Industrial Deals Beauty MagazinestoInspire STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 1,163 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,703 reviews
on April 4, 2017
Amazon should have multiple criteria for disc reviews, as I would give the film four stars, but this release gets two from me. First, this is just a 2K version being released on the 4K platform; it did not come from a 4K scan, so it looks only marginally better than the Blu-ray. While advertised as a 4K/Blu-ray combo set, the Ultimate Cut is presented on the 4K disc, while the shorter (and frankly superior) Director's Cut is relegated to the Blu-ray. You can't get the Director's Cut on 4K. This is basically a repackaging of the Blu-ray Ultimate Cut set, though it leaves out the Watchmen Motion Comics disc that was presented with the earlier release. Annoying, but at least it doesn't claim otherwise. However, the slipcover does claim that it features two commentary tracks, one by Zack Snyder and one by Watchmen comic artist Dave Gibbons, and this is untrue. Neither commentary appears on this version; they can only be found on the previous Blu-ray version. This is false advertising, plain and simple. Perhaps someday a proper 4K release, featuring an actual 4K scan of the film, along with actual inclusion of the extras it claims to contain, will be released-I'd hold out for that. If you have the Blu-ray of the Director's Cut, there's no reason to upgrade to this version. If you have the Blu-ray of the Ultimate Cut, the only thing you are getting with this version is a mildly better picture, so decide for yourself if it's worth the price tag for that slight improvement, given that you'll need to hang onto your Blu-ray for the missing extras. Warner Brothers really dropped the ball on this one.
0Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2014
Don't get me wrong, Watchmen is a very good movie, with standout performances by Jackie Earle Haley and Jeffery Dean Morgan. However, the directors cut is such a huge improvement from this, that the only way to go is the Directors Cut. If you are a fan of the graphic novel, the directors cut is really the only way to go. While some people didn't enjoy the film adaption of Moore's classic graphic novel, I can not see why. I loved every part of this movie. However, many of the films more violent scenes are extended in this version of the movie. If you did not read the comic and are looking for an interesting, dark "superhero" movie, this should suit you fine. But, if you are a fan of the graphic novel like me, I would take the directors cut over the theatrical release any day.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2009
Just watched this Director's Cut last night. Have to say this is Snyder's vision fully realized. Running almost 3 hours, this is the version to own, you get more dialogue, extended scenes, more depth to the characters and feels more in touch with the graphic novel. Where the theatrical release, as it was good I felt it seemed short, it needed something more, and Thank God for Blu Ray. We all know the graphic novel has so much and one can only cram so much into the movie, I believe Snyder and Co. did just that, found that right balance to honor the graphic novel and stay close to the source material. This is a very well adapted graphic novel for the screen. And I don't care what everyone says but Snyder and Tyler Bates sure know how to come up with a great soundtrack, other music mastermind for soundtracks is Tarantino! Anyways this and Sin City so far are the best adaptations in my humble opinion. On to the Blu Ray, picture was outstanding!! You can see each individual particles when Dr. Manhattan zaps people to another spot. The sound was wonderful. I was very pleased with this, the picture was just so sharp and clear. This is a flawless Blu Ray. Have to say there are some movies that is a must have in a collector's DVD collection to fully appreciate that beautiful Hi-Def quality. This is one, Dark Knight, Serenity, Transformers, Iron Man, and 300 are the others in my most humble opinion should be in one's collection!
[...]
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2017
This is a Classic and mind blowing Film! It is a kaleidoscope of philosophies, emotions, and fear versus hope. I promise you that you will never forget this Film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2017
The uncut version is the best. Most like the graphic novel.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2014
I finally decided to stuff away my anxieties of seeing a movie the general public deem "disappointing", since I've learned several times before how much I love something battered unfairly by critics.
My personal opinion is that it's a really good movie- the dialogue and visual effects are incredible. My nitpick is the confusing sequence of flashbacks and their placement throughout the movie, not being entirely sure of what's going on at times, and for someone whose never read the comics it's difficult to understand the plot- there seems to be several of them.

There surely is a bright blue distraction on more than one occasion- I find myself unable to focus on what people are saying because I have my attention drawn to it. It's an interesting turn, treating male nudity as female nudity has been treated for decades, but it's something to adjust to. That's not a bad thing, I'm just forewarning everyone- be prepared to see his package in great detail haha.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2017
This is a movie meant for adults. It is a stand alone story that does not set up a franchise and tells a tale of troubled characters. This is probably will be Zach Snyder's best directed movie. It's not perfect, but it is a an intresting journey that takes you into the lives of troubled superhero men and women. Watch when you have a 3 hours to spare. A very good 8/10 if that helps. The video presentation was fine.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2013
People said it couldn't be done, Zack Snyder proved them wrong. Already having mastered the art of adaptation from page to screen with 300, Zack Snyder (who himself was a Watchmen fan), did the best job that could possibly have been done.

If you have read the graphic novel, you know how long it is, there is no possible way a feature film could cover absolutely everything in it. What Snyder did instead was take the meaty parts of the story and in a very stylized way make a great and faithful adaptation (sans squid).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2009
They year 1986 was a watershed year for comic books. It was the year that people started taking comic books seriously as a form of literature. The reason? Alan Moore's Watchmen (along with Frank Miller's The Dark Knight Returns) introduced readers to superheroes with real problems. This was a vast departure from the the years of the kid-friendly Super Friends and the campy Adam West Batman television series.

When Watchmen hit, that all changed. Hailed for its deconstruction and examination of superhero tropes, it won a Hugo Award in 1988 and it is the only graphic novel to be listed by Time as one of the 100 greatest novels of the 20th century.

Naturally, Hollywood wanted in on the action, and attempts to make a Watchmen movie have continued since its publication. However, they were never able to crack the Watchmen nut. How do you take such a layered, complex book like Watchmen and turn it into a two-hour movie? How much would the material need to be changed? What elements would need to be left out? Many concepts were pitched - making it a buddy film centered on Rorschach and Nite-Owl, getting rid of crucial characters, setting the film in a contemporary setting instead of the 80's, the list goes on. Several directors were involved. After attempting to make his own Watchmen movie, Paul Greengrass ultimately deemed Watchmen "unfilmable."

But Zack Snyder, who had just come off the huge success of directing another graphic novel adaptation with 300, stepped forward and was given the task to film the unfilmable. Using the graphic novel itself as the film's storyboard, Snyder succeeded. His Watchmen film is as faithful to the graphic novel as you can expect. The Comedian is still a cynic who takes pleasure in his violent "crimebusting", Rorschach is still a brutal vigilante who sees everything in black-and-white morality (and is played with fury and intensity by a resurgent Jackie Earle Haley in the film's standout performance), Nite-Owl still can't "get it up" without being in his superhero costume, and Dr. Manhattan is still as naked as a jaybird and apathetic to the plight of humanity.

Most of the film's departures from the graphic novel are understandable. The graphic novel's out-of-deep-left-field finale involving a cataclysmic event is altered, though the goals and motives behind it are unchanged. This new ending actually makes more sense and ties to the characters much better, but it still doesn't quite have the gut-punch shock that the book's end had. Perhaps this has more to do with the fact that Snyder is forced to cram as much into the film as possible while trying to keep the film's runtime from getting too long that the audience isn't given much time to really absorb it.

Another element that Snyder has included in this film is moments of horror-movie gore that almost seem out of place. Perhaps the book's violence lends itself to a very violent film interpretation, but I felt Snyder (who directed the remake of George Romero's Dawn of the Dead) may have gone overboard during a few moments, like Nite-Owl breaking a thug's arm to the point that the bones burst through the flesh. Ouch.

The Director's Cut adds nearly a half an hour of footage that Snyder was forced to cut to keep the film under three hours. Most of this footage comes in the form of lengthened scenes. In one, Rorschach's investigation of The Comedian's apartment is interrupted by the police and a fight ensues, and Rorschach's questioning by Dr. Malcolm is longer. Hollis Mason's sad and brutal death at the hands of a street gang is also reinserted in the Director's Cut, a scene I was disappointed to hear that it was omitted from the theatrical version.

This version of the Blu-Ray comes with a handful of featurettes that reflect on the graphic novel's impact on comic books. Another examines the psychology and cultural impact of actual vigilantes like New York's Guardian Angels, Bernard Goetz, as well as the recent trend of "real life superheroes" who dress up in costume and patrol their neighborhoods. One featurette even delves into the real scientific basis behind the elements of the Watchmen world.

For me, the best feature would have to be the special commentary performed by Zack Snyder himself, who will step in during the film and explain aspects of the film's production as opposed to just giving a voice-only commentary. Then the audience has the option to view a vignette about that aspect of the film or continue watching the film.

This Amazon-exclusive version of Watchmen: Director's Cut comes in a replica of the Owlship, Nite-Owl's hovering vehicle, which emits lights and sounds with the press of a button. The Owlship itself can be removed from its base, and I'm sure your kids would like to run around the house with the Owlship in their hands pretending it can fly (note: Watchmen is an R-rated film and NOT for children, but i'm sure kids will still get a kick out of playing with the Owlship).

There is a Digital Copy for your computers and iPods, but I was disappointed to find that it is of the theatrical version and NOT the Director's Cut.

There is an "Ultimate Edition" of Watchmen being released around Christmas, which will include the animated "Tales of the Black Freighter" feature spliced into the film as it appears in the graphic novel, so if you want a copy of Watchmen: DIrector's Cut that will give you the most bang for your buck until it comes out, the Amazon-exclusive Owlship version is probably the best way to go.
22 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2017
This has always been one of my favorite movies (otherwise I would have not invested in yet another copy of it and in HD format). It contains the full story of the black ship as well as the movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse