Salon Beauty Kindle 10th Anniversary Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
136
War of the Twins (Dragonlance Legends, Vol. 2)
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on October 5, 2017
Read this serious of books years ago when I was young. Decide to purchase digital additions to read again (I still own the original hardback editions) and read. This series of books along with "The Magician" by Raymond Feist and the Original Dragon Lance series by Weis & Hickman remain among my favorite books of this genre.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2014
Having a twin can be so rewarding. However, if one twin is blessed with a better physique than the other then there may be real jealousy between them. In the War of Twins Vol 2 one sees both adoration and jealousy. We continue the saga of battling good vs evil. Sometimes evil wins and sometimes good wins in the end. Raistlin the magi is in constant battle struggling between evil and good. He never feels like his traveling companions trust him especially after their visit to the elven kingdom Silvanesti. In this small area of their world an elfin king that has dabbled in magic has tried to control a dragon orb. Little did this king realize if he didn't win control the dragon orb would control him. This particular orb caused everyone that came near to have dreams. All but Raistlin dreamed their worst fears, for Raistlin he dreamed his heart desire -- to have his brother become so weak that he had to lean on Raistlin.
Once they were able to escape from Silvenstia their journey took them into the hands of Kitaria, Dragon Highlord. Tanis was drawn into a mighty web of deceit by his own choosing. The others were thrown into the web only to be facing their most critical times. To escape the Dragon Highlord they had to take to the storm driving seas. Only to be followed by the dragons and face death by giant whirlpool. Raistlin tried to used the dragon orb to save himself.
We are left wondering who survived.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2013
Following right off Time of the Twins' action-packed and devastating conclusion in Istar, we find ourselves with Caramon, Raistlin and Crysania in the Tower of High Sorcery. From these gloomy and dank environs, we are given a glimpse into Raistlin's rise to become the premier power in a world with but a single cleric.

Crysania learns about the truths that Raistlin bestowed upon her in the first book (albeit for manipulative purposes). Having shaken her faith in the Kingpriest of Istar, he is able to turn her allegiances towards him with garish displays.

Thirty years after the Cataclysm, the Good races are in bitter conflict, understandable as a result of the poverty and barren lands that have resulted. Hill dwarves bear vicious grudges against their mountain kin, and the Qualinesti elves have sequestered their people from the rest of the world.

Leading a war that was never intended to be won, Caramon strives ever harder to save his brother's soul from the wicked and self-serving desires that threaten to consume and further corrupt both him and his relationship with his sibling. The setup for the concluding novel could not be more epic or enthralling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2017
This is the best trilogy in the entire series. Whereas the original was a series of games turned into books, these are rich and full.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2013
As a decades-long fan of Dragonlance novels, I rate this second volume of the Legends series as excellent but the least enjoyable of the three only because volumes 1 and 3 are so magnificent. The first volume, Time of the Twins, was filled with intrigue and a growing romance between Raistlin and Crysania. Dalamar's comportment is, of course, delicious. I think some male readers of any of the Legends volumes may be a little dissappointed because so many male readers are looking for hack & slash rather than story and character development. War of the Twins is the classic journey novel that is enjoyable reading. We, as readers, even feel the long months on the trail from Palanthas all the way to Zhaman in dark times. Legends is love story ^ squared between Caramon and Crysania's different kinds of love for Raistlin and the details revealing the quest for power, for understanding and for greatness make great reading. It's also great fun!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2012
This trilogy is a great pick for any Raistlin fans, and even Caramon fans. This book is a great sequel and delves even deeper into the relationship between the twins.

The sickly, magic-inclined brother manipulates his friends, family, and even time itself to achieve what he thinks he wants. Caramon comes to understand and even accept his brother for who he is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2016
One of my favorites in my younger days, but I love re-reading it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2013
Seriously, there are so many things I could say..but I have to say Raistlin has been my favorite character from book one..but there are so many lovable characters, characters that you will become invested in and who you will want to cheer for and cry for. It's such an amazing group of stories. Enjoy it. Happy Reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2015
Does anyone proof read these books prior to putting them up for sale on Amazon? Absolutely love the book, just not the hack job that was done to it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2013
By this point in the series, a young reader might start to realize that the pursuit of material success isn't the same as the pursuit of happiness.

That's big stuff. These are the best stories I've ever read. War of the Twins, number two in the Twins Trilogy, you really see Raistlin and Cam develop, and truly grow some part of your brain that will aid your empathy forever.

I don't know why Raistlin became my favorite character, but these books about the quest for power, the allure of the dark, and what happens when you get everything you want are damn good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse