Amazon Vehicles Beauty Trade in your textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning americangods americangods americangods  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Spring Savings Event on Amazon.com toystl17_gno

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 100 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 128 reviews
on February 18, 2013
... This amazing film richly deserves more stars. John Woo produced; very aspect,superb. Seems he put more into this film than all his other box office sensations. Actors are right-on, cinematography stunning, all emotions hit viewers hearts and minds. It's the most authentic film I've EVER seen. (M'wife and I collect and study film; so far, over 4,000!).

Writing is perfect, though there're few words (subtitles, all else in original languages) to tell this huge story (the adage 'Less is More' pertains) I've seen Warriors of the Rainbow five times and each time I find more to see, study and feel. I'm sure I will see it again and again.

This reviews the short DVD version is fine. But BluRay is the best way to see it. There are 5-6 versions - go for the longest time you can find, about 4.5 hours. No padded extensions, legitimate details on characterizations, motivations and plot concepts.

Acting is inspired and intense. Actors seem real indigenous natives or Japanese soldiers.
Please see this movie. You'll finish WARRIORS OF THE RAINBOW raving its praises too.

Simply said (finally) it's the greatest movie I've ever seen.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2015
Excellent recreation of the tale of Seediq Bale. It's a bit too long, better editing could have helped to shorten the movie and make it flow better and more directly to the point. The ending is a bit too sentimental. There may be too much violences in the movie. A good portrait of a forgotten time.
.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2014
I tried to watch the much shorter 2 1/2 hour cut and was thoroughly confused and quit watching and bought the 4 1/2 hour version. Watching the more complete 4 1/2 hour version was like reading the unabridged 'Tale of Two Cites' after reading a Reader's Digest condensed edition. Skip the cut version and buy the 4 1/2 hour version, but be aware of 2 unfortunate problems. Unlike the shorter 2 1/2 hour version, the longer version does not appear to be dubbed. Although the blu-ray disc set is listed as 'multilingual' this does not mean that the film has an english dub track. I believe that it only meant that the dialogue is in Chinese and some is definitely Japanese.

The Amazon listing is unclear about the different versions of the film. There are two 4 1/2 hour releases - one on Blu-ray and one on DVD. The Blu-ray set (2 disks) is listed as 'multilingual' but is not. The DVD version (3 disks) is listed as 'language: english' but I have been told that it is also not.

Secondly, the producers make the mistake of producing the subtitles in white text for the first 2 hour segment of the film. The text is often on a white background making it impossible to read because of the lack of contrast with the video images. It is also often impossible to read because the text and the subtitles flash by on the screen much too quickly. Secondly the subtitles of multiple speakers often run together on the same line. Oddly enough the subtitles in the second part is in slightly tinted text making it somewhat easier to read. And still even stranger, the film's trailer is subtitled in the more proper yellow text making it very easy to read.

These problems are all indicators of poor video production. Yet despite these major problems, this is a very good film and worth your time to view.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2015
The film is very well made, probing into the depth of human sentiments, tribal loyalty versus new economic opportunities and better life. What defines our identity? In a ever expanding global economy today, it is worth thinking, what is our responsibility to the earth as a human race, what is the trade-off between economic growth and nature? Is there a balance, or is it a zero-sum game?

I don't find the movie too bloody or violent. It edited off most of the killing act, only showing the after-effect, while being truthful to the history. It is certainly R-rated, but in comparison to Hollywood norm today, this is a very decent movie.

I would highly recommend it to anyone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2016
I have watched this movie 3 times. It's no longer available in Netflix so when I saw it available for purchase, it was a no-brainer! I don't want to spoil it for anyone but I will say that if you love historical movies of Asian cultures then this is a must-see?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2016
This fascinating, sometimes brutal, rendition of events that occurred on Taiwan during the period of Japanese occupation is eerily relevant to current activities in the Middle East and elsewhere. The struggle by the people of the Seediq tribe to preserve their traditional values, customs, and belief systems in the face of arrogant, ill-considered, and frequently violent, efforts by the Japanese militarists to forcefully impose their own interpretation of modernism upon a resistive populace has many contemporary parallels. Just as the viewer of this film may find themselves sympathetic to the Seediq struggle, despite the necessitous violence involved, so we may consider the with efforts of the followers of Sunni Islam to defy the "civilizing" urges of external powers. Just as the Seediq are willing to sacrifice themselves, and their own, in an ultimately futile "last stand" against a well armed, technologically superior military force, we might reflect that we in the West may well be seen by the indigenous populace of the nations over which we hold sway, in a light similar to the relationship of the Japanese and the Seediq.
"Warriors of the Rainbow", despite being "a true story based on actual events" can be seen as an allegory for the struggles by many diverse peoples and cultures to maintain their own unique identities against efforts enforce the values of self-proclaimed progressive cultures upon them.
It is a remarkable, heroic, piece of film making and should be watched by all who seek to have some understanding of the confrontational conflicts between traditionalism and self defined modernism, both historically (the Indians of the Americas, Australian Aborigines, etc.) and contemporaneously (Tibetan Buddhism, Middle Eastern Islam, etc.
Highly recommended viewing in any of the varied formats this film is available in, particularly this full length 4 1/2 hour version. 6 star excellence!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2013
I cannot speak highly enough of this film. It is one of the best foreign films I have seen in years. John Woo had a lot to do with this production and it shows. It deals with the indigenous hill tribes of Taiwan and their battles with the occupying Japanese from 1895 to 1945. At 4 1/2 hours it is still not overlong! Very inspiring and moving. Some of the battles are really brutal, but these people had to face guns, cannons and early aircraft with spears, arrows and machetes. Their customs and traditions, including some wonderful tribal singing, are very well depicted. I haven't been so stirred and emotionally moved by a movie in a long time as I was by this one. By all means see this!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2017
very good action chinese movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2014
This is a great movie. I purchased it because you listed the language has English. The language is traditional Chinese and cannot be changed to English like other Chinese movies I have. It said it was English and I purchased it for that reason. I'm not knocking the movie, it's awesome, but I wish I could change the language of the movie to be English. You need to specify that it is not English.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2013
I was going to watch half of this movie over two nights. I ended up watching 4.5 hrs straight through and stayed up way to late on a week night. I could not turn it off, I was hooked on the story, the production value, the scenery, everything about it. The "Making of Documentary" is astounding as well. It's a wonder it was ever completed and shows a true commitment and perseverance to realizing a dream. For a only a second film directorial it is very impressive. This is a director to watch in the future.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse