Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Month Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New album by All is Bright Electronics Gift Guide Limited time offer Handmade Last Minute Gifts Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon JCVJ JCVJ JCVJ  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now HTL17_gno



on March 7, 2013
Basically this game's claim to fame is that it takes skill - or at least that's what they'd like you to believe. The bottom line is you'll need to invest a bit of time in order to unlock gear to be viable, and the stock characters that they provide you are simply not going to do it. The game is fun, to a degree, but certainly not balanced to a level where it is truly about "skill".

For starters, you'll find out very quickly that shields are the absolute height of frustration in the game. Regardless of what you're wielding, it is possible for your opponent (or you) to simply hold down the right mouse button and survive near indefinitely, sometimes even against 4-5 people at a time. Couple that shield with a malaneese axe and you're basically going to go down unless both of you are cheesing with the axe/shield combo, in which case you will most likely just end up abandoning the fight altogether. Sadly, there's really no way around this, and even with the shield breaker perk and a halberd equipped, trying to take down your opponents shield will just score you a quick death-stab to the gut.

Moreover, hit-boxes for some weapons are extremely bizarre. At times you'll find yourself landing perfect shots with a halberd and getting nothing (the hitbox is theoretically at the tip of the weapon) - and other times you'll end up tearing through an opponent in one hit while you're hugging shoulders (where your halberd should never have registered a hit).

Damage counters are also very strange at times, you would think a fully-charged overhead attack to an archer's head while their back is turned to you would register an instant-kill, but more often than not, it will do about 30~ damage to what is around 100 hp per unit, give or take, while using a two-handed weapon.

Balance issues aside, the game is not an easy load-up. Even at the lowest settings, War of the Roses is fairly taxing, especially if you've got a low or mid-tier setup, and I would not recommend trying to run this on a laptop, unless you've got a beast, because it will be straining hard to keep up with the demands of the game, especially on snow maps.

Overall, a decent game, and certainly worth a 5$ price-tag if you can get it on sale, but definitely wait for the sale, you'll likely find yourself with a bit of buyer's remorse at full retail.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 26, 2012
This is a very fun game to play with a group of friends online, few things can match the excitement of bashing each other's heads in with what feel like very good historical approximations of maces and lances. Unlocking upgrades for your characters in terms of new weapons and perks gives good incentive to play without creating a fundamental advantage for more experienced players. However, especially if you play solo , there is little content to be found here in terms of exciting objectives or strategic game play, as most servers degenerate into what is mostly a massive melee. I would have liked to see more content or things to do to keep my interest a bit better.

On the software distribution side, I had no issues whatsoever. I had never before bought a game through Amazon so I had some reservations initially, but what you get on time of purchase is a code to redeem through Steam to "purchase" the game. Worked flawlessly and at a lower price than through the Steam store directly, you sacrifice none of the social aspect that you may value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 25, 2013
This is easily one of the best medival combat simualtor. It is not very noob-friendly so it will take new users some time to get used to. Although missing a single-player campaign and a few features found in the Mount and Blade series, War of the Roses delivers on multiplayer gameplay. The melee combat is brutal and the range combat is downright satisfying. The hit-registration and hit-box are excellent. For example, shooting an arrow through the cracks of an enemy helmet will deal high damage, as opposed to some other game which blocks the shoot. Elements such as squad spawn, heal, and revive are also included to highly value teamplay. It also provide a level-up system with many levels and items for purchase. The game will continue to update for new content, and it is an all round excellent game,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 1, 2013
Bought this for $5. For that price it's not bad but I didn't enjoy this game as much as Chivalry. Everything looked so robotic and stuttered in this game. People always charging their swings so their arms are always raised up and behind them so it looks every player is doing that during fighting and not actually swinging their weapon.

Overall I'm still playing Chivalry despite all it's bugs and slow release patches. And it looks great too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 31, 2013
I bought this about a month back while it was on sale and I got a hell of a deal. When the expansion came out the developers decided to just give it to people who already owned the game. No extra charge and no forcing you to buy it if you wanted to keep playing. This game can take some getting used to but it's a hell of a lot of fun. If you like call of duty and you like wailing on people with swords, buy this game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 22, 2013
I've heard allot about this game and at $5 why not.

Well that's until i booted up the game and saw only 4-5 servers with people in them. Beyond that seems like a pretty fun game and if it had an active community i would say buy it but its hard to recommend a multiplayer game with no one left to play with.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 1, 2013
The first time I played it was so glitchy that I was unable to finish the tutorial.

Second time I loaded it up and selected a different map and was able to finish the tutorial, however the gameplay was uninspiring.
Multiplayer is likely much better, however my interest in the game was totally killed by what I had experienced.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 9, 2012
This game is quite fun, but i feel like it will only get better with time. Seems to need some more work with getting server latency down, but when you get into a good server things run fine. Some crashing occurs when servers switch maps, which break up the action and can be a bit annoying, but once you get the game up and running its really fun and entertaining. I just need to learn the fine touches of how to play better. Its a good game with a lot of content and a full team dedicated to improving the experience. Paradox interactive announced a war of the roses permanent team to improve the game, so i think the rocky start will be improved soon. Executions are epic even if your the one being taken out!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 28, 2013
A good game, decent to mid level graphics. You have to play with the weapons to get used to them. Overall not the best but definitely not the worst game I have played. Stick with the dagger and keep upgrading it to max, nothing makes online play better than destroying people with the smallest weapon available.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 29, 2012
Sometimes you just want to come home from a stressful day at work and get medieval on some people's a$$es. That is what this game is good for. I have loved every incarnation of Mount & Blade and I look forward to the day someone ports this kind of combat into an MMORPG format.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here