Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 11 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 19 reviews
on October 6, 2016
This is, without a doubt, the best possible introduction to Chinese Poetry as it is translated into English. The author looks at one poem by one poet, shows exactly what it means in Chinese and reviews how 19 different poets have translated it into English. It's a fast read, that you will want to reread many times. If you have any interest in Chinese poetry in English, get this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2017
Great service. This is an amazing book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2013
I originally bought this book because it had words from two of my favorite poets -- Wang Wei and Octavio Paz. I was not disappointed. I work in a university setting, with many students and faculty visiting from other countries. For many years, I have found this book to be a perfect gift for visiting university personnel from China, conveying respect and appreciation for their culture. I recently shared it with a faculty member here who was looking for books to share with his mother, who is from Shanghai. It is a great introduction to Chinese poetry, and a wonderful look at problems of translation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2016
This is such an interesting idea. My favorite translation of this poem, however, is not included it is by Francois Cheng which is found in In Love With the Way

If I had another life to live, I would study Japanese and Chinese so that I could read poems in the languages written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2017
Bought this book for a class, Poems in Translation. Truly work exploring, it's part of my beloved collection now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2016
A very clear and enjoyable demonstration of how a single poem becomes a "library of world literature" through translation into other languages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2015
After about 19 iterations of reading this poem's translations, you finally get a sense of what the poem is all about.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2013
I enjoyed the conciseness and comprehensiveness combined to demonstrate the nuances of translating this deceptively simple poem. I have a far greater respect for the challenges of translating and the gifts needed to do justice to any writer's work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2015
fascinating look at nineteen different translations of the same 20 character poem.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2015
A fascinating look at translations of a classical Chinese poem.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse