Your Garage Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Samsung S8 Launch Starting at $39.99 Luxury Beauty Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Book House Cleaning DrWho DrWho DrWho  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
77
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$11.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 42 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 77 reviews
on December 3, 2001
Reading these letters is a bit like finding a stack of correspondence in your attic and getting to snoop on someone's old declarations of love or fear. I bought the book because an old family friend is among the soldiers with a letter in this book. The letters make for fascinating reading, after which you sort of gulp and read the italicized copy hoping to find that THIS soldier did not die in action. Too many did. I was surprised to find that the more recent letters (Vietnam and Gulf War) were the most interesting to me. For whatever reason, they seemed more morally complex and sympathetic. Great book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2006
This book is a great read. It is refeshing to be able to read words, thoughts and dreams from people as they perform such honorable duty overseas. This book is powerful and should be required reading for all, especially Americans.

Some anti-war activist may think it is "pro-war" but it isn't just that. This book reveals personal thoughts and challenges faced by American military personnel in wars from the Civil War until the later conflicts in the 20th century. It is pro-war, anti-war and everything in between.

This book reminds me of the sacrifice that so many make for their country. It is a great tribute for those who have served.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2016
Very thought provoking. Put a human being in war and let them express how they were feeling and reacting to what was going on around them. Made each war experience different but the human emotion often similar or the same. Recommended reading for all
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2014
I bought this book to teach 6th graders that even though these events took place before the students were born, the people who wrote them are real and had real hopes and dreams and lives just as any other person. I think hearing some of these letters really made the events surrounding them more real to the students. One of the reasons we study history is to see how certain events impacted the LIVES of real people, and this really does that. I would not turn this book loose on kids for them to read at will, as several of the letters contain language and subject matter inappropriate for children. Still, in the hands of the teacher, it can be very effective at letting students know how scary, real, and horrific the duties of war can be.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2014
An amazing look into the thoughts and experiences of our soldiers. Some of these letters will leave the reader heartbroken, others will leave you feeling fortunate that you did not have to endure what they did. Still others will make you very proud that you came from the same country that produced the authors. The letters also include brief follow-up stories to what happened later to the soldier who authored the correspondence. This would be a fantastic edition to any high-school or college course on American History. Very moving and powerful to say the least.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2014
I saw this book mentioned on a TV program and researched it a bit before buying it. I am a veteran myself and have served in several locations overseas and far from home. I received this book and keep picking it up and reading more of the letters written by others who served. An incredible insight through the words of Veterans from many conflicts. I recommend this book to anyone who is looking to in some way to see what our troops felt compelled to share with those back home.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2014
Everyone who is interested in war history should read this book as it gives you first hand experiences from soldiers who served there country. Very emotional and some times very sad but the communication between soldiers and their families are so touching it is an absolute must read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2014
I have read other books of letter's written by war heroes, those that fought and lost their lives, those that fought and survived. Each letter represents an unequal moment for each men and woman.
I'm trying to understand, but realize I'm on the outside looking in. Thank God.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2013
A good read. The letters span 150 plus years. I could not put this book down. So very interesting how each generation lived, loved, died and wrote from their hearts and souls to loved pnes while in the very pits of hell. Don't miss this one. It will teach you the true meaning of love and honor among the bravest of the brave.!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2001
The book has some great war letters in it, and they are not all about combat, some very personal and touching ones. Many letters in fact have nothing to do with War and in fact are about personal matters back home.
The Editor sometimes also sets up the letters with a bit of history behind the specific time of the war, a great touch.
It makes war a bit more personal and in a time we find ourselves prepared to perhaps see another War, it makes you realize War is not a glorious thing as Hollywood would paint it. There is a time when you must stand and defend what you and your country stand for, but make no mistake, War means death and pain.
The letter many of these soldiers wrote are touching not because of the bravery they showed, but because they showed often how scared they were or how no matter what was going on around them, they always kept their loved ones in their minds. It reminds us all that all soldiers have someone waiting for them back home.
I recommend you read this book along with "Slaughter House 5" and see if you ever look at War the same again.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse