knowledge -- if you know how to set up a home LAN or WLAN and configure a router, you probably wouldn't need the manual it came with as it is pretty much useless.
IV) You can go to Wansview.com, on the "Service and Support" menu, there's a "Download" link that you can click on to get to the full user manuals, documentations and software (firmwares, utilities, etc...).

With that said, the following are instructions on how to setup your IP camera with your LAN/WLAN using a Windows PC. Note that some steps were piggy backed off another reviewer (justChill) and I just did a little bit of refinement based on steps I took to set up my camera.

All the things you need are in the box. The software/driver CD that came with my camera does not work, this is a problem that other users also reported. So, if you're one of the unlucky ones to receive a useless CD, no worries, you can download some of these utilities from the Wansview website as I pointed out on step item IV above. As a matter of fact, you only need 1 utility to do the initial setup and once you connect the camera to your network, the camera itself has a user interface (UI) that includes settings which you can customize, such as e-mail and ftp uploads. The utility can be downloaded from the Wansview site and it's called "NCB Search_en.rar" However, I didn't use this utility because I followed justChill's link and ended up downloading and using a software called "Search IP Camera" from the site easyntech.com. The instructions below refer to the latter software (Search IP Camera).

Again, I can't stress enough that you must have at least a basic understanding of router and network terminology and configuration before proceeding; otherwise, STOP here, educate yourself or ask your geek buddy to help you.

1) Using the provided ethernet cable, connect your IP camera to your LAN or WLAN router via ethernet port at the back of the router, and plug in the power supply of the camera, also included. The camera's LED front light shall light up and the port where the ethernet cable is hooked in should be blinking, indicating your camera has been recognized by your network (LAN/WLAN).

2) Now go to your Windows PC (laptop/desktop) and run the software "Search IP Camera." Alternatively, you can use the one from Wansview but I did not use that so I won't provide instructions on that.

3) Search IP Camera has two options for configuration. The Wizard and Advance modes. The latter takes you directly to the screen where you can change the IP address and port of your camera. The default IP of your camera can be found on a sticker at the bottom of the camera and it should match the IP that this software detects. The admin account username and password are also on the sticker. Regardless which config option you chose, you will need to set the IP of your camera to match the first 3 segments of your subnet and the 4th segment is the number that will make your camera identifiable within your LAN/WLAN. For example, my WLAN's subnet is 192.168.1.1 up to 192.168.1.255. My camera's default IP is 192.168.0.1 SO I changed this to 192.168.1.3 because 192.168.1.2 is used by my laptop and the 3 is used by my TV.

4) After you set up your IP, set your port number. This is the port that will listen for signals and which relay those signals to the camera's IP. You can chose a number between 1 - 65535. Here's some more information on ports:

The Well Known Ports are those from 0 through 1023.
The Registered Ports are those from 1024 through 49151.
The Dynamic and/or Private Ports are those from 49152 through 65535.

Whatever port you chose, this is where your camera will listen for request.

5) Now, once you established your IP and port for the camera, click Apply and give the camera a few seconds to acknowledge the new settings.

You are done with configuring your camera's IP. Even if you disconnect your camera from the ethernet or turn the power off, it will retain this address and port. But if you have a Wireless network (WLAN), also known as Wi-Fi, do not disconnect it or unplug it just yet. You will need to set up the Wireless settings and you can do this using the camera's built-in UI.

6) Now for the good stuff: open your internet browser, using the address bar, go to your camera's IP and port. For example, if the IP address you assigned to your cam is 192.168.1.100 and port is 49500, you would type into the address bar the follwoing: 192.168.1.100:49500 and hit Enter or click GO.

7) The camera will now ask you for user credentials. Use the user account you found on the sticker at the bottom of the camera. I think the user name is admin and password is 123456

Click OK or Enter after you provided the required credentials.

8) You should now be in a web page that has a title "Device(xxxx)" and presents 3 modes you can use to view the camera and its settings. I used Mode 2 because it is compatible with any browser (IE, Firefox, Chrome and Safari, even on my iPhone). For the sake of this instruction, you can't go wrong with Mode 2 so click on it.

9) Your camera should now be active and the next page shall display your camera's viewing as well as 5 navigation options at the top: View, Network, Alarm, Advanced, Maintain.

a) VIEW- this option allows you to view your camera, rotate it and take snapshots.
b) NETWORK- allows you to configure network settings such as changing IP, wireless settings, DDNS and other network-related configuration
c) ALARM - this is where you will go to set alarm triggers and specify what you want the camera to do when an alarm occurs (email or ftp pictures, etc...). This section also allows you to set up a link between your camera and your alarm system, if you have one.
d) ADVANCE - this is where you will go to change the camera's default user and also add additional users. If you plan to access your camera via internet, I suggest you do change your default username and password to something more secured. In the advance section, you can also configure other cameras if you have additional and also other camera settings, like turning off the LED lights on the unit itself.
e)MAINTAIN - this option allows you to reset the camera to factory settings, upgrade firmware and change camera's date/time.

You can play around with all these features at your leisure. For now, keep reading IF you want to set up your camera wirelessly (Wi-Fi) and remotely accessible.

10) To configure the camera for Wi-Fi or wireless networks, click on the NETWORK link.

11) Then on options on the right side, click on Wireless Settings.

12) Click on Scan to scan for available wireless networks or if you know your SSID (wireless network name), manually type it in the SSID box.

13) Select the encryption method that your WLAN uses (mines is WEP).

14) For Authentication, if your encryption method is WEP, you can leave it at Open or chose Shared Key if your router's wireless settings is configured for this.

15) Enter your passphrase (network key) on the Key or Shared Key box.

16) Click Submit. The device shall reboot.

17) After reboot, you could now set your camera anywhere and you should be able to access it anywhere around your house so long as you're within range of your Wireless Network.

The following are steps I took to open my camera for internet access so that I can view it anywhere I go (mobile phone, work, friend's house, etc...). You will need either a static IP address given to you by your Internet Service Provider (ISP) or you can sign up for a DynDNS service (try noip.com --it's free). I periodically renew my dynamic IP address assigned by my ISP and I don't want to pay for DNS, I chose a 3rd option and may not work for everyone. The only reason why I chose to do the following is because I have been renewing my IP manually for security reasons and it has worked for me for other remote services I ran at home. So far it's been working and I'm able to access my cam anywhere.

Here's what I did (note that steps and screens will differ for other routers; therefore, since, I don't know what router you have, I will generalized these instructions):
A) I went into my router's administration page. You can do this by typing the IP address of your gateway on your browser's URL/address box. For example, my gateway IP is 192.168.1.1 which is the router's IP address.

B) The router asked for a username and password (this is from step 9d above), I provided them and hit ENTER. I'm IN.

C) Went to Port Forwarding (usually in Advance section) and created a Port Forwarding rule for the camera's IP address (192.168.1.4). I told the rule to forward all signals from and to port that I assigned to my camera earlier. Saved the rule.

D) Now, I went into the DMZ section where I can tell my router which IP in my LAN I can expose to the internet. I told it to expose the IP of my camera which is 192.168.1.4. If you're not familiar with DMZ, please research. But for a quick analogy, think of DMZ as the front yard of your house. Anything you put in the front yard is visible to everyone. Well if you configure your router for DMZ zone and told it to expose the IP of your camera, your camera will be visible via internet; but, though visible, will require you to enter the camera's user credentials when accessing via internet. That's why it is important that on step 9d, you create complex passwords for your camera users to prevent/minimized unauthorized access.

E) Now, to test this, get the IP address assigned to you by your ISP, usually found in router basic settings. This is an internet or public IP address.

F) Go to a computer that is not part of your network. Perhaps a mobile phone with internet access that does not connect to your wifi.

G) Launch an internet browser from that non-networked device. On the address bar of your mobile brower, type in the public IP address of your cam (found on step E) and a colon (:) plus the port number of the camera. For example: 255.255.255.255:49500 and hit ENTER

H) The camera shall now ask you to enter user credentials. Enter one of the users you configured in step 9d. VOILA!

Again these steps may not work for everyone.

Sleepy yet? We're almost done. To set up your camera to take pictures and e-mail them to you (there's also an FTP option but I didn't use it because I don't have an FTP server), follow these instructions:

Go to ALARM
a) Enable "Motion Detect Armed"
b) Click on "eMail Settings" to the right
c) Provide your smtp server address and if authentication is required, provide the username and password.

I have an old sbc yahoo e-mail account so I was able to use that to send from and to images that my camera takes when it detects motion. I just checked my e-mail and got about 50 e-mails just from it. My DOG triggered all of them. So make sure you adjust the motion sensitivity so that it doesn't react to everything (including light). The higher the sensitivity the more sensitive.

Finally, if you want to access your camera via your mobile devices, there's several apps out there that you can use to do this. Just search for IP Camera. The one I use is called LiveCams Pro and I bought it for $1.99.

Sorry if this was long, I was hoping to give some clear instructions to those that may need it, especially the ones that bashed the item because of poor setup instructions. It is really a BANG FOR YOUR BUCK and worth every penny.

Hope this helps somehow...
2929 comments| 201 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2011
The camera I got was branded EasyN, but the box art shown on the product info page matches the box I got. Some people claim they have Foscam, Apexis, Hootoo, etc. brand, but I think it's the same camera branded in different brands to accommodate different markets. I admit, it would HELP if you are tech savvy or at least have some knowledge in network configuration to expedite the set up and get the camera running, but that's not required. This camera isn't exactly the most fool-proof camera in the market, but its feature make up for it.

The instructions are readable, albeit choppy due to the poor Chinese-to-English translation. OK here's the deal. I'm going to write a lengthy semi-review, semi-how-to for this awesome IP camera seeing the need for an instruction for Mac users. First of all, I am a Mac user running on OS X 10.7.2 Lion and I got this bad boy up and running within an hour. For all you Mac users out there, you'll need to have temporary access to a Windows machine.

If you don't have a Windows machine, see UPDATE 4 at the end of this review - then follow steps 3 and forward. I'm writing this review under the presumption that the typical user has no knowledge of MAC access control list or WiFi DHCP client table from your router to set-up the camera it via WiFi. You need it to run the application that allows you to detect and configure the camera's IP. Unfortunately, this application is written for Windows only. But that's all you need a Windows machine for. Once you configure the camera's IP address to work with your LAN, then you can use the web interface and configure a whole sleuth of other options, including the alarm feature, FTP, Mail and other. So without adieu, let's do this!

I've taken screenshots to help accommodate the mini guide below. So check out the user-submitted images for 7+ images I've added for directions on how to proceed. The instruction is for connecting the camera to a LAN - I chose this route because my WiFi network is secured over several layers of security (Sonic Wall fire wall, MAC control, etc.) and it's just easier to get the cam up and running through the LAN.

0.) Connect your IP camera to your LAN via ethernet and plug in the power supply.

1.) Get access to a Windows machine. I dual-booted to Windows Vista via Boot Camp. Make sure this Windows machine has access to your LAN.

2.) Run the application with the file name, DevFind.exe - you can find it in the directory, /EasyN F2 series IP camera installation CD/software. My included install disc was a blank CD-R disc!!! so I had to download the CD content ZIP from the manufacturer's web site: "easyntech . com / ShowDownload . asp ? id = 34" you can download the manuals in PDF format from the site too).

3.) Run the DevFind.exe to locate your camera, then modify the camera's IP address so that it matches your LAN's IP range structure, subnet mask and gateway. The default IP address assigned to the camera should be indicated in a silver sticker located underneath the camera. The same sticker can also be found on the exterior of the box. Basically, the default IP should be something along the line of 192 . 168 . 1 . 126 and access port 81 (it could be different). Since my LAN's IP range structure is 192.168.0.x, I have assigned the camera an IP address of 192 . 168 . 0 . 155. I changed out the default port of 81 to 310. Understand me so far? Once you got that down, click on the "APPLY" button to make the changes.

4.) Click on the "OTHERS" tab under the Equipment Information field. Take note of the information located in the "MAC" field, it should be a 12 letter/number string of characters.

5.) If you have access controlled enabled in your router, then follow this step. If not, you can skip. What access control means is you only allow certain network devices permission to connect to your LAN. Even if the connecting client knows your WEP/WPA/WPA2 password, they still will not be able to connect to your Wi-Fi unless their device is registered to the access control list. The unique identifier of the network device is its MAC address. If you have this enabled, then add the camera's MAC address you've just jotted down in the previous step to your router's access control list. The convention should be XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX where X is a number or a character from the alphabet. So if your camera's MAC address is 00A8F700F341, enter it as 00:A8:F7:00:F3:41 Update and restart your router after entering. If you have the means to reserve IP address designation on your router, I would do so. Since I assigned the camera an IP address of 192 . 168 . 0 . 155, I would reserve this address on the router to the camera's MAC address so that this IP doesn't get reassigned by the DHCP to another network device by accident.

6.) You'll definitely need to port-forward your camera if you plan to remote view from outside. In your router setup, go to the "Port Forwarding" page - it's usually under "Advanced setup" or something similar. Since I assigned the camera a custom port of 310, I would enter the port range starting and ending at 310 to be forwarded to the camera's IP address of 192 . 168 . 0 . 155 .

7.) Next, you should be able to punch in the IP address and port number you've assigned to the camera as noted on step #3 onto your web browser and launch the web-based utility app e.g. 192 . 168 . 0 . 155 : 310. When you first try to access the camera through a web browser, it will ask you for a username and a password. This information is located underneath the camera and also on the box. It's usually "admin" for the username and a blank password, but double check your equipment.

8.) Select the viewing method; if you are using IE select the first link, if you're using Firefox, select the second link, etc.

9.) View your camera, control it, etc

10.) Click on the OPTIONS icon to access the web-based configuration app, or punch in 192 . 168 . 0 . 155 : 310 /admin2.htm to access it directly

11.) Configure all sorts of other goodies, such as FTP access, Email, alarm, DDNS, Alias, etc.

12.) If you want to view your camera from remote (i.e. outside of your home network), assuming you have a static IP, then you need to punch in your ISP assigned IP address, followed by your port. You can find out your ISP assigned address by going into your router and looking at the information located in the "basic setting" area. Thanks to daniel for pointing this out. If you have a dynamic IP address, then I recommend signing up for a dynamic DNS server, such as dyndns.org. Be sure to update the DDNS area of the web utility with the appropriate login credential to your dynamic DNS provider.

I'm working on the wireless LAN setup, so I'll edit this review once I have a sure fire way to set it up so I can append a simple how-to to help folks get started. Any question, just comment. Again, this is from a Mac OS X Lion 10.7.2 user (at the time of this writing). *** Wireless instruction added, see Update 5 below ***

Since I am a Mac user, the IP Camera utility is USELESS (unless you're using Parallel or Fusion to run Windows). I rely solely on the web-based interface to view the camera. It works like a charm so far. The camera's pan and tilt feature is SUPER fast. Of course, that's because I set it at the fastest level; you can set it according to your taste. You can set up the Alarm feature so that its motion detector can pick up motion contingent on how sensitive you set the camera to behave. Once the alarm mode is triggered, you can further instruct the camera to upload screenshots at set intervals to an FTP server and/or email you the screenshots to an email address (see pictures). You certainly don't need to be Cisco or A+ certified to get this camera to work.

EDIT: As for scheduling the motion-detector, it works if you set it correctly. From the web-configuration utility, click on "Alarm Service Setting." Set the sensitivity level, etc., then check if you want to have the camera email you and/or take screenshots of events triggering the alarm and upload to a designated FTP server. I checked both. For the scheduler, check "Scheduler" to bring up a week calendar with hour. Click on the hours you'd like the camera to trigger its motion-detector, then press "Set". Note that the alarm mode won't go into affect after about 30 seconds after rebooting. I didn't know this at first and thought this feature was defunct from factory. I'm guessing the camera is giving you time to evacuate the premise before arming itself. The scheduling calendar is very cumbersome, so it's probably easier to just turn on or turn off the motion detector.

Also since you need Internet Explorer to use the ActiveX enabled web interface, Mac users will luck out. The IE version of the web interface allows you to record video (AVI format), take a snapshot, listen and talk through your camera, along with the ability to command multiple cameras. It also appears that the remote on/off switch works with the ActiveX IE control interface, but doens't for the other interfaces. I haven't had time to fully test them.

UPDATE 2: I live in an apartment complex where I gave permission to the leasing staff to deliver packages into my apartment when I am not home to sign for it. I set up the camera for motion detection and it picked up the delivery, snap a few shots and emailed to me in addition to continuously snapping shots in 5 seconds interval and uploading it to the FTP server. Simply awesome for $5x.00.

I'm so impressed with this camera I'll be purchasing two more units, possibly in white so they can blend with the white walls.

UPDATE 3: For WiFi, make sure your router is 802.11 a/b/g compatible and set at 2.4ghz frequency. The IP camera will not pick up your router if it's set at 5 ghz at N-mode only. For MAXIMUM WiFi performance, do not obstruct the WiFi antenna. Swivel it downward if you have to as the antenna is not as sophisticated and is extremely sensitive to obstruction.

UPDATE 4: Thanks to Jean-Pierre Ciudad, you can download a program called "IP Scanner for Mac" from cnet.com. It will detect the IP address of the IP camera seamlessly. Once the IP address is noted, simply punch it in your web browser to make the subsequent changes. First thing first is to change the IP address for the camera to match your network. You can find this under "Basic Network Setting" of the web interface - no need for a Windows machine.

UPDATE 5 - How to configure your camera for wireless access: After playing around with the wireless set up, I think I've found a sure-fire way to set up your IP Cam for wireless connection. The first thing you need to do is connect it to the LAN via Ethernet and configure your camera for LAN access, basically if you've got your IP Cam up and running by following my instructions above or through your own mean, you're ready to go wireless. Now the trick here is to keep in mind that when you go wireless, your wireless router will assign the IP Cam a new IP address via DHCP, meaning most likely you will not be able to access the camera at the LAN-assigned IP address. I think this is the main reason if not THE reason why a lot of folks are having a hard time getting the IP Cam to connect wirelessly. Also keep in mind that the IP Cam is only compatible at 802.11 a/b/g at 2.4ghz only. Not a problem with dual-band Time Capsule but you may need to configure your router accordingly.

So back to the setup procedure, once you get your IP Cam up and running on the LAN, go to your IP Cam's web UI and click on "Wireless Lan Settings" on the left navigation menu to configure the IP Cam for wireless access.

* Make sure the "Using Wireless Lan" box is checked.
* Under "SSID", enter your full wireless network name. You may click "Scan" multiple times until your wireless network shows up on the list (you may need to scan up to 4 times before it appears) or you can just type in the name of the SSID of your network. If you have Access Control List enabled, be sure to add the IP Cam's MAC address to the ACL.
* For "Network Type", select "Infra"
* Under "Encryption", select your security type. It's usually WPA2 (AES), but again, you need to do the research on your own network.
* For "Share Key", type in your wireless network access password.

Click SET and let the IP Cam reboot (30 secs). Next disconnect the Ethernet cable from the IP Cam and power down the camera, wait 30 seconds. Reconnect the power supply but leave the Ethernet cable unplugged and wait another 30 seconds for the IP Cam to boot up. Now your IP Cam should be connected to your wireless network. Run IP Scanner 2.5 or above to discover the newly assigned WAN IP address on the network (you can find this in your router's DHCP list via your router's admin page as well); this should be the new wireless IP address for your IP Camera. If the WAN IP for the IP Cam is 192 . 168 . 0 . 4, then you'll need to punch in 192 . 168 . 0 . 4 : 80 (or 192 . 168 . 0 . 4 : 81) to regain access to the web UI - again, your LAN assigned IP for the camera will usually no longer work. If you've changed the default access port for the IP Camera to something else other than 81, be sure to use the custom port instead when accessing the new wireless IP address. If you plan on a 100% wireless connection you'll need to reconfigure your port forwarding settings, reserved IP setting (if you did this for LAN), access port, etc. Proceed with your WiFi configuration as if you're configuring the IP Cam for the first time on LAN. If you're considering an outdoor IP camera solution, be sure to check out my Agasio M105I Outdoor Wireless Wifi Waterproof Bullet IP Camera with IR-Cut Filter, Two-way Audio, Night-Vision, Email & review.
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
5150+ comments| 678 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2012
I own 5-6 different types of security cams (mostly because I am trying to find the best deals and collected them over time), this is probably one of the best deals for an indoor wireless IP cam.

I like the fact that you can fully pan and tilt, almost cover 360 degrees in your home easily so when you are not home, you can easily rotate the camera remotely to check everything going on in your home.

Also, this camera is compatible with Android app like TinyCam (set it as Lofttek camera though not Wansview!).

The night vision works well but don't point it outside (because the infrared LEDs will reflect off your window and you won't be able to see anything DUH!), it's really only for the indoors. The camera itself can be used outside also if you have a hangover the area and you don't get crazy storms that might get to it.

For the price you pay this is a neat little security camera. I suggest to set it to FTP mode to an FTP server outside your house so if robbers steal your computer, you will still have images of them. I've got it uploading to one of my web servers, works well. If you don't have an FTP server, you can also create a GMAIL account for the cam and have it send photos to your GMAIL on motion detection.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2012
PROs:

This thing is a stellar deal! I will be buying several more! (since the bundled software supports multiple camera recording and monitoring.)

I was a manager in the security trade for years and that software has the same features as the high end corporate security suites, the only difference is the resolution and frame rate, but for a home or small business this is great! Since they are wireless, very flexible in where they go. I also use this in conjunction with SplashTop (found in Amazon Appstore for Android) to monitor my system from any mobile device.

It came with some crazy banzai bandanna thing? I'm flattered, but I don't get it. Its not tech, it's a "freebie" i guess. Thanks China!

The IR is really good I think, it lights up the whole room I have it installed in, even in total darkness.

CONS:

The ceiling/wall mount isn't as clean as I like, but it DID have one.

At 640x480 the capture rate is 2FPS, lol, but its still very useable.

The LED is ANNOYING AS HELL. And since the interface is strongly "Engrish" its a little odd to find where to turn it off. Which you can! So, stealth operation. But to do it, you have to use the browser interface for the specific camera. Pretty much everything else is available via the monitoring software.

Conclusion:

If your looking for a good PTZ camera, night vision, indoor camera system that records on schedule, motion, or scheduled motion to a PC via wired or wireless network and works well under many different lighting conditions from very bright to total darkness.... you ought to buy this thing. Especially if you're on a budget.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon May 2, 2012
I've seen a lot of reviews of this product that suggest it is difficult to set up or fails do work as advertised. I got mine and had none of the problems listed. The camera itself had a different brand name than the one shown in the product listing, but the features and location of connections were exactly as shown.

The enclosed (printed) directions are barely understandable. Fear not! Very well written directions are on the enclosed cd. The full user manual has all you may need to know to use the camera in a wide range of applications. If you don't feel like reading them, let me give the you way I set mine up. You do need to do these steps in the exact order I give them if you want the painless install.

1. Unpack everything. Find the antenna and screw onto the camera. Be sure you have the network cable and power supply.

2. Plug the network cable into the camera and then into your router (wireless router I assume).

3. Plug the power cord into the camera and a wall socket. The reason you do this in order is that the camera will sense your network and get an IP address from your router instead of the default that is hard-coded into the camera.

4. Load the CD into your PC and install the setup software.

5. When you see the menu, select "Detect the camera"

6. Pick the "Advanced" button when the detect screen appears. Do NOT pick the "Wizard".

7. When the detect window opens, on the top left you see a dropdown with network adapters. You will also see various IP addresses. If you don't see a value for "Gateway", go to the dropdown and chances are you will see a 2nd network adapter. The first one is frequently the Microsoft default (on PC's). Select the 2nd adapter. If you see the gateway IP appear, you are in business.

8. There is a window on the bottom left that should show your camera. If it isn't there, click the "Find" button. If your network connection is correct, it will appear as a line in that window (with the IP address your router assigned it).

9. When you click on the camera line, the addresses to the right should appear the same (at least for the camera) as the one on the camera line you selected. Be sure that the gateway address is populated. Write down the camera's IP address. Don't worry you are almost done.

10. You will see that there are to web addresses (URL's) on the bottom of the right column. The bottom one is a service to let you see your camera on the web. Set that up at your own peril. The upper one is the address you need to use to access your camera from inside your house. Note it. Also click the button to go to it. A browser will open.

11. The browser opens with a bunch of choices. Make the one appropriate for your setup. If you are using Internet Explorer, use the one for IE. Click "Sign In".

12. You will get a user name and password box. The user name is "admin" (no quote marks). Leave password blank. and click "Ok"

13. You now will see the camera working. Cool! But wait! Just a bit more to do. If you want to password protect the camera, go to the "Users" link on the left. You can add new users, or just add a password for the admin user. Remember the password you selected! Click "Apply".

14. Almost done! The camera will reboot. Now on the same menu (on the left) select "wireless" (or something to that effect). When that page is loaded, it will find any wireless networks you have. If it doesn't, click the "Find" button. Give it a minute or two. This isn't a very fast function.

15. Select your network (click on it in the window). Now if you have a password protected network (you better!), you can select your network type. See your router instructions if you aren't sure. Then, in the case of most typical home networks, type your password in the correct box.

16. Click Apply. The camera will reboot.

17. After reboot, disconnect your network cable and unplug the camera. Wait ten seconds and plug it in again (power not network).

18. Try to go the URL you copied down...[...] numbers and periods you copied...i.e.: 198.204.1.34) and click the "Go" arrow (or hit "enter"). YOu should get the password screen. Type in your user name and password and click OK. You should see your camera.

Now unplug and put it wherever you want it and plug in the power. It will work!

The quality of the picture isn't great, but it is certainly within expectations for a security camera. At the price, this ia an amazing deal. I love mine.
11 comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
So I read a number of reviews, I was going to get this or the Foscam cam and decided to give this one a try since it was half the price.

Setting the camera up was easy. Plug it into my network and power and run the search app on the CD they sent. It found the camera. I hit the "SUBMIT" button to lock in the settings, it rebooted and then I was able to click on BROWSE and it opened up the web interface. At that point I turned on the Wireless and set that up, did another reboot and unplugged my network cable, within a minute it was up and running.

I did have some issues with the email alert settings but after a few minutes I got it. Basically you enter all your settings and there is a "TEST" button. Don't push test UNTIL you hit "SUBMIT"! It turns out your not testing what you entered, you are testing what you submitted. So since you may not have submitted anything yet it fails, fast. Press submit after entering the settings and then test and it works.

What I did is I set this up to email me to a new google email address I setup for this camera, I also put in it to email my private picasa web album email address so not only do I get emails, but it also puts those pictures in my new accounts camera album in picasa.

The picture quality, sure its not HD but within a few seconds of stepping in front of the camera I get an email with 5 pictures and the pictures are uploaded to picasa.

works well for the price. I was very surprised at how quiet the camera is when controlling it. I had one of these before (different brand) and you could hear the motor kick on, this thing you can pan and tilt silently. Very impressed.

I've only had this for less then an hour so how long it lasts I don't know. but in less then an hour I got it full configured and tested, I do have IT experience so this isn't 100% for beginners. I will confirm the directions that it comes with, are terrible. I basically just figured it out on my own but it was easy enough.

Also I did get this to stream outside my home so I can view it on my phone and tablet, or my computer at work. It was easier then I thought it would be. I signed up with DynDNS which cost 20.00 a year however you can find a coupon code for a 15% discount if you google it. Once I got that hooked up I downloaded IP Cam viewer for my phone, the lite version since its free and tried it out. I was happy with it but then on my nexus 7 I downloaded tinyCam Monitor (free version) and loved that! There is a cool control on it where you can actually press the screen and tilt your tablet the direction you want to pan/tilt the camera and it does realtime. Much nicer then pressing arrows over and over. Anyways, very happy with this camera so far!
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2016
I have been using this product for barely two months and now it doesnt work at all!
It's impossible to contact customer service, & no written instructions came with the device.
It doesn't work like other Wansview cameras as you MUST leave it hard wired into your modem.
It worked twice and now it doesn't! Worse product ever!
I also own 3 other models of wansview camera--THIS ONE IS THE WORSE!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2012
Where do I start? This camera is everything it says it is and more. For the money it's crazy!

From anywhere on the internet I can log in and view and control this camera. It is already sending me emails when it detects motion and has a sensitivity setting so it doesn't detect my neighbor mowing his yard, only people in my driveway or yard.

Night vision works great (except from inside a window, it reflects off the window so it has to be outside at night).

You must use Internet Explorer to see all the buttons (controlling sound and record options) but any other browser works for all other features (pan and tilt, snapshots, admin settings).

Setup was easy, just remember to plug the network cable in first to the same router your computer is connected to (for those of us with multiple routers). Once set up you can unplug the network cable and go wireless anywhere you have power (and range). (Remember to go to the wireless settings and connect to your router and enter any WEP or WPA security codes needed). Then you can unplug the network cable.

If you want to view over the internet you MUST add a "port forwarding" entry into your router for the port you set up during initial setup. Enter the IP address of the camera and the port in your forwarding settings. You need to assign a static (permanent) IP address so you can enter that address in your forwarding rule. In order to view your camera you need to know the IP address of your cable modem or essentially of your internet connection. Easy way to do this is go to speedtest.net and look at the IP address close to the lower left corner. Then you enter that address with your port number. ex: 67.55.127.68:9999 where 9999 is the port you assigned to your camera and entered into the port forwarding.

I will edit this as I learn more. Hopefully this helps!
review image
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2012
Not a bad camera at all. Since it costs relatively little, I bought 5 to spread out between two locations. One does need to be comfortable messing around with router settings and networking in general, but there are alot of previous reviews that do a good job walking through the procedure. Once the correct settings are entered, it works great. Picture quality is good, although it is a little washed out in bright light, and the pan/tilt controls are as responsive as one would expect controlling it over the internet. I have one camera outside under a patio; only time will tell if it holds up to the extremes of temperature in North Dallas. I'm using the ISpy software, which is bit more versatile than the stock software. This camera sure beats the pants of the X10 camera set up I had; that really was like working in the Dark Ages compared to the Wansview and Loftek IP cameras. Bye bye X10.com, time for you to go extinct!

Several months and a winter later...
The camera sitting under the eaves outside is still working without problems. It is protected from much of the rain (unless it blows horizontally), and picture quality and pan/tilt functions are still good. It held up to the summer heat (100 deg F) and winter cold (down to 10-20 F for a few days). Even though it is not really rated for outdoors use, it is durable enough to be used outside IF protected from direct wetness.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2012
Although this kind of IP cameras are all similar just with different brands, I still care about a good brand, at least there should be some website with some sales and customer support phone number or email addresses. The IP camera that I ordered is Wansview branded and I can find their website is wansview.com so I think the one I ordered is still a brand made in China. I had bad experience with other seller that the merchandise was poorly packaged and not manufacturer's original package, so I had to return it immediately without having a chance to use it.
This Wansview NCB-541W that I ordered is in a manufacturer's package and I spent a couple of days to get it work. Looking at other reviews with low ratings due to frustrating setups, I can totally understand. Here I want to share some of my experience with using this camera.
First, I connected the IP camera to my home network in wired mode (ethernet cable connected to your router). Follow the instruction manual, running the search in the CD within the package, it was able to find my IP camera's default IP address. But make sure the first three numbers of the IP address should be the same as the PC used for setup so that they can be on the same network. When I did the search, my PC's IP address is 192.168.1.xxx, but the searching function in the installation CD still shows the IP camera's address as 192.168.0.yyy, so I had to change the third number to 1. Make sure the fourth number yyy is a different number than any other devices in the home network. I also setup an identical HTTP port for my camera. After entering the default admin account name and password I saved the initial setting. To view the IP camera using the DDNS that the manufacturer provided on a label the bottom of the camera, I had to login to my router's management interface for "Virtual Server" setup. I added a HTTP virtual server with my IP camera's IP address as the LAN Server, TCP as protocol, and port as the one I setup for my IP camera. Now I could view the IP camera "wiredly" from anywhere within my home network using the DDNS address.
To connect the IP camera wirelessly, I went to my IP camera's setup interface which as View, Network, Alarm, Advanced, Maintain tabs under Wansview title, click Network on the top, and then Wireless Settings on the right, then check "Using Wireless Lan" and type in my wireless LAN's SSID, Encryption, and secure key. Then I disconnected the ethernet cable between the router and the camera. Now I could move my camera anywhere in the house and it becomes wireless. I can view it from the PC using wireless LAN. But make sure your SSID is broadcast, if it is hidden, the camera will not be able to find it.
To be able to view the camera from outside of my home network, I had to go to Remote Management of my router's setup interface to enable UPnP. Also I had to go to my IP camera's setup interface which as View, Network, Alarm, Advanced, Maintain tabs under Wansview title, click Network tab and then click UPnP Settings menu on the right and then check Using UPnP to map port and then click Submit button to save the change. Then I could view the camera remotely from a public WIFI network.
To setup the IP camera to be able to send alarm email, I had to go to the camera setup interface, and click Alarm tab, check Motion detection Armed and Send Mail on Alarm, and then go to the email settings page, to setup my Gmail SMTP server, port, TLS protocol, user, and password, sender and receiver. Make sure user should be entire email address. Google the internet, you should be able to find the server and port setting for all Gmail, hotmail and Yahoo mail. A tricky thing was I also had to go to my router's setting interface for "Virtual Server" setup, and add a SMTP virtual server with my camera's IP address as LAN server, port as the one that my Gmail SMTP server uses and enable the virtual server, then I was able to send an email. Then I waled in front of my camera and wave my hand. Then I got the email with four pictures showing myself. So motion detection works! But when I did this at night, the camera didn't capture my moving. Maybe the sensitivity setting of motion detection is not sensitive enough. I have to do more adjustment.
But so far I am very satisfied with this Wansview camera. I can remotely control the lens moving horizontally for 270 degrees and at least 90 degrees vertically. Many features to explore. For the price and function, I highly recommend it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse