Beauty Kindle 10th Anniversary Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno



WE WERE SOLDIERS is based on the memoirs of then-Lt. Col. Hal Moore Jr. His WE WERE SOLDIERS ONCE...AND YOUNG is co-authored by Joe Galloway, played in this film adaptation by Barry Pepper.

In "We Were Soldiers," director Randall Wallace presents a careful recreation of the initial phase of the battle of La Drang, the first major clash in Vietnam between American troops and those of the North Vietnamese Army (NVA). It's the harrowing story of a vastly outnumbered and green 7th Cavalry unit choppered into the field on what quickly becomes a suicide mission.

They engage an enemy with 20 years fighting experience that also has the geographical advantage of high ground entrenchment. Reporter/fotog Joe Galloway choppers in just before the worst fighting begins and ends up battling for his life.

On 11/15/65, Col. Moore (Gibson) radios a "Broken Arrow" distress call when his troops are being overwhelmed by sheer numbers and it looks like they'll all get slaughtered just as French forces were a decade earlier. The American response is immediate and decisive. Machine gun fire from helicopter warships in co-ordination with accurate artillery barrages turn the tide of battle and decimate the NVA.

This most graphic of all 'Nam films has a solid hour of horrendous battles that intercut occasionally with scenes of the pressures wives back home must cope with. "We Were Soldiers" is brilliant, bloody, tragic and definitely NOT for the squeamish!

.
Parenthetical number preceding title is a 1 to 10 imdb viewer poll rating.

(7.0) We Were Soldiers (USA/Germany-2002) - Mel Gibson/Madeleine Stowe/Greg Kinnear/Sam Elliott/Chris Klein/Keri Russell/Barry Pepper/Duong Don/Dylan Walsh
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2017
Saw the movie when it came out-outstanding! Recently found the paperbook in an off the wall library and read it which prompted me to want to see the movie again and compare the book to the movie. DVD/Blu Ray not available locally thru any outlet-felt lucky to find it on line. Movie still outstanding and closely follows the book, which by the way was written by the Battalion Commander involved in the IA Drang battle, Hal Moore.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
WE WERE SOLDIERS is based on the memoirs of then-Lt. Col. Hal Moore Jr. His WE WERE SOLDIERS ONCE...AND YOUNG is co-authored by Joe Galloway, played in this film adaptation by Barry Pepper.

In "We Were Soldiers," director Randall Wallace presents a careful recreation of the initial phase of the battle of La Drang, the first major clash in Vietnam between American troops and those of the North Vietnamese Army (NVA). It's the harrowing story of a vastly outnumbered and green 7th Cavalry unit choppered into the field on what quickly becomes a suicide mission.

They engage an enemy with 20 years fighting experience that also has the geographical advantage of high ground entrenchment. Reporter/fotog Joe Galloway choppers in just before the worst fighting begins and ends up battling for his life.

On 11/15/65, Col. Moore (Gibson) radios a "Broken Arrow" distress call when his troops are being overwhelmed by sheer numbers and it looks like they'll all get slaughtered just as French forces were a decade earlier. The American response is immediate and decisive. Machine gun fire from helicopter warships in co-ordination with accurate artillery barrages turn the tide of battle and decimate the NVA.

This most graphic of all 'Nam films has a solid hour of horrendous battles that intercut occasionally with scenes of the pressures wives back home must cope with. "We Were Soldiers" is brilliant, bloody, tragic and definitely NOT for the squeamish!

Parenthetical number preceding title is a 1 to 10 imdb viewer poll rating.

(7.0) We Were Soldiers (USA/Germany-2002) - Mel Gibson/Madeleine Stowe/Greg Kinnear/Sam Elliott/Chris Klein/Keri Russell/Barry Pepper/Duong Don/Dylan Walsh
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2017
Unforgettable action, movies and books will tell you about a war. And what went on. I really enjoy this movie. The men leaving their families, emotional. And the LZ. Really good soundtrack music. The part I felt was the strongest was the part they made it to the hill and the music came on. Great cast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2017
The way war movies are supposed to be. Nice attention to the details and no real CGI to speak of makes this movie an instant classic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2017
Very good book. I served with the First Cavalry Division in Vietnam but I was not in this battle. I did know some soldieres who were in this battle and they said the book gives a very accurate protayal of what happened.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2017
I think the filming was well done. Our military was insane to commit the entire operation to an area with no real prior recon. i wasn't there so I wont comment on the accuracy of the film. The actors did a good job portraying what must have been a living hell for the (real) guys on the ground. The army planners didn't cover themselves with glory on this operation and many others during the Vietnam war. Our guys made the best of a situation where they had little control over the outcome. What else is new?
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2017
Not a bad movie, fair character development and action scenes. Admittedly the computer animation of the combat air support was cheesy, however it doesn't detracted from the overall movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2017
This movie was truly wonderful. I am not normally a war movie fan, but I really loved this true story about an incredible hero!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2012
I'm back with a movie review these reviews have to do with movies that were released in either 1992 or 2002. This is 2002 in film We Were Soldiers. This movie I saw around the same time as Black Hawk Down this mvoie has to do with a different conflict The Vietnam War. We Were Soldiers was directed by Randall Wallace he directed Man In The Iron Mask so I'd say that this is his best film. It stars Mel Gibson as Colonel Hal Moore, Sam Elliot as Major Basil Plumley, Barry Pepper as Joe Galloway, Chris Klein as 2nd Lieutenant Jack Geoghegan, Greg Kinnar as Major Bruce Crandall or Snake S h i t as he is called. Mark McCracken as Captain Ed Freeman or "Too Tall". So the story is simple as this in 1954 The French Army gets owned by The North Vietnameese Army. They show no mercy & slaughter them. So then you go to 1965 where you have US Army Colonel Hal Moore & his family that are going to live on base cause you live on base where ever yu are stationed. Then you are introduced to Major Basil Plumley & he does bring a little comic relief to the movie. You have some of these troops playing base ball & you're introduced to Major Bruce Crandall & he is aruging with his buddy Captain Ed Freeman if he is out or he is safe. Colonel Moore is behind him & he tells him " I think you're out." You go throught Colonel Moore trainning the troops & his stuff at home with his wife & kids there's a scene where his daughter asks what is a war. It is a good scene it is emotional where she asks will they take your life too. 1 of his men 2nd Lieutentant Geogheghan's wife had a baby & him & Colonel Moore become fast friends he talks to him about what it's like to a Soldier & Father. Mel Gibson does such a good job with the speech he gives to his men what's going on over here doesn't matter cause over there we are all American Soldiers. Then Moore finds out that The President isn't treating this like a real war. He is also in charge of The 7th Calvery the same unit that Genreal Custer was in charge of. He feels that not declaring a National Emergancy that he is being deprived of some of his best troops. So when you get to Nam Colonel Moore finds out that an American Base has been attacked & he is ordered to go into battle with 400 men into "The Valley Of Death" your get a really & I mean really bloody battle. Moore secures the weak areas before The NVA can. You go to the wives perspective where a lot of them start getting letters about their husband's death's. So Major Moore's wife becomes a bearer of bad news for a lot of them. You go to The NVA's perspective as well. At night Moore's forces catch enemy forces by suprise. The next day their still stuck at The LZ. Then you have a Journalist named Joe Galloway come into the picture during a lot of the brutality. Major Plumley hands him a rifle & tells him you ain't no journalist today. Moore & his troops are being overran by the enemy he tells his raidoman to call in a broken arrow meaning air reinforcements. The aircraft napalm the area a lot of NVA guys get BB Q'd but there attacking for every direction Moore's men get Nampalmed in a horrific scene. 1 soldier got burned really bad more than I can describe. I feel something for these guys cause I care about these characters. There's a part where base wants Moore to come back to Saigon for an evaluation Mel Gibson just sells it where he tells them no I will leave no man behind alive or dead they will all come home. You get to the final battle where it is all out & the troops are getting closer to the The NVA's underground tunnel. The NVA have strong set up & it feels like they are fighting for their lives the acting is that good. It looks like Moore is done for but then a helicopter comes in Major Crandall comes through & guns them a down helps them out. Colonel Moore stayed true to his speech that they will all come home. Despite what Mel Gibson has become lately he deserved some kind of award for this performance the scene where he is talking to Joe Galloway he has a breakdown alomost & says why didn't I die instead of my men. After almost a year Moore comes home to his wife & kids. LT Geoghengan's wife gets a letter by Moore's stating that her husband died in service. Then you have an older Hal Moore passing by The Wall as it's known & that's pretty much the movie. I'm sorry if I didn't explain the plot as good as I should've but war movies are harder for me to review. This is just an excellent movie Randall Wallace did a good job directing. Mel Gibson did a wonderful job. Sam Elliot was good, Chris Klein not the best actor he did a fine job in this flick. Barry Pepper did a really good job & Mark McCracken was ok. Everyone else did a very good job too. We Were Soldiers is defintly worth watching an extremly solid movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here