Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 1,170 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,714 reviews
on April 4, 2017
Amazon should have multiple criteria for disc reviews, as I would give the film four stars, but this release gets two from me. First, this is just a 2K version being released on the 4K platform; it did not come from a 4K scan, so it looks only marginally better than the Blu-ray. While advertised as a 4K/Blu-ray combo set, the Ultimate Cut is presented on the 4K disc, while the shorter (and frankly superior) Director's Cut is relegated to the Blu-ray. You can't get the Director's Cut on 4K. This is basically a repackaging of the Blu-ray Ultimate Cut set, though it leaves out the Watchmen Motion Comics disc that was presented with the earlier release. Annoying, but at least it doesn't claim otherwise. However, the slipcover does claim that it features two commentary tracks, one by Zack Snyder and one by Watchmen comic artist Dave Gibbons, and this is untrue. Neither commentary appears on this version; they can only be found on the previous Blu-ray version. This is false advertising, plain and simple. Perhaps someday a proper 4K release, featuring an actual 4K scan of the film, along with actual inclusion of the extras it claims to contain, will be released-I'd hold out for that. If you have the Blu-ray of the Director's Cut, there's no reason to upgrade to this version. If you have the Blu-ray of the Ultimate Cut, the only thing you are getting with this version is a mildly better picture, so decide for yourself if it's worth the price tag for that slight improvement, given that you'll need to hang onto your Blu-ray for the missing extras. Warner Brothers really dropped the ball on this one.
11 comment| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2017
The uncut version is the best. Most like the graphic novel.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2017
This has always been one of my favorite movies (otherwise I would have not invested in yet another copy of it and in HD format). It contains the full story of the black ship as well as the movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2013
For some reason, I wasn't that impressed when I saw it in the theaters when it was first released, but I have to admit that this version, with some added footage (although I couldn't tell what was added) worked much better for me. A truly epic story (which does fix Alan Moore's kind of goofy ending), some good performances (particularly Jackie Earle Haley, despite his mask), and some excellent twists. Not so much great big surprises that change everything -- more of a really involved, involving story with a lot of back history to fill it out. In this recent avalanche of comic-book based movies, I would recommend checking this one out again, even if you didn't like it the first time. And if you haven't seen it -- put it on your "must view" list.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2011
I have never read the comic so wasn't sure what to expect when I watched the Watchmen, but it has an interesting plot with a pretty good twist at the end. It is a dark movie though... really dark compared to other comic book movie fare... and it is more of a drama, than an action movie. So if you go in expecting a "good guys" beating up "bad guys" movie, you'll most likely be disappointed.

I'm not really sure how much the Director's Cut adds to the movie. The only thing I noticed was some instances of gratuitous explicit violence, such as Rorschach's encounter with the child molester... I don't know if explicitly showing what happens adds anything to the movie.

ONE WARNING WHEN ORDERING THIS FROM AMAZON: If you order from one of the "Fulfilled by Amazon" sellers rather than Amazon directly, you may end up with a non-US version of the movie. I think I ended up with a Canadian copy of the movie (all the English text on the front cover seemed to have a corresponding French translation). You will most likely get it at a cheaper price... but don't be surprised what you end up getting.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2017
love this movie! looks great on bluray (and so does malin), but not your typical comic book super hero movie—expect a different tone and great visual style from the great zach snyder
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2016
This is three classic genres wrapped into one—sci fi, superhero, and noir mystery. A film that remains near the top of the heap in each genre. The only film I can think of that it resembles that is better is Blade Runner. Powerfully designed, shot, directed, and acted, it remains relevant to this very day—especially these terrible dark days we've been having in the year 2016. I never tire of exploring its profound drama and tragedy and richness. It is the most artistically signifcant (though not most popular, having been unsuccessful at the box office) title from the DC stable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
OK, I'll say it... it's a faithful retelling of the graphic novel. There, I said it.

But seriously... they didn't pull many punches (so to speak) or try to water down the graphic novel, and that made what could have been a disasterous translation of the epic graphic novel instead a film that I ended up buying and have watched many times. I recommend this one without hesitation to any friends who are fans of the author's work. It's a bit of a tough sell to other folks, I've found, and most, after viewing, didn't "get it". So, I recommend this, again, but especially if you've read the original work.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2009
THE MOVIE:

Set in an alternate 1985 where costumed crime-fighters stalk the streets and the Cold War is on the brink of nuclear armageddon, Watchmen portrays a society that is more morally complex than depicted in traditional superhero fiction, a society where it is more difficult to tell the difference between right and wrong, good and bad.

Whilst the Theatrical version of Watchmen was still a faithful rendering of the source material it omitted several integral elements, most notable the book-within-the-book concept: `The Tales of the Black Freighter'. By re-integrating `The Tales of the Black Freighter' as animated interstitials into the Director's Cut of the movie, the Ultimate Cut is a much more layered, satisfying and complete adaptation of the landmark graphic novel that deconstructed the superhero genre. This creates a truly remarkable vision that is something more special than the previous versions. In this respect, the Ultimate Cut should be considered the "Definitive Edition" - if not quite the masterpiece for which we were hoping. The main thing that spoilt the suspension of disbelief for me were Moloch's massively distracting Orc-like ears: 'Spock meets Nosferatu'.

THE EXTRAS:

Disc 2 imports the bonus material provided with the Theatrical and Director's Cut releases. The Four main documentaries are all worthy of inclusion and concentrate on the origin of the graphic novel, its themes, and subsequent impact.

The pseudo-documentary `Under the Hood' is a fun 60-Minutes-style pastiche that provides more backstory and details from the graphic novel that are missing from the feature films.

The Video Journals deal with the making of the movie but (putting the lack of a PLAY ALL option aside) it would have been nice if there was a more in-depth making-of feature to take us through all the stages of this ambitious production - Especially one that covered the casting of the movie, its troubled release and the abandoned previous incarnations. (The inclusion of a few trailers would have also been welcome.) So this cynic suspects a Deluxe-Ultimate Anniversary Edition in the pipeline at Warners.

Instead of the obligatory, annoying Digital Copy, just a simple DVD of the Theatrical Cut would have been better (like Disney includes with all of their blu-rays), or even nothing at all. Hopefully film companies will abandon the Digital Copy fad altogether. Personally, I'd prefer no additional copy and a few pennies shaved off the price instead.

Rounding off the package, at 325 minutes, is the exhaustive (arguably gimmicky) Motion Comic - But at least it's broken into 12 episodes, like the 12 chapters of the novel, and should satiate completists' appetites.

On a final note, the 3 main discs come packaged in a fold-out card case (with the Motion Comic in a slim plastic blu-ray case) inside a card box. The only problem with this nifty packaging is that the matt finish tends to flake away on the edges and creases of the box. ("Somebody call Quality Control!")

These disappointments aside, Watchmen: The Ultimate Cut is definitely the version fans have been waiting for and as all of the discs are REGION FREE, it is available for everyone to make up their own minds. It is certainly an adaptation Alan Moore should be pleased with...but he probably won't be.

DISC 1 - THE MOVIE

- Commentary track by director Zack Snyder
- Commentary track by graphic novel co-creator Dave Gibbons
- Video - 1080p High Definition 16x9 2.4:1
- Audio - Dolby TrueHD: English 5.1, Dolby Digital: English 5.1
- Subtitles - English SDH, Francais & Espanol

DISC 2 - SPECIAL FEATURES IN HIGH DEFINITION

- Under the Hood
- Story Within a Story: The Books of Watchmen
- The Phenomenon: The Comic That Changed Comics
- Mechanics: Technologies of a Fantastic World
- All 11 Watchmen Video Journals
- My Chemical Romance Music Video

DISC 3 - DIGITAL COPY OF THE THEATRICAL FEATURE

DISC4 - WATCHMEN THE COMPLETE MOTION COMIC
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2014
Definitely needs more than one viewing to fully appreciate. I saw most of it while waiting at a doctor's office for my husband on a Saturday afternoon. It kind of haunted me, as I love time travel and alternate reality stories, so I rented it on Sunday afternoon and watched it start to finish. It's a bit lacking in re-watch-ability, but definitely worth seeing once. It's also complex enough that paying close attention is important. I'm sure the Director's Cut adds as much as other reviewers say it does, given the amount of detail included in the story line. Now, I want to wait a bit and then read the comics!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse