Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Sold by HPB Inc.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Connecting viewers with great music since 1972. All used discs are inspected and guaranteed. Customer service is our top priority!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

We Shall Overcome: The Seeger Sessions

Dual Disc

4.2 out of 5 stars 423 customer reviews

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Dual Disc, April 25, 2006

Chance to win daily prizes
Try Amazon App features for more chances to win. No purchase necessary. Learn more

Editorial Reviews

Product Description

Columbia Records will release Bruce Springsteen's twenty-first album,'We Shall Overcome The Seeger Sessions,' on April 25. The album features Bruce's personal interpretations of thirteen traditional songs, all of them associated with the legendary guiding light of American folk music, Pete Seeger, for whom the album is named. Speaking of the origins of the new music, Springsteen said, "So much of my writing, particularly when I write acoustically, comes straight out of the folk tradition. Making this album was creatively liberating because I have a love of all those different roots sounds... they can conjure up a world with just a few notes and a few words."

The premise was simple. Bruce Springsteen invites a dozen or so New York City musicians--packing banjos, fiddles, accordions and the like--to his New Jersey farmhouse for a three-day hootenanny, and tape is rolling. The results are sublime, his 21st album featuring their versions of songs harvested from Springsteen's dog-eared LPs by Pete Seeger. Not all written by Seeger, the songs are how the American folk icon interpreted them, and these organic recordings, with no rehearsals or overdubs, pay tribute with the simplicity and spontaneity he intended. It's not hard to link Springsteen's dissatisfaction with American politics to the protest song "We Shall Overcome" or even the Irish ballad "Mrs. McGrath," where he alters the lyrics to read, "I'd rather have my son as he used to be/Than the King of America and his whole navy." But the beauty of these Seeger Sessions are pieces that underscore the mood of the bandleader, which borders on down-home amusement: the bluegrass outlaw ballad "Jesse James," the Dylanesque "Pay Me My Money Down" and the euphoric "Jacob's Ladder," a gumbo-and-whiskey-fueled romp that could pass for the closing hymn at the Church of Asbury Park. --Scott Holter

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Old Dan Tucker
  2. Jesse James (Just Ask)
  3. Mrs. McGrath
  4. O Mary Don't You Weep
  5. John Henry
  6. Erie Canal
  7. Jacob's Ladder
  8. My Oklahoma Home
  9. Eyes on the Prize
  10. Shenandoah
  11. Pay Me My Money Down
  12. We Shall Overcome
  13. Froggie Went a Courtin'
  14. Behind the Scenes Footage
  15. Buffalo Gals
  16. How Can I Keep from Singing
  17. Old Dan Tucker
  18. Jesse James (Just Ask)
  19. Mrs. McGrath
  20. O Mary Don't You Weep
  21. John Henry
  22. Erie Canal
  23. Jacob's Ladder
  24. My Oklahoma Home
  25. Eyes on the Prize
  26. Shenandoah
  27. Pay Me My Money Down
  28. We Shall Overcome
  29. Froggie Went a Courtin'

Product details

  • Audio CD (April 25, 2006)
  • Original Release Date: April 25, 2006
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Dual Disc
  • Label: Sony Legacy
  • Run Time: 189 minutes
  • ASIN: B000EU1PNC
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars 423 customer reviews
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #45,434 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Amazon's Bruce Springsteen Store

Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
3 helpful votes
4 helpful votes
on May 1, 2017
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
1 helpful vote
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
19 helpful votes
20 helpful votes
on May 24, 2017
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
1 helpful vote
on June 1, 2006
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
4 helpful votes
5 helpful votes
on September 2, 2006
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
12 helpful votes
13 helpful votes