Your Garage Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Samsung S8 Launch Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Shop Popular Services animestrike animestrike animestrike  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch National Bike Month on Amazon disgotg_gno_17

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 17 reviews
on October 26, 2013
I was hoping for more...but still a decent read. That is really all I have to say but there is a minimum word count.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2007
This is a book which has a funny approach on everyday language. Words and sentences that once seemed to have no sense at all are now explained. While the meaning of these expressions might be widely known for native speakers, it is a good reference for foreigners who are willing to excel in English language, even in its weirdest senses. Beware that you can't go saying everything you read on this book to anybody anywhere if your intention is to be polite...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2014
Great gag gift for my author wife.

The laughs she got when opening this were well worth the price.

And all in all - it really is quite useful if you need a thesaurus of cuss words, or information on how to use them effectively. Great tool for author (and a great laugh).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2014
This was a fun bathroom book to read. It also taught me a lot about the origin of some curse words. Fanfrickin'tastic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2014
This was a great gag gift at a cops retirement party. Everyone got a kick out of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2015
My friend laughed when he saw me order this but it is really useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2014
need to know those kind of whether you like it or not.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2009
Really a pretty funny little book! I bought this for a friend and we read it together and laughed quite a bit!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2011
There were some nuggets of awesomeness throughout what was largely a mediocre - and relatively nasty - book. After having read his first book, I expected this one to expand in a good direction...i.e. creative and magnificent swearing. Well, it did expand, but mostly in areas related to crass & vulgar slang for various body parts and sexual acts. THAT might be "swearing," but I'm more inclined to call it nasty language. A good swear does not make you throw up a little in your mouth at the mental picture it creates. If done well, it is magnificent to the point of awe, and should rightly elicit a response of "WOW!" or utter speechlessness. The tripe that Sterling Johnson discusses in this book is for people who can do no better than parrot gross language about their anatomy and bodily functions.

This was (again) a great idea executed very poorly. It's base...and gross...and except for the occasional goodie, mostly definitely not funny. Especially...ESPECIALLY...if you have read the likes of Geoffrey Chaucer, Shakespeare, and myriad other phenomenal authors, whose awe-inspiring swears are worthy of any top ten list. Listen to George Carlin, a man who could swear with enviable ease. There are certainly others, but Sterling Johnson is most assuredly not among them.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2015
Good book !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse